Critique logo

Under the Oak Tree (An Inkling of Novel)

How long should a prologue be?

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Under the Oak Tree (An Inkling of Novel)
Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

Before we get to the critiquing...

At this point, this 'prologue' is part of a romantic fiction short story I am hoping to enter into the Vocal Writing Awards. (VWAs). But what I noticed as I planned it, I had the makings of a novel idea.

Now don't get excited. I have started potential novels before and so far have not gotten anywhere close to finishing the second chapter. But I hoping that this one turns it around.

***

A little information:

  • Historical romance taking place on a Georgian (the state) plantation during the early 1800s
  • Forbidden, slow burn romance between the master's son (Henry) and the new domestic slave (Louise)
  • Dual POVs (points of view): Henry and Louise, but as you'll soon see, another character will at least get one chapter

This is all I am going to give since this is a very new idea stemming from a short story.

***

Tillie

I know I am about to cross into the forbidden place when I see it. The stump of the old oak tree that had been standing as the invisible line between my family and the slaves for longer than I have been alive. That was until the day Daddy came home and deemed Henry a retrenched stain on the family name. The day, Momma said God was angry Henry broke the rules and He destroyed Henry’s favorite place as a warning to all. “Do not cross the line.”

Every time Momma tells my sisters and me that, I shake my head in agreement and give a practiced “yes, Momma,” pretending to be the obedient, innocent, naïve girl they all think I am. This sanctioned role I learned to play well, pretending to be oblivious to everything, untainted by the so-called darkness that infected my brother.

But I know the truth. One would think because I know the truth I understand where Momma and Daddy are coming from. Instead, I am constantly floating in the storm ridden seas of confusion. They always say they only want happiness and love for me and my siblings. So why did Daddy chop down the tree in a God-driven, righteous anger? Why does Henry’s name only break through Momma’s lips as a bitter warning? All he did was obey their wishes, to fall in love and be happy.

Does it truly matter if he was a pale man, and the love of his life was a woman named Louise with skin the color of mahogany?

***

There it is.

I guess my biggest concern is if this would be long enough to be considered a proper novel's prologue or if needed to expand on it.

NovelFictionFeedback RequestedDraft

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Yes, Daahlink - Funny: No Need to 'Expand' this one on me - It's certainly Looong enough - j

Alexandria StanwyckWritten by Alexandria Stanwyck

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.