Families logo

My life

Growing up as a first child

By Demi👑Published 11 months ago • 3 min read
Like
My life
Photo by Jakub Kriz on Unsplash

Growing up in a family of five and being the first daughter and first child hasn’t been easy at all,having to leave with an abusive father who only cares about himself and no one else.

When my mum was pregnant for me,She was denied by my dad to be responsible for the baby due to the fact that he was married already which was unknow to my mum that he was actually married.

He decided me claiming I was a bastard whom my mum wanted to use to tie him down

Five(5) years later his wife died then he came back to apologize to my mum after she has been raising me for the past 5 years on her own, She had to accept him because he is my father.

We moved in with him when I was 5 and my mum thinking she would be taken cared of as a good house wife that she came to be,became devastated and depressed on how she was treated by my dad.

Few months later my mum became pregnant, then it became worse with her pregnancy she was forced to do house chores such as washing hefty amount of clothes,cleaning of the ceiling fans, cleaning the poultry, washing the gutters and many more even with her full round stomach.

My dad would just sit in the living room playing musical videos or watching movies and I was just too little to help out.

Finally we welcomed my little sister and she was born on the same birthday with my dad, my mum was happy because she felt she would be accepted by him now.

No she wasn’t, if was just as if she was adding more fuel to the fire, after the welcoming of my sister, my mum started having serious depressive issues and they was nothing I could do.

He started womanizing and coming back late, he even went as low as bringing his concubines into the same house with my mum and my poor mum couldn’t say anything.

From the onset, my dad never liked me because I served as a link that connected him with my mum, he hits me for no tangible reason and hits my mum to if she tries to protect me. I hated him, My mum and I were always happy whenever he was around or he traveled we would always feel at peace.

Do you that kind of feeling you get when you can’t even be yourself when you are around done set of people?

Yes that was how it was with my dad they was no freedom and don’t have friends even my mum too wasn’t allowed to have any friends in the neighborhood. It went on like that for 3 years then my mum became pregnant again. I know annoying right,I don’t know why she has to open her legs for him again just to go through another round of torture.

Nine months later,we finally welcomed a baby boy into the house and my dad was very happy,like I don’t get are we females not useful to him.

With the joy of having a male child my dad opened a shop for my mum to start a business,she was very happy at least now she could leave the house.

My dad was very attracted to my brother then and very welcoming to him, At least he has reduced his anger a little so we thought after 2 years when my brother was born, my dad wanted another baby again, Can you imagine,and my mum who has been warned in the hospital not to get pregnant again because of all the stress she has been going through has made her very weak that if she get pregnant again she might loose her life while trying to give birth to the baby.

My mum refused to have another baby and that when the real drama started

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Demi👑

writing brings me closer to helping people understand themselves better.

I write to inspire and encourage people in their daily lives

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.