Families logo

A Letter To My Dad

Thank You Dad

By Carlos GuerraPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Dear Dad,

About a month ago, I entered a writing competition where I was supposed to write a letter to my hero. After a ton of consideration, I decided to write a letter to myself in 10 years but I had also planned to write a letter to my other hero, a letter to you...

When I was growing up, there were several periods of time that you and I just didn't see eye to eye. Although I didn't know it at the time, you were seeing all of the mistakes that I was making and you were just trying to keep me from destroying my life. No matter how hard you tried to protect me, no matter how much effort you put into showing me the right way, I was far too stubborn to take the time to listen to you. It wasn't until I was older that I realized just how lucky I was to have you in my life.

It's no secret that my biological father has been absent from my life. In fact, referring to him as the "sperm donor" has been a running joke between me and my younger brother for a while now. It's thanks to you that I now know the major difference between getting a girl pregnant and actually being a child's father. Out of all the lessons that you taught me, that is the one that I am most grateful for by far.

You see, as far as I'm concerned my dad isn't the man who knocked my mom up 26 years ago. To me, my dad was the guy who stuck around to change my diapers. He's the guy who taught me how to catch a football. He's the man who helped me fix my tie the day that I got married. My dad taught me the difference between right and wrong. He was always made sure that I recognized whenever I made a mistake in life but he also assisted me with advice on how to correct them. Like the time I got arrested and he drove 300 miles to bail me out, then sat outside of the jail until 2 in the morning waiting for me to be released even though he had to work the next day. When the horrible decisions that I was making nearly cost me my life, my dad made the effort to visit me in the hospital whenever he had the chance just so he could make sure I was okay.

You've always been there for me dad... Even now, after I've spent so long rebelling, after I'd been arrested several times, after all that time that I spent lost in darkness, you extended your hand to pick me up and pull me back into the light. It's far from a secret that I not only jacked my life all the way up but nearly brought it to an end as well. I single-handedly shattered my life as if it were a vase that fell to the floor but you're still by my side helping me pick up the pieces. Even after all of my rebelling, after all of my poor decision-making and self-destructive behavior, you're still giving me the opportunity to come back and make things right.

Listen, Dad, I know that there is a part of you that is scared... I almost died and there's still a concern that when things turn out to go the wrong way, which they might, I'll end up falling back into that dark place. I need you to know that I refuse to allow that to happen. I am going to prove to the world that I am every bit of the man that you raised me to be. I may sound like I'm joking whenever I say that I'm destined for greatness but the truth is I'm completely serious. I could've died a few months ago but I didn't; I promise that I am going to show you and god that pulling me back out of hell was not a mistake. Then, at the end of it all, when it's all said and done, you will take pride in the fact that I am your son.

parents
1

About the Creator

Carlos Guerra

Born on 09-07-95 in Miami, Florida.

Are you a fan of my work?

Follow me on Instagram @Carlos_War @Carlos_thewriter, DM me for requests/feedback

Writers & Readers need to stick together, if you enjoy my work, please subscribe 🧐🤔

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.