Families logo

Dr. Seuss and Me

An Old Beginning Becomes a New Beginning

By Lizabeth BrooksPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Dr. Seuss and Me
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I can remember wanting to be able to read at the age of two as I gazed longingly at the bookshelf in our living room. Watching my mother's face as she read the books in the small library she owned courtesy of The Doubleday Book Club inspired me to emulate her and learn to read books. Whatever was contained in those mysterious tomes moved her to make faces that revealed both her interest and the emotions the words evoked within her. My mother looked so elegantly, beautiful as she sat quietly reading her beloved stories.

The book that held me spellbound for periods of time was entitled "The Enormous Man". I have no recollection of the author's name, but the title has been a part of me as I spent many hours trying to sound out. I would try to figure out this word phonetically...the same method my mother used when teaching me to read along with her the stories of my childhood. At this point, reading piqued my childish curiosity. Also, I desired to emulate my mother and become as beautiful as I perceived her in those private, quiet moments.

I was able to read children's books before I entered grade primary because my mother taught me this necessary skill. She taught me how to use a dictionary and prompted me to learn to read on my own. Being the eldest child meant that quiet time was necessary when my sisters and brother were napping. Television was strictly limited in our home (Mr. Dressup and The Friendly Giant being the only mom-approved shows) and my mother encouraged reading as a source of amusement.

Yes, there were lots of children's books in our home. Books that were loved and shared by me and my siblings were well worn and torn, and, none more so than those written by Dr. Seuss. The first book I remember reading on my own, from beginning to end, was "One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish". And, this is where my love of reading and the desire to learn to write began.

Dr. Seuss. How I loved every book that he wrote--enjoying the cadence and the silliness of the made up words and worlds; the outrageous characters and the ridiculous antics. The sheer fun of it all kept me amused and always left me wanting more. Other children headed for the toybox when visiting: I headed for the Dr. Seuss books that we did not possess. While the others played games and interacted with each other, I would find a quiet corner and glut myself on stories that were new to me.

The greatest gift my mother ever gave me was a love of reading and expression through the written word. However, it was Dr. Seuss who inspired my imagination and created within me the desire to be able to write something that other people could enjoy. Only, it would be a lifetime before I would understand that writing is not just a skill but a gift that I possess...a gift that I did nothing with for years.

While I wrote stories for my children, I never did more with this ability due to a lack of self-assurance, self-confidence, and fear that no one would like the stories I wrote. Although friends and my children's teachers suggested that I should be writing, careless criticisms and thoughtless comments from my parents and siblings undermined the very ability and desire they had established in me.

Time changes everything.

Now, I find myself in a place where I can write for myself. My new mantra is: I choose to write because it is the one thing I absolutely love to do...I write because I can and because I do have things to say (sometimes they are even important things)...I write to please myself and no one else...I write because the written word is my passion--the world inside my head is full of stories that friends encourage me to share with them...I write because if I do not use this gift then it will serve no purpose and be wasted.

I have enjoyed a life that is full of experiences. Fun times, sad times, terrible times, miraculous times, loving times, angry times, scary times...all the different sorts of times a person can have. Now, I am working on a new chapter: A time for reflection, personal contentment, and a commitment to myself to use the gift I have been given in a way that is meaningful and pleasing--to me. Now, is a time of new beginning and discovery and of fulfilling my potential.

I am not afraid of my imagination anymore. I am certainly no longer afraid of what others may think or say. I am not afraid to be myself and express myself--as long as I remain considerate and respectful of others.

I want to bring stories to the reader that inspire, motivate, challenge perspective, and prompt thought. I desire to let others know that they are not alone, that there is always hope, and that miracles happen every day.

And, it all begins with Dr. Seuss!

I

humanity

About the Creator

Lizabeth Brooks

A Christian mother and grandmother, I am excitedly beginning a new chapter in my journey. Writing inspirational, motivational, and challenging human-interest stories is a life-long passion that brings joy and hope to others.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lizabeth BrooksWritten by Lizabeth Brooks

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.