Families logo

Hi Mom...

I wanted to write to you...

By Jessica LenderPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Here is your child

it's me, your child. Sometimes it's hard for me to show you how much I love you. I have a hard time understanding things you're asking of me, but the more I think about it, the more your actions made sense . I know you're only trying to help me because you want me to have a better future. You forgave me for a lot when I was younger. I remember getting into some situations where you would grounding me, but your love always won in the end. Now I realize that you were only trying to protect me back then.

I know that it hasn't been easy for you, but you never stopped fighting. You are the strongest person I know. I was so angry with you all the time. I didn't understand why you did the things you did, and I threw terrible words at you. I showed it to you with rejection, silence, and arrogance. But now I look back on those times and laugh. How stupid I was!

You always had your fingers in the pie with my relationships. You would overanalyze my boyfriends and I would get your verdict when I got home. Admittedly, your concerns were mostly accurate. In hindsight, I think you wanted to protect me because you listened carefully and paid attention to what they said to you--things that I otherwise wouldn't have overheard. Even when I left you were there for me and comforted me. What schould i say- Blind Love

It might be a single hell under your control in your own four walls at times.

"If you don't take out the garbage, it will start to stink."

"Putting your laundry on the floor won't make it clean itself."

"No need to argue, you're still going to have to wash the dishes."

"You'll have a better chance of finding things if your room is clean."

bla bla bla...

I'm a little apprehensive, but I'll get them to stop reading. It's funny because my children don't understand my emotions like you do. Your ideas have changed my life in so many ways that it would be hard for me to describe all of them here. Today, as I educate my kids about your wisdom, they annoy me. Because of you, I can now comprehend your feelings rather well.

It used to bother me a lot when you weren't happy with my schoolwork. I can still hear your voice in my head:

"If you don't learn enough young man, you'll never get anywhere. Learning is everything."

Nevertheless you helped me with my homework every night after you got home no matter how tired you were, no matter how long it took or how frustrated you became. Because of your dedication, I now understand that learning truly is everything.

I have always been grateful to you for your investment in my future. You showed me that hard work pays off, and I am now a proud holder of a masters of engineering degree from California high school. I lead a team of 47 people in one of the top tier artificial intelligence companies, and I am doing very well financially thanks to you. Because of you, I never give up on even the most difficult tasks – because there is always a solution waiting to be found.

Now my kids are doing the things that used to annoy you, and I can understand it now. Although sometimes they drive me crazy, I love them endlessly like you used to love me. Our relationship is still so strong today that I can turn to you with my problems. No matter how bad I'm doing, you always have an ear for me.

I'm 27 now, have a nice job, a great family with a with a lovely husband 2 wonderful children, and as I can see, your articles are doing well. Despite bad times and two jobs, you never pushed us into the background and never gave up. Despite your wonderful upbringing as a mom, I want you to be able to come to me with your problems, your worries, your fears or problems. At any time. I know you often say with a smile on your face that you are fine, but deep down I notice that sometimes something is depressing you and you have to get rid of that. You were for me anytime and now I am for you.

Even when I'm feeling frustrated, I know it's only because I care about you and want to spend more time with you. You're the most important person in my life, and no matter what happens, I'll always love you. Thank you for being my mom. Love, your child.. <3"

advicechildrendivorcedimmediate familymarriedparentspregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Lender

I'm Jesssica Lender, a mother and an expert on blogging. I love writing, and I love helping others learn how to write well too. That's why I blog and write articles myself- to help others learn the ropes of this amazing industry!

My Blog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.