Families logo

30 Days Being Thankful In 2021 Pt. 2

This Year I Am NOT Feeling Being Thankful, But A Few Things Still Make The List

By Amanda J MollettPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
30 Days Being Thankful In 2021 Pt. 2
Photo by Ann on Unsplash

Day 9

I am thankful for my son. I never even knew I wanted to be a mom in the first place, however, when he was born, I felt like this is where I was meant to be, in this time and place, in this hour, in this life, I was meant to be his mom. And he was meant to be my son.

My son 4 months old

Day 10

I am thankful that I am a mom. I wish my mom could be here to see her grandkids, and I wish we could go through these things together. I never knew I even wanted to be a mom, but I love my kids more than anything and I am so glad I am good at it.

Day 11

I am thankful that I am a good mom to my kids, and I have my mom to thank for that. She taught me how to be loving and caring and supportive. She taught me how to take the sunshine in and to see my blessings even when I do not feel like I can see them, even on my worst days.

Day 12

I am thankful that my mom taught me how to be a dad. She did not even realize she was doing it, but she was always there. Any program, concert, or school play that I had, she was always there. When my dad said he would come to a field trip and I waited, but he never showed up, luckily for me my mom would come in his place.

Day 13

I am thankful that my mom showed me what kind of marriage NOT TO HAVE. No one wants to be in a marriage like hers was, I would not want to be that miserable or be wasting my life. November 13th would have been her and my dads anniversary.

Day 14

I am so proud and thankful for my son and everything he has accomplished in his life. He is a young man, and he already has it more together than half of the male adults you meet.

My son on his 14th birthday

Day 15

I feel blessed that my son always takes such good care of me. He worries more about me than he does himself. He would rather himself get hit by a car, so that I would not get hit by it, where as I rather be the one that gets hit, so that he is not the one who gets hurt. I tell him I am the mom I am supposed to worry and put my life on the line for him, where as he is a kid, (now a young adult,) and he should not be thinking that way about me. I try to tell him not to worry about me, but he does, and I am thankful he loves me that much, even if I do not want him to worry about me.

Day 16

I am thankful to know that my son loves me no matter how bad I screw up. I am not a perfect mom and I mess up. All parents do, but he loves me no matter what. Even when he gets mad at me, which he does not do very often, he does not hate me, and can not stay mad at me forever. He does not try to run away if he gets mad at me, he does not call me names, he does not talk about me. He talks to me.

My son and I together when he was in 8th grade

Day 17

I am thankful that this month is almost over! Just a few weeks left.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.