Families logo

Infinite Love: A Journey to Make Your Parents' Dreams Come True

Parents love

By Alfian Permana PutraPublished 22 days ago 4 min read

When I was a kid, my parents used to tell me stories about their dreams. Mom wanted to open a little bookstore filled with rare finds and cozy reading nooks. Dad? He dreamed of running a small, sustainable farm, where he could grow organic produce and keep a few happy animals. Life, however, had other plans for them. They spent most of their lives working long hours at jobs they didn’t love, just to keep a roof over our heads and food on the table.

Their sacrifices weren’t lost on me. I grew up understanding the value of hard work and the importance of dreams. As I got older, I realized I had my own dream: to make theirs come true. It wasn’t just about paying them back for all they’d done; it was about seeing them truly happy, living the life they always wanted.

After college, I got a decent job in marketing. I wasn’t passionate about it, but it paid well and had decent hours. I started saving a chunk of my paycheck every month. While my friends were splurging on new gadgets and weekend trips, I was socking away every spare dollar into a savings account labeled "Mom and Dad’s Dreams." It wasn’t glamorous, but I knew it would be worth it.

A few years down the road, I met Sophie, the love of my life. She was supportive and understood my mission from the get-go. We’d spend nights talking about how we could make my parents’ dreams a reality. She was a dreamer too, and her enthusiasm fueled my own.

One day, after what felt like forever but was really just five years of diligent saving and planning, I did the math. With the money saved and a solid plan, I could finally make a move. Sophie and I spent weekends scouting for locations: a quaint town a few hours away seemed perfect. It had a charming main street for Mom’s bookstore and enough open land for Dad’s farm. We made an offer on a small farm with a storefront on the edge of town, and to my astonishment, it was accepted.

Breaking the news to my parents was nerve-wracking. I invited them over for dinner and laid it all out: the savings, the property, the plans. I expected them to be overwhelmed or maybe even hesitant. Instead, tears welled up in my mom’s eyes, and my dad, the stoic man he was, had to take a moment to compose himself.

“You did all this for us?” Mom asked, her voice trembling.

“Of course,” I replied. “You guys gave up your dreams for me. It’s time you got to live them.”

The next few months were a whirlwind. We moved to the new town and got to work. Mom’s bookstore, named “Second Chances,” quickly became a local favorite. She stocked it with a mix of classics and hidden gems, creating a haven for book lovers. The store had a little coffee corner, where she’d host book clubs and readings. Seeing her in her element, surrounded by the scent of coffee and old books, was priceless.

Meanwhile, Dad threw himself into the farm. He started small, with a few chickens and a vegetable garden. But it grew quickly, thanks to his hard work and the help of a few friendly neighbors. Soon enough, he was supplying fresh produce to local markets and restaurants. He even started a small CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) program, where locals could buy shares of the farm’s harvest.

Sophie and I moved into a little cottage on the property, helping out where we could. I took up a remote marketing job to keep the bills paid, while Sophie, ever the creative soul, started an online business selling homemade jams and crafts from the farm.

Watching my parents thrive was everything I’d hoped for and more. Mom’s laugh came easier, and Dad had a lightness about him I’d never seen before. They were living their dreams, and it was beautiful to witness.

But what surprised me most was how this journey brought us all closer. We shared more than just the property; we shared meals, stories, and countless moments of joy. We celebrated every milestone, big or small, together. It wasn’t just about achieving dreams; it was about building a life full of love and fulfillment.

One evening, as we all sat around the dinner table, my mom looked at me, her eyes soft with gratitude.

“You know, we always wanted you to find your own path,” she said. “But you’ve given us so much more. This—everything we have here—it’s because of you.”

I smiled, squeezing Sophie’s hand. “It’s because of all of us. This is our dream now.”

In that moment, I realized that making my parents’ dreams come true wasn’t just about them. It was about creating a life that was richer, deeper, and more connected than any of us had ever imagined. It was about infinite love, stretching across generations, shaping our journey together.

And so, in our little corner of the world, we lived our dreams, day by day, side by side.

humanityimmediate familyextended familyadvice

About the Creator

Alfian Permana Putra

Sorry because STRIPE is not available in my country, so I will just include my Paypal

I don't expect it but if a very kind person donates to me then I will be very grateful to him

Paypal : [email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sweileh 88822 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more now

Alfian Permana PutraWritten by Alfian Permana Putra

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.