Families logo

Mom life

Single mom

By Jade Thompson Published 4 years ago 4 min read
2

I been a single mom for 7 years almost on the 22nd of March . When I had my kids I knew I was gonna be a good mom . I took care my 2 younger siblings at a young age . My mom was going through a depression with being a single mom and like most mothers back in the day went to drugs for a get away. I was forced to grow up fast I didn’t have it easy coming up. But I love my mom to death ! And I thank her so much for showing me to be independent and strong. I have my days now as a mom where I wanna give up but I can’t . I look at my kids and realize that I have a job for life and it motivates me to go so hard. So I am now here single mother of 2 . My kids father is locked up. Nobody knows how long he is doing . All I can do is pray for the best and prepare for the worst and keep going. Nobody taught me how to be a mom I pretty much learned as I go. Of course we all say we want this perfect family but nothing or nobody is perfect . So yes I fail sometimes, but like they say “ you may bend but you will not break “ . That’s me I’m a young mom I screw up sometimes I lack at something’s but I fix them as I go. I feel like all the mistakes I made in life was a lesson learn . That’s why I don’t regret anything . I just learn . That way when my kids get older they know how to push forward if they make a mistake or I can protect them the best way I can to not make those same mistakes. You ever hear that saying “ it takes a village to raise a kid “ ? Well I guess I’m the village lol. And Yes I’m proud to say that because this wasn’t a choice god made me a single mom for a reason . He knew that my kids would be in good hands with me . And I say that because a mothers love goes along way💕 with me I know they safe, fed, washed, learning and clothed and sheltered. My kids are my life . They are my best friends . It makes me proud when they come home with good grades and good reports . That’s telling me I’m doing a awesome job as a single mother .Can you believe I didn’t know how to cook or teach someone to walk or use the toilet until I had kids of my own and I’m loving every minute of it . This is my life being a mom cleaning and going to school to provide for my family . It gets no better than this . We are blessed ! I hope any single mother out there going through what I’m going through and reading this smile and feel so much better if they having a bad day right now . This is something to remind you that you are not alone and it gets better . I moved from Philadelphia pa to Portage pa with my 2 children in 2017 it’s now 2020 . I never thought I could do it but I’m here doing it and I been the happiest woman since then . When I moved here I had No money . Had to quit my job. We had the clothes on our back all our important documents in my purse, $300 in food stamps and $10 in cash and car ride and now look a 3 bedroom house now enrolled into college going for medical coding and billing and soon ima be running my own business working from home . Just so I can continue to build with my kids. So yeah if you need to cry Cry . Let it all out. But don’t ever feel like you are alone and it all ends there . It’s never ends there , it gets better. You grow you live and you have fun . Even if it’s just with your kids 💕

parents
2

About the Creator

Jade Thompson

My name is Jade I go by liljade because im like 4'11 5 foot lOl But These stories are just me writing expressing myself , my life, even my childhood and friends . Im a single mom and I have all this time on my hands so why not right ? :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.