Families logo

Have You Ever Not Liked a Kid?

Bad apple or bad parenting?

By Bridget VaughnPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Have You Ever Not Liked a Kid?
Photo by Michal Hlaváč on Unsplash

Ever meet a kid that you just didn’t like? I have and I struggle with this because I feel bad about it. I know the girl is only a kid. I hope and pray she grows out of her testy ways. However, I am not responsible for ensuring this child’s behavioral development.

The child in question is my good friend’s little girl. She is the same age as my daughter, and they are friends. I’ve known this girl since she was 3. Since the first time I met her when she was in an umbrella stroller at a fair, she was throwing tantrums.

This kid is 10 now and nothing has changed. Big Veruca Salt complex- she is snotty, impatient, demanding, and unappreciative. She is never happy with anything she gets.

If she begs for ice cream, she is pouting for the next thing she wants before her ice cream is even gone. It’s one thing after another. And a lot of pouting, whining, and temper tantrum in between.

I wouldn’t do it. I would not give in to this level of insatiable instant gratification and greed. She doesn’t appreciate it! Basic manners, as little as saying “thank you” have to be forced out of her. She literally is spoiled rotten.

Her general personality is just nasty. She’s a domineering, pompous, little tyrant. She wants to run the show in all situations. Everything has to be all about her. And it seems she likes getting a rise out of people.

One example of thousands: at my daughter’s birthday party, she kept acting like she was going to stick her finger in the cake. Then she wanted to open my kid’s birthday presents. Every time I’d remind her that it is her friend’s birthday today; not hers.

And she just kept going from one thing to the next. Alternating between bossy to the other kids and testing my patience. Each time that I’d warn her not to do whatever she was trying to do, she would make this haughty face at me (like no one tells her what to do!), smirk, then do it again. I find this child to be so exhaustingly naughty.

The girl is mean. She has literally pointed and laughed when my daughter fell. She doesn’t like to share or take turns. She creates drama with other kids by whispering and pointing. She’s not nice.

She is highly competitive, with no team spirit or good sportsmanship. Anything you can do, she thinks she can do better. She criticizes her friends. She is terrible to her parents. I can only imagine how her school teachers deal with her five days a week.

Being that I am friends with this kid’s parents, I have tried to talk to them about their daughter’s bold behavior. The mother at least acknowledges it but blames it on the dad.

The girl’s dad is completely blind to his little princess’ behaviors being consistently and extraordinarily unacceptable. He is very tolerant, the most even-tempered man I have ever met in my life. And clearly a big pushover; hence the problem.

Kids need boundaries. They need to hear the word “no” once in a while. Poor behavior needs to be addressed and corrected. Parents who allow their children to be disrespectful, not only to them, but to other adults, strangers, and peers are not doing themselves or their kids any favors.

The thing is, this kid comes from a really nice family. She doesn’t seem to have bad examples at home. So, I don’t know where she gets all this from. Other than her family accepting, rather than correcting, her bad behavior. Like I said, this kid has always been such a handful.

I tend to think it might just be her personality. I’ve watched her grow from age 3 to age 10. She has always been high-conflict. She is not fun or joyful to be around for any capacity of time, regardless of the activity.

I can only subject myself to being around her in small doses. I honestly feel like she is toxic! And I feel bad to think that about a ten-year-old.

I talk to my daughter about friendship and what it means to be a good friend. I tell her it is ok to end the friendship with anyone who isn’t being kind to her.

I am not a parenting guru or a child-development expert. I am not above anyone else. But I know right from wrong. And I know we are supposed to teach our kids right from wrong, as well.

What do you think? Is a child’s behavior directly related to parenting? Or is it in their DNA? Or the child’s unique personality? Are some kids born brats? Or are naughty children made?

parents
Like

About the Creator

Bridget Vaughn

Bridget Vaughn is a Freelance Writer and a Yoga Teacher with a passion for creating meaningful heartfelt content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.