Earth logo

There Were Three Missing

A Dystopian future

By C. H. RichardPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 11 min read
41
Flowers represented another piece of life that had been taken

The outside world was unknown to her, but she could see a glimpse of it through the window in his room.

This picture of hope is what my mother told me she would use to cope. She cleaned for a man who was part of The Policy when I was young before my sisters were born. The window provided that small opening that she could see a place where nature had not been tortured. Where animals moved around, and birds flew in the sky. She still had hope then, still believed that things would eventually work out. I wish I could talk to her now after all that has happened.

There were only three so I was not sure they would come, but the knock on the door said different. My sisters huddled in the corner of the room while I walked towards the pounding which got louder. Gabriella held the flowers behind her back not fully aware of the trouble she had caused. I gave her a glaring look, but she only stared at the petals that had fallen to the floor at her feet.

We had spent the day at the beach which was allowed only a couple of times a year for children of the plaza. The Policy people gave us this outing as a token day twice a year to enjoy so hopefully we would return to our work programs thinking we could have what they had. When leaving the small designated area on the sand where we were allowed to congregate, we walked home through The Policy neighborhood which still had trees and flowers. My mother told me before she died that people who were in The Policy owned property and therefore were able to rule over those who did not. She explained that it was not always this way, but since land had become scarcer and the ocean waters had risen there was less to go around. If you did not already own land before the floods you would have to find another way to become part of the ruling class.

My family lived in the plaza. People who lived in the plaza did not have the same rights as those who were part of The Policy. We did not own land. We did not have clean water. Rainwater would be saved in barrels and stored in basements of our buildings. Our family had a small two room apartment. My dad worked long hours for little pay. He turned to alcohol to escape his reality. He was often arrested for public drinking. On this day, he was in jail. My aunt would watch over us by checking in every night to make sure we had what needed. She also made a deal with the landlord, a member of The Policy to work extra hours cleaning buildings in exchange for the rent.

People in The Policy had large houses with big wrap around porches. We would see their yards and their lovely gardens sometimes if there was a car driving out or a branch that had grown over the fence when we were on our way to school or work program. Particularly on these beach days there always seemed to be a door left open by a landowner who had forgotten that children of the plaza would be walking through the neighborhood. Today was one of those days. My sisters, Gabriella who we sometimes called Gabby was seven and Addison who was four, strolled behind me as I caught a glimpse of such an open gate to large stately house. Peeping inside I could see a beautiful garden with roses, lilies and dahlias. There was even a bird bath with a fountain of water glistening.

Outlining all of the flowers was a line of orange and gold Marigolds. I knew that Marigolds were the most sacred of all the flowers as they were considered “the protectors”. My mother taught us about flowers from picture books at the library. Gabby just loved to look at the pretty colors. I would also stare in amazement but also understood that flowers just represented another piece of life that had been taken from the people of the plaza. Flowers did not grow in the plaza. There were so many critters and hardly any good soil. Plus, water was already so difficult we could not waste it on flowers. The only exception would be Marigolds. Marigolds could grow with little water. The yellow and orange blooms gave off pungent scent that protected vegetation such as tomatoes and cucumbers from insects.

If you grew Marigolds, you could protect other flowers and have a chance at a garden. If you grew Marigolds, you would have more access to vegetables and a healthy diet. My mom had several Marigold plants when we were younger. She grew beans and potatoes in the community space that used to be in the plaza before the land was sold to another member of the Policy. Sometimes, people from the Policy would sell a Marigold but the price was so expensive. Marigolds represented a pathway for those in plaza and people of the Policy knew it was best to hold onto the plants rather than lose any control.

When I saw the gate open, I knew I had to act quickly with my sisters. Addison was slow and easily directed but Gabriella was quick. Before I knew she was inside the gate and pulled up the Marigolds right down to the root. I yelled for her, but she would not leave until she had three. She wanted one for each of us. I ran and grabbed her as she held tight to her new treasures. I just knew we had to leave. I kicked dirt over the now empty holes where flowers had been. As I grabbed her arm, she turned and looked at me “Elise don’t worry. I’ll plant them. We will have a garden too. Just like Momma had!”

“Gabby let’s go! They will be after us! We need to stay together!”

With that she came with me as I scooped up Addison and ran back to our small tenement in the plaza. For a while it seemed as though there was no worry as no one came. My aunt brought water for our baths and gave us pasta for dinner. Gabby hid the plants in the closet. My aunt picked up the scent which she passed off to the cleaning solution she had used earlier. I just cleaned up and helped both Gabriella and Addison wash.

We had changed into our pajamas. Gabby was holding on to the flowers and talking to them as her friends. Addison was already sleepy and trying to watch while I tried to work on my homework from school. First, I heard the footsteps. Now as I moved towards the knock on the door my twelve-year-old hands shook. I opened the door slightly to see a large man and a woman who were clearly not from the plaza by the way that they were dressed.

