Humans logo

He was the love of my lifešŸ’•

To my kids father

By Jade Thompson Published 4 years ago ā€¢ 8 min read
3
My first loveršŸ’•

Nobody knows where love will take you . You kind of just go with the vibe. Well thatā€™s what I did . November 2011 I met the love of my life . My kids father. When I first met him I was 16 years old . I just got out of a long relationship with a boy I been with for 3 years . It became toxic so I let it go . The best thing I ever did because I found him. One of my old friends oldest cousin had a house party . She invited everybody . Everybody showed up. Who do I see walking through the door with this huge smile on his face with these little perfect teeth ? My kids father . I just knew he was there for me lol. Every time I looked his way he would try and hurry up and look away like he wasnā€™t looking at me . I kept walking pass him to get his attention. Long story short his friend pookie ( r.i.p to him ) got super drunk so they had to take him home so they all left including him . So Some days went pass and Iā€™m in school and we letting out of school . Everybody walked home from school or took the bus it was nice outside . So me and my friends stopped at a McDonaldā€™s and he was in there sitting down . I saw him in the corner of my eye when I finally got my food and all I kept doing was smiling until I got out the door . He even asked for one of my nuggets but I had butterflies so I just kept walking didnā€™t even give the man a nugget yā€™all thatā€™s how nervous I was. Next day I see him again after school and I told his friend I wanted him and I walked off . Then the next day after that His friend walk up to me like ā€œ my homie said he want your number and he be up here to get it when school let out ā€œ I heard that and got nervous. So the bell ring itā€™s time to let out school he standing at the gate waiting for me . I walked passed him . Lol I think still until this day I suffer from anxiety . The whole time he walking in back of me with his friends Iā€™m still walking in the front with my friends . So he came up to me pulled me away from the crowd and asked me whatā€™s my number I gave it to him . When I went home I was waiting on his call or text I ainā€™t tell him that though. He finally texted me that night . After that we became close friends . I let him know from the beginning I wasnā€™t looking for another relationship at the time I just got out of one , and he understood it so he didnā€™t force anything . You know how you chill with a boy on the first date and they start trynna touch and feel ? He didnā€™t do none of that . He really took everything slow with me and I loved that about him. Our conversation on the phone would last all night . We would fall to sleep on the phone with each other . I would sneak and spend the night with him on the weekends and the whole time we there we enjoying each other company. Watching movies , listening to music , Iā€™ll watch him play the game , we smoked , we laughed we talked , and when it was time for us to leave each other we both went through separation anxiety lol. I would pick a argument with him while we waiting on the bus for me to go home or I would go through his phone before I would leave his house . Then one day we was on his steps and he asked me why I love him...... Now yā€™all like I said before being around him I would get butterflies and I think I have anxiety so I kind of got stuck and couldnā€™t tell him face to face so he thought I didnā€™t love him for a while . Until I had no other choice to break out that shy stage and I finally told him . Now Iā€™m not saying this relationship was so perfect . Yes we had our up and downs . The cheating , the lies , the arguments, and the fights . But we had more happy days then we had bad days and thatā€™s all that matters . In the beginning it was good , the beginning is always good right ? But them months on down the line was the rockiest. He had a child before we even knew of each other , so yes I had to deal with the baby mama drama . Plus he had other women on the side a.k.a side pieces that was my age and older that didnā€™t know they place which made our relationship bad because I finally came to realize well if itā€™s no trust then Iā€™m out . So I left him got in another relationship because Iā€™m 6 hours away from everyone so I started working on building my own family with another guy because I was desperate to find love and be in love and that other guys was giving me just that . Then one day I woke up and stop liking this guy because I came to realize he wasnā€™t my person . He wasnā€™t someone I wanted to wake up to everyday . He wasnā€™t someone I saw in my future . So I broke up with him blocked all his calls blocked him on every social media just so he know itā€™s over itā€™s no coming back . Now mind you when I broke up with my kids father the last words he said to me was ā€œ I donā€™t think we gonna work anyway because I canā€™t do long distance ā€œ but me being me I brushed it off because what you mean like we got kids together we gotta be in each other lives until they finish college . So I did my thing and I let him do his thing . Okay so I broke up with the guy I was with . And I donā€™t break up with him because I wanted my kids father back I broke up with him because he wasnā€™t what I wanted in a guy . And most importantly I been on and off in a relationship with my kids father for going on 8 years I didnā€™t know how it was to be single . I was going through stuff in my life that I had to deal with by myself and I had to find me again . So I left him for myself to be honest . To love me . Long story short I get a call saying my kids father is in jail šŸ™„ Iā€™m like okay canā€™t really be upset about being a single mom I been doing it this long ...... so then I get a letter from him. Now thatā€™s my first lover . This man has taught me everything we been through so much together like that was my best friend before he was boyfriend. He my dairy . Even when we mad at each other we get good news the first person we calling is each other . Yeah this bond is weird but unconditional šŸ„“šŸ˜‚šŸ’• so I remember reading this letter and it said ā€œ I know i wasnā€™t the man I was suppose to be when I was out but Iā€™m turning over a new šŸƒ and Iā€™m not trying to hold you hostage because I know Iā€™m gonna be in here for a while , but I wanna know if you riding with me through this ā€œ and all I could do is cry . I cried because it was once upon a time I had no train ticket ,no money , and no car and I couldnā€™t go see him for a couple months or even visit my family and all I wanted was him . I wanted him to be there for me . Call me everyday , Send me good morning text messages, Call and check on the kids but instead he was running the streets got a gf and was going to sleep next to her every night and started a whole new life with this girl and her children and left me and his kids in the cold . But I always believed in the saying ā€œ watch how you do people before you need them againā€ so I wrote him back and fourth , I put money on the phone to be able to talk to him , and I sent as many pictures up there of me and the kids as I could . Only because if I was in a situation where my freedom was token away from me I would want somebody there for me .

dating
3

About the Creator

Jade Thompson

My name is Jade I go by liljade because im like 4'11 5 foot lOl But These stories are just me writing expressing myself , my life, even my childhood and friends . Im a single mom and I have all this time on my hands so why not right ? :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.