Families logo

Happily Married

24 and counting

By Claudia RodriguezPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
We have grown together!

It was a sunny day in June, and thought it was just us, we both knew it was right and promising. Our wedding day was the festivity of the day, for us anyway; my family not present, our friends not available, with us only our neighbor and your dad. A quiet little gathering to sign us up in the name of “Love” to a list of couples who have done the same with hopes to make the best of it because “We Love each other”.

We planned our wedding around us and not the village. and even though it did sting to have no friends no newlywed dance or a big party, we made the best of it. We got married on a Sunday afternoon, me in a 2-piece cream colored outfit, no veil, and you in a gray pin stripe suit; we went back to work the next day, no honeymoon trip. Maybe soon we promised ourselves.

So, it began a new family; we were young but full of hope and plans, soon after we were expecting out first baby, we moved to a new place, it was bigger; we were happy together, your dad moved in with us and so I stayed home through my pregnancy and you had a new job. life went on as we celebrated our first anniversary, and I finally got my high school diploma with a baby in arm. You moved up at work and things looked more promising. second anniversary and baby #2 was on the way. We would have a boy and our little girl was only too happy to be a big sister.

As time passed you went to school attempted your degree, but work was too demanding school was put on hold again. We moved on, economy was good, and it was time to buy a house, baby number three was on the way. I was so happy to be blessed with three children after having been told I may not have any kids as a result of an accident earlier in life. God had blessed us indeed. Our little family had grown, and it was time to move again, Our little family now had a house and a car, and it was time for me to get a job. Welcome babysitters, a really hard time for me, I was not ready to leave my babies.

Work, school, childcare and family time. we made it work for us. Before we knew it; 7 years had passed by. We reminisced on the people who said it would not work out for us, that we were wrong for each other or too young or whatever they could think of.

Another 3 years went by and we moved to Las Vegas Nevada, again school and work and the kids began home school. I loved it they hated it, I tried to make it fun, but it was a bit difficult still they shined bright even if they won’t admit to it… we learned a lot, even if they say the opposite. I became a medical assistant and you a Pharmacy tech. doing the best we could we got them through grade school and on to high school, where I discovered home school was no longer the right idea. we moved again and got them into high school, were they evolved and became more outgoing and participant. ahead of their grade level, and quite mature for their age. The move to a new location and a new school gave them a door to explore their future, it even took the boys across the ocean to learn about a country which had it not been for Choir they may not have experienced until later in life.

We pushed on and had a few heart breaks along the way as it is always in life, but before we knew it; our kids had grown up and we were talking graduations and moving out; off to college they all went. I hope we taught them well, we are proud of who they are and where they are headed. As for us well, I’m here tell me where you want to go.

So here we are: twenty-four years later, planning for a new home, new jobs, living through a pandemic, and looking forward to our 25-year anniversary of the day we said, “I Do”. Honey it has been an adventure and I am so blessed that we made it together. No regrets and feeling very blessed to have you in my life, you complete me, and I am so thankful that you have been there supporting my dreams, Lets continue with this road there is still much more for us to do. I Love you and I would like to tell the world that: Contra Viento Y Marea, “Los Bukis” (against the wind and the Oceans) and Por Amarte a Ti “Cristian Castro”. (To love you) We Have come this far Baby.

I dedicate to you the following song titled “Corazon Contento” Palito Ortega (Happy Heart) youtube.com

Lyrics

You are the most beautiful thing in my life

Tú eres lo mas lindo de mi vida

Even if I don't tell you, even if I don't tell you

Aunque yo no te lo diga, aunque yo no te lo diga

If you are not here I have no joy

Si tú no estas yo no tengo alegría

I miss you at night, I miss you by day

Yo te extraño de noche, yo te extraño de día

I want you to know

Yo quisiera que sepas (parapapá)

That I never loved like this

Que nunca quise así

That my life begins when I met you

Que mi vida comienza cuando te conocí

You are like the morning sun

Tú eres como el sol de la mañana

That enters through my window, that enters through my window

Que entra por mi ventana, que entra por mi ventana

You are the joy in my life

Tú eres en mi vida la alegría

You are a dream in my nights and the light of my days

Eres sueño en mis noches y la luz de mis días

I have a happy heart, a happy heart, full of joy

Tengo el corazón contento, el corazón contento, lleno de alegría

My heart is happy from the moment you came to me

Tengo el corazón contento desde aquel momento en que llegaste a mí...

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriter: Palito Ortega

Corazón Contento lyrics © Trina Jill Music Corp.

Web results

married
Like

About the Creator

Claudia Rodriguez

I am a nature loving person who finds the indoors quite suffocating after a while, I find inspiration in the beauty of a mountain, the flight of a bird or the soft swaying of a flower in the wind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.