Families logo

Dear Mom,

The things I wish I could say to you.

By Megan HansonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Dear mom,

It has been 5 years since the last time I saw you. The last time I was able to talk to you. It's been 5 years since you passed away and mothers day had come and gone. Your mother has also come and gone and there is so much I would like to say to you. First and foremost, a lot has happened in the last 5 years since you have been gone. Grieving has been hard on me and coming to terms with you being gone but I have learned so much that I have to thank you for.

Firstly, I have learned more about myself with the loss of you that I've finally come out of my shell more. I've become more open as a person and sharing my experience with other people. I have helped so many people get through their own grief and loss because of what I experienced with you. Even though the way that you have left was something traumatic it brought me closer to a lot of people. I've met some amazing people over it and I'm thankful. Thank you for still teaching me even in the afterlife.

I have gotten to meet one of my closest friends within the last few years at work and I got close to her family. Her parents have taken me in like I was their own and I think you would have loved them. I think you lent me in the direction to them and I thank you for that. I never thought I would have other parent figures in my life but I'm happy I do now.

I have had a hard time mentally since you left me but I can say, I'm doing better now. I'm in therapy getting the help I've needed and working through everything that has happened to me. Losing you was the hardest but please don't be sad about it and just know I am okay. I'm working on being a better version of myself and being someone I know you'll always be proud of. You really don't have to worry about me you've done a good job.

I hope you are in the sky having the time of your life. Spending time with all the animals that had joined you including our beloved Callie and Anakin. Thank you for teaching me how to grow. Teaching me things in life including now. You have and will always be my rock. Happy Mother's Day and Happy birthday to you. I love you always. You’re loved by so many, I hope you know that, even by people who never got the chance to know you. You’ve made a huge impact on everyone's life.

To anyone out there that has gone through loss just know you are not alone. There are other people out there who have been through the same thing as you regardless if it's a pet, parent, sibling, grandparent anyone in general. Don't be afraid to reach out and get the help you need because it's not easy losing someone. It's not easy having to go through that. I hope my little letter to my mother could help you out and know that it's okay to grieve those you have lost as well as learn from them as well. You can learn so many things just by the loss that they end up teaching you. My mom left this world but has left an impact. I believe it’s like that for others as well. I will hopefully write her story as well. The story from start to finish gives a better aspect of her life. To show how wonderful she was because she was.

She’s gone but she’ll always be here. The same goes for anyone you don’t have around. I’m adding this to her letter because I know she would love to read things like this and feel inspired, she loved writing, she loved reading but most of all she loved reading other people's stories.

parents
1

About the Creator

Megan Hanson

Just an aspiring writer who has a lot to share.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.