Families logo

Christmas Holidays

Lifetime Memories by Mummy

By Lizabeth BrooksPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Christmas Holidays
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Mummy is the central figure in all of the warm and fuzzy childhood memories I have of the Christmas holidays. Mummy, this memoir is my gift to you this Christmas of 2020:

As an adult, I have learned to appreciate the work Mummy did to make the Christmas season a special event in our home. Shopping, baking, sewing, decorating, and creating an atmosphere of excitement were just a few of the things she accomplished for that one special day of the year. However, the most important thing she taught me about Christmas is that it is not about the presents, the food, or decorations--or a single day. Mummy always reminded us that we were celebrating intangible gifts of hope, generosity, charity, love, and faith that should carry through the ensuing year.

The hustle and bustle of Christmas, in my childhood home, included the sounds of mummy's rich and melodious voice accompanied by joyful and cheerful seasonal music wafting through the air and intertwining with the deliciously luscious spice-laden aromas of special treats baking in the oven. Boxes holding seasonal treasures wrapped carefully in tissue paper appeared seemingly out of nowhere (I never did know where mummy managed to store those boxes in our little house--probably the same place she hid the presents!). Removed from their protective wrappings, special ornaments were dispersed throughout the house so there was a delightful visual Christmas smorgasbord everywhere my eyes looked. Chicken bones (candy and not the real deal), ribbon candy, barley clear toys, and satin mix candies were put in bowls: mouth-watering little treats that brought a sigh of pleasure.

The tree, branches decked in old-fashioned lights with reflectors, and multi-colored glass ornaments stood gloriously in the picture window...the garland and tinsel glinting and sparkling with the draft created by the forced air heating vent. In the cold of the morning, it was a wondrous sight to behold as I sat perched over the vent trapping some of the warm air under my nightgown. In the quiet of the early morning, gazing at the sparkling splendor, I would dream the expectant fantasies of every child at Christmas.

However, even as a child, I noticed that people seemed to be nicer and more cheerful in the weeks before Christmas. Befitting of a special event, there were also shopping excursions and visits with friends to deliver cards and small gifts. It was during these visits that I became aware that some people seemed to have much less than others. Yet, the Christmas spirit of love, hope, peace, generosity, and faith was present in every home we visited. Regardless of how much or how little anyone had, it was the friendship, the camaraderie, the laughter, the goodwill, and the benevolence that drew us all together. It was the attitude of hope, forgiveness (everyone worked to let go of whatever disappointments, disagreements, or hurts that they felt), generosity, compassion, and community that truly defined every childhood Christmas and made it memorable.

It is true that children do not miss very much that goes on around them--it just takes them a little while to learn the subtleties of mature behavior. Watching mummy, I learned how to be thoughtful, considerate, careful, and tactful with other people. Mummy considered the circumstances of others when she selected the cards and gifts we would give at Christmas...careful not to offend anyone and to ensure their pride and dignity were left intact. These attributes I learned from mummy have served me well over the years: they are as much a part of the "Christmas spirit" as the love, joy, hope, and peace sentiments.

As I reflect upon the past and consider the present, I realize how fortunate I am that my mother not only laid the foundation of faith. hope, and love in my life but also taught me how to apply those principles in daily life. As well, it is important to recognize these are learned skills that are employed, not just at Christmas, but every day of the year. I consider these lessons that mummy taught me to be the greatest gift I have ever received from anyone. Long after the presents under the tree are gone and forgotten, this is the gift that remains with me year after year.

Although I have deviated from what I was taught more than a few times throughout my life, I have always returned to the principles, values, morals, and beliefs mummy instilled in me as a child. I appreciate very deeply the consistency and dedication it took for her to teach me the meaning of Christmas. The attributes and principles of love applied with compassion, understanding, and wisdom-- when combined--these are the feelings, sentiments, and reason for celebrating through the season and the coming year.

This year, this is my Christmas gift to mummy...thank you for all the important lessons you taught me. Thank you for being the perfect mother for me and showing me how to be a human being. Thank you for the hours and days you sacrificed, scrimped, and worked to ensure I would know what is important in life...and what is not. Thank you for defining the things that have real value and the things that are absolutely worthless. I would not be the person that I am today without your guidance. Thank you for simply being the elegant, magnificent, imposing woman you are every day.

Because of you, mummy, I celebrate Christmas each and every day of the year. You are always in my mind and heart along with every lesson you wanted me to learn. I respect, cherish, and accredit you for the enduring knowledge, understanding, and wisdom you imparted with respect to humanity...when I grow up, I want to be just like you!

parents

About the Creator

Lizabeth Brooks

A Christian mother and grandmother, I am excitedly beginning a new chapter in my journey. Writing inspirational, motivational, and challenging human-interest stories is a life-long passion that brings joy and hope to others.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lizabeth BrooksWritten by Lizabeth Brooks

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.