“Are you Elise Oliver?” the woman asked. I nodded my head and kept my eyes fixated on her. She was not young but not old. Probably about forty. Her hair was neatly pulled back and her clear skin had defined little lines around her mouth as she smiled gently waiting for my answer.

“May I come in?” I opened the door and stepped back. She stepped in and walked around slowly. The man followed but kept wearing his dark sunglasses. They both were shorts and sneakers but were pristine in their appearance.

“I understand you and your sisters participated in beach day today.”

“Yes.”

“My church helps with those events every season. We want to make sure that just because you live here,” she looked around, “that you get to be exposed to some beauty at the ocean.”

“Yes, thank you.” I kept my eyes upon her.

“Well, I also understand that when leaving you walked past my home. My gardener had accidently left the gate open. From what I am told one of you decided to come into my garden and steal. There were three missing Marigolds after you left. My neighbor saw you leave. Disrupting my gardener’s hard work and making a mess!”

“Yes, I did. I am sorry.” My eyes not leaving The Policy woman’s gaze.

“You did?” as she looked down on the petals on the floor by Gabriella’s feet.

“Yes, it was me and I am sorry. We could not afford any plants and I wanted to grow some vegetables.” My eyes hoping that would be the end of it.

“Elise where are your parents?” she asked as she looked over Gabriella and Addison.

At that moment Addison mumbled, “Momma died and daddy gone away.”

“Away?” the woman looked again at me.

I did not answer. I explained that our aunt watches over us and I also care for the girls.

“Elise you are just a child yourself. How can you possibly care for these two beautiful girls?” as she tried to get a smile out of my sisters.

“We do alright.”

“Well, I bet you do, but now you are in trouble young lady and there needs to be some remedy!”

She went on to explain that she did not have any children of her own. That she and her husband had tried adopting but it was such a long tedious process. She then explained that she would drop all charges if I allowed one of the girls to stay with her

“Just for a little while. She will have new clothes, a good school system, fresh water and healthy food. Plenty of care. She will also have the garden." This woman from The Policy then says to me with the tilt of her head, "Elise you can visit any time!"

Gabriella stared at me, and I looked at Addison. The woman walked over to them touching each of their hair. “I’ll make it easy for you Elise. I’ll take this one.” pointing to Gabriella. “The baby will need you more and I need a child who can enjoy all that we can offer!”

“No!” screamed Gabriella as she ran towards me dropping the Marigolds. “Please Elise I don’t want to go! I want to stay with you. I’ll be good, I promise!"

Gabriella turned to face this woman, "I don’t want to go!” she yelled. “I took the flowers! I’m the thief! Please let me stay with my sisters!”

The woman looked at me over Gabby’s screams. “If you care about her, you should want her to have a better life. I can provide that. She will be well cared for.”

I did not speak. I just stared and thought of Gabriella growing up in The Policy. How she would be spared the struggle. I then nodded my head. Gabby was still sobbing as the woman carried her out.

I told my aunt what happened and showed her where Gabriella was now living. She gave me a hug and told me I did the right thing for her. She will have a nice life and she will be part of The Policy which entitle her to have many good things.

I did get to visit Gabriella a few times. At first, she was excited to see me and asked about going home. I avoided the subject and asked her to show me her new clothes as she took me around her large bedroom. The woman from The Policy even gave me a few Marigold plants on one visit.

As the years went on it became harder to visit. We had less to talk about as the differences became obvious. Gabriella had adjusted and was doing well. I often did not have money for food and sometimes had to ask for a few dollars. Then the visits faded away.

My dad never returned to us. My aunt eventually took Addison in when she was able. After I graduated high school, I worked two jobs and found myself very alone and tired. I turned to drugs to escape.

One day I walked down to Gabriella’s home. The gate was open and there was a swimming pool. Some teenagers from The Policy were all there. I looked in trying to catch Gabriella’s attention. When she did finally see me, she smiled the same faint smile the woman from The Policy had the day she took her. I stood at the gate waiting to be invited in. She walked towards me. It was good to see her. She then moved to the right where she pulled the gate and closed it in front of me.

short story
41

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    You covered years through that short story!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Excellent revamp for the challenge

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Previously ❤️

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    You blindsided me in the best way possible!

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Ooooff! That ending. 😭

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Good story... A lot of detail in the descriptions.

  • Omggg! This was so sad! Did not expect that ending! I did not expect Gabriella to do that. That small action she did on her sister made me cry! But then again, that's the harsh reality of life. This story hit me hard and it was very well written

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This was a great story. Very well done.

  • Already read this but I can now comment too. Great story and it fits the bill.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.