Families logo

My dowry stuff

Unveiling Treasures: A Tale of Tradition, Love, and the Sentimental Value of My Dowry

By RAJEEV VERMAPublished 3 months ago 7 min read
Like

Today a new washing machine came to the house, seeing which the rest of the house became very happy. Especially Bindiya ji. After all, his son Saurabh had bought a washing machine for him.

Yes, it is a different matter that Jagdish ji had given some money to Saurabh. He collected the remaining money from himself and brought it in the washing machine cash itself. Now everyone was surrounding the same washing machine and looking at it. Seeing this, the daughter-in-law of the house, Nirmala, came and sat in her room looking burnt.

After some time, Saurabh came into the room and was taking out clothes from the cupboard to change when Nirmala said,

"Why sir, how much money did you spend on the washing machine? Couldn't you have brought it on EMI? Babuji would have given the money. He also earns. Hey, he needs the machine, not us. So they should pay for it. Why are you giving?"

"Nirmala, they are my parents. Mother needed a washing machine. She used to be so worried. That's why I bought the machine."

"Okay! I too wash clothes by hand. You never felt pity for me. What is this? You men always talk about your mother. For you people, your wife is nothing. Mother's The problem is beyond your control. And what about me?"

Nirmala said teasingly.

"You have a habit of getting into trouble. What can I do about it?"

Saying this, Saurabh started leaving with his clothes. Hearing his words, Nirmala became more irritated and came and stood in front of him.

"Okay! Just taunt me. Why would I have the habit of getting upset? Your mother doesn't even wash her own or your father's clothes. And me? You wash four people's clothes by hand."

"So is it my fault? What can I do? I try to wash my own clothes as far as possible. Sooner or later I ask you to wash my clothes. Now you wash your clothes and those of your children. "You will wash it."

"It is my bad luck that my parents got me married to you. It would have been better if my parents had found some suitable place and got me married. At least I would have been happy."

"It is not your parents' fault in this. Even if they had married you in a rich family, you would still not have been happy. Because you have a habit of doing everything as mine. Now you see for yourself. Where did they I had given a washing machine at your wedding with the thought that my daughter would not have to worry. She would not have to wash clothes by hand. But what did you do? My washing machine, my washing machine, and you have still packed it and kept it. Seven days after the wedding. After a year, that too would have started rusting."

"Okay! My parents have given it to me. What do my in-laws have to do with that machine?"

"The in-laws do not give anything to the daughter-in-law. Remember, the room in which you are sitting with the dowry stuff is a part of the house which belongs to the in-laws."

Saying this Saurabh went to change his clothes.

"Look, even the in-laws have started bullying the family. That's why it is said that no one accepts the daughter-in-law as their own. After seven years of marriage, they have finally come to their own level, right?"

Nirmala shouted loudly. Bindiya ji could also hear these things outside. At last she came into the room and immediately said to Nirmala,

"Why are you shouting, daughter-in-law? Is it appropriate to shout and scream at home?"

"Yes, you will call me only. Why would you call your son? Have you ever been the daughter-in-law of your in-laws? Today your son has bullied the house."

Nirmala said while replying to Bindiya ji.

"Daughter-in-law, I agree that Saurabh is wrong. He should not have said this. But I did not understand one thing. Why are you feeling bad? Today he is speaking the same language as you. So, seeing a personality like yours, you are so shocked. Why did you go? You often threaten us with some of your belongings, but we listen silently. So why did you feel so bad today when Saurabh threatened us with his house?"

Saying this Bindiya ji came out of the room. The same Nirmala kept muttering while sitting in her room. Here Bindiya ji remembered those things when Nirmala had come to this house as the daughter-in-law. Nirmala never liked to share any of her belongings with anyone. Especially the stuff that came from the mother's house.

A week after the marriage, Bindiya ji along with her daughter Nidhi was washing the collected bedsheets and curtains with her hands. Seeing this, Saurabh opened the washing machine that came as dowry. He was just taking her out of the room when Nirmala interrupted him,

"Hey, what are you doing? Why are you taking out the washing machine?"

"Hey, look how many clothes have come out in the post-wedding cleaning. So many bedsheets and curtains have to be washed. When there is a washing machine in the house, then why wash clothes by hand. That's why I am taking out the machine."

Saurabh also replied.

"No no, don't take out the washing machine. My parents have given it to me. Were clothes not washed in your house before marriage?"

Saurabh was stunned to hear Nirmala's blunt reply. When he was about to say something, Bindiya ji gestured to him to remain silent. After that the machine was packed and kept.

After a few months, Bindiya ji's daughter Nidhi had a program at her in-laws' house, in which she had to wear a dress. She had taken out some clothes from herself and went to Nirmala's room to take some of them thinking that Nirmala also had many sarees which she did not use.

"Hey daughter-in-law, listen, if you have to wear Nidhi's in-laws dress, then give me some of your dress which you are not going to wear. You have kept only the blank ones. You have never even worn them. I will take out some dress (sarees) from myself. So that the burden of clothing expenses is reduced to some extent."

Mother-in-law said coming into the room.

"Hey mother, why my sarees? If it is your daughter, then give it to me. What do you expect from me? These are the sarees that have come for me, what right do you have on them?"

Nirmala replied breaking her face. Hearing this, Bindiya ji stood there staring at her daughter-in-law's face. Then controlling herself she said,

"Daughter-in-law, you don't wear those sarees. They will remain lying in the box, that's why I told you. Now, for relatives and distant relatives, sarees are taken out of the house casually, so that's why I told you."

"So take it out from yourself. You also have less sarees. They are your relatives. So what are you expecting from me?"

When Nirmala replied again, Bindiya ji did not have the courage to say anything further. Who would like such a daughter-in-law who would take away one's honour? Bindiya ji went back to her room.

Bindiya felt very bad. But what could she do? What to say to a daughter-in-law who doesn't even consider her own family as family? She went to her room and took out as many sarees as she could from her box. But still some sarees were less.

After all we will have to bring sarees. Thinking this, I checked my purse and found that there was less money. Currently, Jagdish ji's work was also going on a little less. On top of that, Saurabh got married just a few months ago. His own debts were being repaid. Whereas household expenses were being covered from Saurabh's salary. So the hands were a little tight.

Now shopping could be done only after Jagdish ji's arrival, hence Bindiya ji was left feeling sad. Packed some sarees and kept them. And finally Jagdish ji arranged the money by taking loan from here and there. Due to which Bindiya ji then bought the sarees from the transaction.

In the past seven years, there were many such occasions where being a daughter-in-law, Nirmala wanted the company of her family but Nirmala kept to herself.

Well just then Saurabh came out and said,

"Come on mom, let's start the new machine."

Here the sound of Nirmala growling was still heard. Bindiya ji looked at Saurabh. Saurabh placed his hand on Bindiya ji's shoulder and said,

“Now, we cannot change what we cannot change. Then why bother ourselves with it. So we are happy with what we have.”

Bindiya ji smiled after listening to him. There was a feeling of satisfaction in my mind that if not the daughter-in-law, at least the son is with me.

featuresiblingsparentsmarriedimmediate familyhumanitygrandparentsadvice
Like

About the Creator

RAJEEV VERMA

Passionate about writing stories based on true events on the burning issues of our current society. Also writing articles on technology, digital art & design.

You can support me here: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/rajeeverma

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.