Families logo

Everybody Has a Favorite Child in Their Family

I Don’t Care What You Say, You Know It’s True

By Jason ProvencioPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
Me and my three children. Which one is my favorite? I’ll explain.

I remember growing up and arguing with my brother in our room about who was our parents’ favorite child.

“I’m their favorite because I’m the oldest!”

“I’m their favorite because I’m the youngest!”

My dad, yelling: “STOP FIGHTING IN THERE, OR IT’S THE BELT!”

“Shit, I don’t think either of us is their favorite,” I said.

The family dynamic can be a strange one. Parents almost always tell you that they don’t have a favorite child, that they love you all just the same.

I call bullshit on that one.

That’s just some politically correct crap. My theory is that every parent has a favorite kid. Sometimes the father has a favorite that differs from the mother. Once in a while, they both have the same favorite.

I can’t speak for my Bride, but I’ll fully admit that when it comes to our three kids, I have a favorite. Yeah, I said it. And I’ll explain this.

Kazden

The Boy and I go way back. We’ve bonded over music, gaming, and working out now.

The oldest child. The Boy, as he’s called within the family. I give full credit to King of the Hill for that nickname. Our The Boy though is far more intelligent than Bobby Hill.

Kaz is one of my two bonus children. We don’t use the word “stepchildren in our home. We’ve raised our three together since they were in first, second, and third grade. They’ve always gotten along and after 11 years together, they’re truly each others’ best friends and biggest supporters.

The Boy is my favorite talkative child. Though he traditionally was the most reserved of our three kids, kept to himself, and lived in his room as a teenager, I’ve always been able to count on him for long, intelligent, animated conversations.

What we’ve lacked in terms of total time spent versus with my girls, we’ve more than made up for with long, amazing, detailed chats. It’s been awesome talking about the things we’re both interested in.

Since he’s been back from college this week, it’s been all about going to the gym together and discussing workout strategies. And damn, I’m feeling these workouts he’s putting me through. Still, I’m looking forward to our gym chat tomorrow.

Kiera

Our drama kid killed it in Cinderella. Proud papa, right here.

Kiera and I had the roughest start to our relationship of my three kids when we all were first together. She was the hardest of our three children to deal with in terms of discipline and doing what we asked of her. We went rounds, her and I. But we both grew from it.

Kiera is my favorite hanging-out child. Though we only go back together for 11 of her 18 years, we’ve spent the most time together out of all three of my children. We spent the first few months of Covid together every day, playing Zelda Breath of the Wild, start to finish.

When I was able to start doing my carpet cleaning again, she went with me on jobs all summer. She even bought me a couple of plushies and a Pokemon tank top with her own money. She has the biggest heart.

Though I know her mama is her favorite, she’s been my constant companion at home over the years. While mom is out saving the world’s mental health as a counselor, Kiera and I hang out almost daily. I write and she sits next to me while working on her art.

She’s an amazing digital artist as well as working with other mediums. She has such incredible talent, is so driven to get the best grades, and has a bright future. She wants to be a medical illustrator. I couldn’t think of a better kid to hang out with constantly than Kiera.

Avery

Me, Avery, and Dave Mustaine at the Megadeth concert. She’s my little rock star child.

Avery has been with me the longest of my three kids. I was in the room the day she was born. My only biological child of our three, she’s so much like her daddy. Sensitive, hilarious, and has a razor wit.

She’s an amazing young woman. A senior in high school, she’ll be joining Kaz and Kiera in college next year. We share so many things in common besides the awesome last name of Provencio.

We cook and listen to music together. She’s been to concerts such as Megadeth, Huey Lewis & the News, 3 Days Grace, Panic At the Disco, Seether, and Billy Idol. She’s always up for a good time. We laugh together constantly.

Avery is my favorite fearless child. Whether it was the mosh pit at Megadeth at age 12, riding the scariest roller coasters at theme parks, or standing up for equality and what’s right in her LGBTQ community, this kid has balls. I’ve seen her intelligently debate and dissect a number of adults when debating social issues.

Avery is a perfect mix of empathy, kindness, humor, and bravery. I’d want her in my corner in any fight. She’s left-handed like Rocky, a southpaw with no fear. I love my daughter so much.

It’s Cool to Have Favorite Kids For Different Reasons

A fun day at the park from our early days together. I love these three for all the different things they are.

I adore my kids. Anyone who knows me well knows this to be true. I’d rather hang out with them, my Bride, and our little dog Libby more than anyone else in the world. We’ve been blessed that our children actually love hanging out with us. They’ve always been more of my best friends than my children.

To my favorite Talkative Child, my favorite Hanging-Out Child, and my favorite Fearless Child: I love you all. Hopefully, I’m your favorite Writing/Cooking/Comedian Dad. Here’s to many more years together. &:^)

valuessiblingsparentsmarriedimmediate familyhumanitydivorcedchildren
1

About the Creator

Jason Provencio

78x Top Writer on Medium. I love blogging about family, politics, relationships, humor, and writing. Read my blog here! &:^)

https://medium.com/@Jason-P/membership

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.