Families logo

Lou Hayden's MiMi

My mother, my best friend

By Desiree BarronPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Hiiii!! How are y'all?! My name is Desiree Barron. I'm 27, a wife, a mommy to an amazing almost 4 year old little boy named Lou Hayden, a daughter, sister, friend, blogger (Sprinkle of Rae), baker, and cosmetologist! Whew! That was a lot! I know I know this is not about me, but I said all that to say, I would not be all of those things without my mother. She is everything I aspire to be in this lifetime. She has pushed me so hard, always in my corner, and has never told me I couldn't do anything I've wanted to be. My mom's name is Barbara aka Barbie as her family and friends call her. Sounds more like "Bobbi" because we all have that southern tongue ha! But my mom has shown me from an early age, what it looked like to believe in yourself despite of people not liking you, even family, but still holding your head high and to show people love regardless of what's thrown at you or who tries to break you. She's instilled in me what a true prayer warrior is, what true devotion looks like, and persistent strong faith. My mom held things down when my dad's job had a huge layoff when I was just a small girl. She not once complained, or showed us girls that she couldn't do for her household, when my dad needed to lean on her for a few months. Mommy is the first woman who showed me what a girl boss is. She's went out in the workforce and she's headed multiple successful businesses of her own. My mom showed me what it looked like to serve your community, through no-profit work, volunteering at church, and through political ventures. From a young age, I knew I wanted to be just like her, I wanted to be a mommy, wife, and business owner. I thought if I could accomplish those things I could stand on top of the world. She never seems to waiver. She's even taken care of her mother in her sick days before she passed a 1.5 years ago. When my husband and I had my son she stopped everything, even resigned from her teaching job to come help us with the baby for a few months, so we could get adjusted and so I coud work. She did the same for my sister when she had my nephew as well. There's nothing she wouldn't do for her family. Unfortunately just a a couple weeks ago on March 28th my father unexpectedly passed away. That was a big hit for our family. My mother lost her bestfriend and husband of 46 years. I know what it feels like to lose a great father but I can't imagine what it feels like to lose my husband, my partner, and best friend suddenly. But even during this time, as we grieve, and handle my father's affairs, she has not once waivered from her faith and who she is. Her spirit is just as bright and loving as it always has been. I know it hasn't been easy for her, but she still is finding time to encourage us and everyone else around her. If I could be half the person she is, I would be satisfied. I push myself to be a better mom, friend, sister, and wife because of her. Everything I pursue, I do to the fullest because of her. I want to provide a life of ease, with a continuation of a strong spiritual foundation just like my mother has shown me. I want to succeed at my business to be able to spoil my mom the way she so deserves, so she can just continue to enjoy life easily, and so I can continue to she her beautiful smile everyday. She teaches me how to love with no boundaries, how to be a mother and a wife, how to be a sister no matter what, and friend whose shoulder is always available. I love her sooo much! My mother inspires me, motivates me, drives me, and is everything to me. She deserves her flowers now.

parents
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.