Education logo

Reflection... My application essay for UTSA

Essay for application to graduate school 2014

By Rebecca K Published 2 years ago 3 min read

My interests in counseling began when I was in high school when I witnessed the death of my best friend. Little did I know how much of an impact one life could have on an other person's life. Not knowing how to cope and feeling alone, I recall my counselor as being one of the most helpful people in my most dyer time of need. She allowed me the venue to vent and work through my feelings, reassuring me that my tears and pain were more of a sign of strength not weakness. This experience made me realize the important role that counselors play in the human development of the members in society. This along with the aide of my God Mother's life lessons, ignited a passion in me to become a counselor so that I too could help others in need. For the years following high school, I have held several positions in the medical field ranging from receptionist to a home provider. By far, working as a home provider was most enjoyable. The communication and the one-on-one interaction with the patients was most satisfying thus, reminding me of my childhood dream of being a counselor. 

In 2008, I began the journey to becoming a counselor by starting my undergraduate studies in Fort Myers, Florida. My sincerity and strong work ethics are virtues that were instilled in me as a child and have carried through into adulthood. As a working single parent of two children, I challenge myself to do my best to achieve set goals. As of 2014, I have achieved my undergraduate degree while going through a divorce, relocation from another state, raising a child with medical needs, and dealing with family issues, and giving birth to my second child. Rather than seeing them as obstacles, these challenges have helped strengthen my resolve to continue my education as a counselor. After resolving these personal issues, I have found a new positive support network that I have included in my selfcare and wellness plan. throughout my undergrad years, I have held intern positions and volunteered with a wide range of service providers. But most recently, in the last two years have volunteered with the HydroAngels (raising awareness for hydrocephalus), the San Antonio State Hospital (psychiatric unit), and completed an internship with Dr. Bouton Puentes at her private practice (completing intakes, administrative duties, and administering variety of assessments).

I have found life-long learning and self growth as a personal value and want to take advantage of this opportunity to learn and grow not just for myself, but for the future clients I will serve after I pursue graduate school. In addition, my personal qualities of patience, compassion, empathy and skills such as business management and good listening, and organization skills give me the character traits needed to be an exceptional counselor. By continuing my studies, I recognize that my resilience has rewarded me by discovering my passion for helping and empowering others. Being accepted into your program will increase my knowledge and skills, not just in counseling, but in life which will allow me to reach out to the community and give back to those individuals in need. In doing my research looking into and comparing schools too attend, I find that the University of Texas at San Antonio not only ranks high, but the Dean is also President of the Counseling Association. I would love and be honored to be granted the opportunity to pursue my graduate studies at the University of Texas at San Antonio and learn from the nation's best in the clinical mental health counseling field.

collegecoursesdegreestudent

About the Creator

Rebecca K

As a lover of arts and the the truth I enjoy writing. It allows me to express myself while sharing life lessons, precious moments and even the unspeakable moments. I encourage feedback on my posts so feel free to speak your mind. Thank you

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Artur Myakon'kiy10 months ago

    Auto Essay Writer's https://autoessaywriter.net/ plagiarism-check feature is a must-have. It ensures that the essays generated are original and free of copied content. This is a huge relief when submitting assignments. The tool's ability to create unique essays from scratch is impressive and gives me confidence in my work.

Rebecca K Written by Rebecca K

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.