Families logo

Mama šŸ»

My first love

By Lyrical Value Published 4 years ago ā€¢ 3 min read
Like
Circa 2013

Detrice Luana Parham (a.k.a DeeDee) was brought into this world to be my mother on November 7, 1974.

Donā€™t we look like brother and sister? Thatā€™s what EVERYONE has told us for as long as I could remember!

For a period of time in my childhood I even sounded like her HAHA!

Itā€™s all good. I wouldnā€™t have it any other way. This beautiful woman has been unwaveringly supportive of who I am as a man and my dreams/ambitions from literally day 1...I mean she birthed me after all lol.

But that birth wasnā€™t an easy one...

My mother is part of the 5-10 percent of women in the United States who has a (nowadays) common hormonal endocrine disorder called Polycystic Ovaries, or PCOS.

What this means in layman terms is that childbearing is extremely improbable for any woman whoā€™s diagnosed with this condition because the eggs rarely grow to maturity let alone produce eggs that can be fertilized.

Guess what though?

She had me and I think I turned out alright if I may say so myself :).

Having gone through that while being homeless the first 2 years I came into this world is beyond admirable and sheā€™ll ALWAYS be given my utmost respect for overcoming those trials in her early adult life.

Sheā€™s also overcome domestic and sexual abuse, chronic depression, a shitty divorce and sheā€™s still going strong in her life and career as a Medical Billing & Coding Instructor today at the lovely age of 45.

This is us today šŸ†

Sheā€™s a spiritual person and has also steadily been this way for as long as Iā€™ve been alive. There were times growing up where I wasnā€™t the best son or person but she never stopped showing that unconditional love. When I was kicked out of the house at 17 by my adopted father, (I donā€™t call him that of course because heā€™s like a real father to me) I made a decision within myself to never turn back...as so I thought.

As stubborn as I can be, especially when I was younger, I was determined to keep looking forward. But I couldnā€™t do this for long...

Often times I ran into people within the community asking me how I was doing and/or have I seen or spoken with my mother at all. From time to time, while I was out there on the street, we did keep in touch.

A tear comes to my eye as Iā€™m writing this because Iā€™ll never forget those words she said ending every conversation we had during that time, ā€œIā€™m praying for you baby.ā€

And those werenā€™t idle words either.

A year before that, I was 4 hours away from committing suicide by train when she found me just an hour before the first train would come on through those very tracks I sat upon.

Sheā€™s saved my life in more ways than one and I owe her EVERYTHING.

I hate dealing with debts of any kind but this is a debt that I have absolutely no problem with.

Mama šŸ», if you ever read this...

Because of you Iā€™ve become the respectable man you always prayed for.

Because of you Iā€™m about to marry the woman of my dreams. The kind of woman that you prayed I would marry.

Because of you Iā€™ve pushed through some of the toughest times in my adult life so far but I know that I still have more life to conquer ahead of me.

Because of you Iā€™m a warrior for my people and every day I strive to represent you in the best way possible in ALL that I do.

Because of you Iā€™ve learned to be vulnerable and open up since youā€™ve known for the longest how thatā€™s usually been hard for me.

All these factors and more are why I have insurmountable love for you...forever and always ā™„ļø.

Send a ā€œHelloā€ to Detrice Parham on FB whenever you all get the chance. Be sure to let her know that her baby sent ya ;).

parents
Like

About the Creator

Lyrical Value

Your writing aficionado

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.