Education logo

How to Make Your Wash Days Last Longer with These 7 Hairstyles

Here are my best suggestions, along with seven hairstyles, to prolong your wash days, ensuring that in between washes, you always look lovely.

By Patricia PiferPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
1
How to Make Your Wash Days Last Longer with These 7 Hairstyles
Photo by Nathan Fertig on Unsplash

Instead than appearing more and more like you've been dragged backwards through a hedge as the days pass.

Regardless of your hair type—straight or curly, long or short—wash days require time and work and can be rather painful for the back or neck. as in really! Our days, weeks, and activities are organized around them. The joke that says you "have to wash your hair that day" is ironic and humorous for a reason.

On wash days, take your time.

Take your time on wash day, is my first piece of advice. Even on its own, I find that this prolongs my wash days significantly. On the days in between, my hair appears nicer for a longer period of time.

Employ High-Grade Items

My second piece of advice is to use high-quality products—which need not be costly. I find that some products and brands are more effective than others. For example, the fact that I seldom ever need to refresh in between washes is one of the reasons I adore Jessicurl products so much. At the end of the post, I've included a list of the goods I used for this wash day.

Day 1: Hair Down

Now, Day 1 can vary. I wash my hair in the mornings, so my wash day is my Day 1. However, if you prefer to wash your hair in the evenings, or at night before you go to bed. Then the following day is your Day 1. Whenever you choose to wash your hair, show off all your hard work, time and effort that went into your wash day and wear your hair down, if you can.

Day 2: Hair Band

Most people prefer to wear their hair down. But it doesn’t always look as good as the days go on. Part of the secret to wearing different hair styles to make your wash days last longer, is working with how your hair is looking and feeling. To make the most of the results from wash day, other than throwing it up in a pineapple on Day 2. Put on a cute hair band, Zazzy Bandz, head bands like these ones from Bizzy Crafts – you get the idea.

Day 3: Half Up

So you’ve got to Day 3. Your hair has been down for the last two days. The curls may be a little pulled out. Or maybe you’ve got a bit of frizz on the top canopy layers of your hair.

Day 4: Ponytail or Pineapple

I’ll be honest, this is often my go-to style for most days between my wash days. It’s also how I protect my hair at night – which you can read more about in this post. A pony tail or pineapple.

Day 5: Banana Clip

Okay okay. This may feel like a blast from the 80’s past. But hear me out. I’ve been wearing banana clips in my hair for almost as long as I’ve been using mousse. I LOVE banana clips! You can buy them in my Amazon Shop here.

Day 6: Bun

Day 6, it’s almost wash day. Your hair might not be looking it’s best, but that doesn’t mean you can’t rock a cute hair style! And still look perfectly respectable. A low bun will give a more sophisticated feel to your look, more sexy if you wear it at the nape of your neck with a few pieces or curls falling loose around your face, and a pair of hoop earrings.

A higher bun will make it more fun – and is often the most practical too. If your roots are getting a little greasy, or losing a little volume. Use a CG-friendly dry shampoo, like this one from Innersense.

Day 7: Top Knot

Perfect for the weekend when you’ve got to do the housework, the grocery shop and stand on the sidelines cheering on your kids as they play their favourite sport. Wait, what am I saying? My kids get so embarrassed when I shout and cheer them on. It’s not cool apparently. They impose a strict set of rules of no jumping up and down, no cheering, no clapping, no encouraging, advice, excessive joy, excitement or smiling; and definitely no waving! Please tell me this is normal?!

The most important thing: What if you miss the hairs?

Hair transplantation may be an option if there is thinning or absent hair in a particular location. Hair follicles are normally extracted from a donor site—typically the back or sides of the scalp—and transplanted to parts of the body that are experiencing hair loss. A number of variables, including the surgeon's ability and the quality of the donor hair, affect how well the surgery goes. Achieving the desired density may require several sessions, so setting reasonable expectations is essential. To ascertain whether the surgery is appropriate for a certain case, speaking with a skilled hair transplant surgeon like Laser Way Clinic, is imperative.

how to
1

About the Creator

Patricia Pifer

I am an avid health and fitness enthusiast and loves sharing her passion for day care with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Well done! Keep pushing forward with your excellent work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.