Families logo

MOM TREATS ME LIKE I AM ADOPTED

True story

By Tatiana ChePublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Like
MOM TREATS ME LIKE I AM ADOPTED
Photo by Caleb Woods on Unsplash

Hey, I'm Tiand, and I grew up in the charming corners of France, a place where beauty seemed to seep into everything, even the very names parents gave their children. My dad called me Tiand, which means "beautiful like a star." He cherished me more than anyone else in the world, and his love for me was like a radiant beam of light. It's funny how such warmth could coexist with such coldness, because my mom, well, she was never fond of me. Maybe it's the same sunlight that could warm you and cast long shadows.

I remember this one incident from second grade. Miss Diana, our geography teacher, was yelling at a poor girl, and it hit a nerve with me. Bullying was something I couldn't stand. She finished her tirade and then said something like, "Okay class, now I think I should jump off a bridge." The whole class laughed, and I just couldn't stand the hypocrisy. "Giselle, what is this behavior?" she scolded me, threatening to send me to the principal. But I wasn't having it. "I'll send you to Antarctica," she warned. Dad's a travel agent, you see.

"Whoa, how dare you threaten me like that?" she shot back. "You should never threaten people like that," I replied, standing my ground. Dad laughed when he heard about it later, saying that he loved the statements I made in class. Oh, how little did I know back then that dad's approval could both fuel and blind me.

My relationship with mom was an enigma. There was warmth in our home, but it never really found its way to her and me. I found comfort in my dad's unwavering support, but there was an ache that only a mother's love could mend. The words she spoke, though, were often frosty, creating a barrier between us. But my loyalty to what I believed was right remained steadfast, whether it meant standing up to my teacher, standing by an outcast, or later, standing up for myself.

In school, acting became my refuge. It was where my creativity blossomed and my passion ignited. Yet, with every step towards self-expression, there was Ashley, a fellow student with a knack for rivalry. Our clashes were inevitable, as our paths constantly converged for lead roles. My willingness to defend the underdog both earned me friendships and ignited animosity.

Life took an intriguing turn when Sam, a quiet and unassuming classmate, crossed my path. His unspoken past revealed that he was the son of a famous movie director. I was captivated by his genuine demeanor, and our bond grew as we navigated shared experiences. In Sam's presence, the chasm that had formed in my heart due to my parents' disintegrated marriage began to mend.

Despite the warmth that began to envelop my life, my relationship with my mother remained fraught. Her jealousy cast a long shadow on my newfound happiness. As my acting career flourished, the strains of fame started to pull at the seams of my relationship with Sam. A disconnect began to form, mirroring the fissures that I had observed between my parents. It's ironic how life has a way of teaching you its lessons through the very experiences you least want to relive.

One moment changed everything. Sam's nonchalant response to my emotional plea for his presence during a significant event left me reeling. I had been so caught up in external achievements that I had lost sight of what truly mattered—my own well-being. The mirror my parents' marriage held to my relationship with Sam was undeniable, and I decided to shatter it.

Reporting Sam's theft of my money was both liberating and painful. The ties that had bound us were severed, leaving me in a space where I could reevaluate my priorities and rediscover myself. Seeking refuge in the relationship I had pushed away for so long, I turned to my mother. Reconciliation was bittersweet, but it brought with it a sense of healing and renewal.

As I navigated the crossroads of my journey, both personally and professionally, I realized that my worth wasn't defined by external achievements or the opinions of others. It lay in the relationships that nurtured my soul and the strength I derived from my own self-acceptance. Through my own growth and transformation, I broke the cycle of insecurity and resentment that had ensnared my family for years. With my father's love, my mother's forgiveness, and my own newfound sense of self, I forged a path towards a brighter and more fulfilling future.

In the end, my journey taught me that happiness isn't derived from accolades or approval. It's found in authentic relationships that uplift and nurture the soul, and in the unshakable belief in one's own worth. With my father's love as a beacon, my mother's forgiveness as a balm, and my own resilience as a guiding light, I emerged as a star in my own right, charting a course towards a destiny defined by my own terms.

marriedparentsgriefchildrenadoption
Like

About the Creator

Tatiana Che

I am a college student who loves writing and thinking out of the box. I hope everyone enjoys reading my stories. 🙏

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.