Families logo

3 Biggest Regrets People Have When It's Too Late To Change Anything

Being aware of them could be the difference between a fulfilled life and one full to the brim with regrets

By Tijjani JibrilPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3 Biggest Regrets People Have When It's Too Late To Change Anything
Photo by @felipepelaquim on Unsplash

We all have regrets. Moments when we look into our past and wish things went a bit differently. It’s even more painful if those things could have easily been prevented. If there was just something we could have done done differently.

Some are light-headed and we laugh about how stupid or dumb we were, and some are so painful, it ruins our mood for a considerable amount of time. Mine has lasted for a week even. Some can be prevented, and some can’t. They all have one thing in common though…

They are all things we should not have done

In my time on this earth (not that long mind you), I have learned some things just happen. That's life. Deal with it. There are also things we can change before it becomes too late — and we owe it to ourselves to do them. I’ll give you 3 and a little bonus at the end!

You Try So Hard To Please Your Parents While Sacrificing Your Own Happiness

The funny part about it all is…

Your parents or guardians only wants you to be happy. Else, they don’t deserve your sacrifice anyways

Let me tell you one thing about myself. I love painting so damn much but I’ll still be graduating with a bachelor's in Aeronautical Engineering in one year. My parents wanted me to become an engineer and all I wanted to do was paint. I kinda found a way—I'll explain.

Not too long ago, I found out I could do both. I decided to learn art in my spare time using online resources instead of attending art school and I have never been happier. I have even made a couple of bucks doing it too.

My point isn’t to completely ignore your parent’s advice. See if you can do both. If you can’t, talk to them and tell them how doing what they want will make you really unhappy.

You Work Too Much

I recently read an answer on Quora (I tried to find it again but couldn’t). It was a woman telling a story on how overworking nearly ruined her life. She was always an overachiever and she worked too damn hard to be the best at everything.

She later got very sick as a result of that. She couldn’t work anymore. During that time when she was doing literally nothing as a result of her health condition, she decided to take things slow. She got well and did just that.

She could have prevented all of it if she just didn’t bury herself with her work. Remember, no matter how valuable you think you are wherever you are working, the moment they no longer need you or want to keep you for any reason, they will let you go. It’s nothing personal — that’s just how it is.

Relax and take things slow. Work hard to achieve your dreams of course but if doing that is making you miserable, please slow down.

Hiding Your Emotions From Fear Of Hurting Somebody Or Yourself

It probably feels easier to just shut up about what you are feeling at the moment. You felt like exploding, but you stopped the bomb. Hate to break it to ya…

It’s not a grenade, it’s a timed bomb — and you didn’t stop it, you just tapped snooze

It will come back to hunt you. Sooner or later. Whether it comes too late is up to you.

I snuck in a last little pointer for ya: Good friends you can trust are extremely hard to come by. Don’t do anything to lose them!

advicechildrenparentssiblingsvalueshow to

About the Creator

Tijjani Jibril

Freelance writer and proofreader who Freelance writer and proofreader who specializes in self improvement and productivity.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tijjani JibrilWritten by Tijjani Jibril

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.