Families logo

Doing pregnancy differently

How I would do pregnancy differently my second time around?

By Talara NolanPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
Doing pregnancy differently
Photo by Suhyeon Choi on Unsplash

My first time being pregnancy was a lot for me to take in. I really had no idea what I was doing. It was not planned, and so it was a lot to learn and think about. I didn't know what to do or what was normal. Everything for me was a learning experience. When you are trying to prepare yourself for this big change, it's hard to take it all in. There are some things that I would do differently, and some I would do again my second time around.

Be Present

One thing I would make sure that I would do is to stay present. To take it all in. Everything was so unknown to me, that I didn't feel like I really took it all in. If I were to do it again, I would make sure that I was present for every moment. I would really feel it, be at the moment, record everything. Reality is that you don't know if or when you will be in that time of your life. So make sure that you experience every second of it.

Continue to work out and be active

I am a lot more active in this time of my life. I would make sure that I continued to work out throughout my pregnancy. During my first pregnancy, I had a retail job so I was fairly active. When I stopped work, that came to a grinding halt. I stopped being active really, and that was really when I felt uncomfortable. So going forward, I would make sure that I continued being active. I of course won't go as hard as I am going now, but I would make sure that I kept my body moving.

Keep it a secret

I was a single parent my first time around. Because of this, I let myself get everyone involved. Yes, they just wanted to help and be there. They meant well. But I am, overall, a private person.

For my second time, I won't be a single parent. Because of that, I would keep it a secret. I would want to keep it between just my partner and I. There is something about experiencing it between just the family I am making, that is such freedom. I feel like it would make me more present, in the moment.

Follow a strict diet

I didn't overeat at all my first time around. Though, I did consider the whole eating for two aspect. My second time around, I would make sure that I follow a more strict and healthy diet. By cutting things out such as processed foods and junk food. I would make sure that I would be in the healthiest place that I could be.

Make sure that I was calm

I fully believe that how you are affects the baby. Overall, I am a fairly calm person and it takes a lot to really upset me. Your energy goes into the baby. So I really believe that how you are during pregnancy will affect the baby you have. I really believe that me being a calm person made it so that I had a calm baby, as she really was calm as a baby.

Make sure that you have a good doctor

I didn't have a family doctor when I got pregnant. So I went to the clinic, and they got me a obgyn. I got really lucky, and my doctor was great. She was calm, and so reassuring. She made the whole process every easy for me. While I won't be able to get her, as I live far away, I would make sure that I got a doctor that I really connected with.

Pregnancy can be a great experience and time in your life. If it is your first, it can be overwhelming. Know that everything will be okay. Trust that it will work out. Make sure that you make rules that fit you and your life, no matter what people may think. This is your time, your experience. So make it something that works for you.

-T

singlepregnancyhow tochildrenadvice
Like

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.