Critique logo

Critique request

Poem

By Jazzy Published 8 months ago 1 min read
10
This is Pancake, he says please read

I need some critique and feedback on an old poem; looking to enter for publication soon!

Don't hold back!

Feedback Requested
10

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Ricardo de Moura Pereira7 months ago

    Beautiful cat

  • Awww, Pancake is so adorable! Please say hi to him for me! I've read your poem and left you a comment there. I loved it so much!

  • Test8 months ago

    I'll give some comments, though some may be my personal preference/style so may not fit at all what you're trying to do; First of all, I like the style and content and sentimentality of this... but you want suggestions. I would retitle as "Coffee for your Heart" or "Extra Cup". For me, it needs a slightly stronger start. Just 3 or 4 lines (could be interleaved throughout, I think, if you want). I want to hear about the non-coffee lovable qualities of the unknown guest, perhaps, and then go into how happy you are that you can bond over coffee. Almost with a tone "is it silly of me that when I think of you I think of coffee? but this is why...." I also recommend shorter lines and tighter phrasings to find that comfortable balance between your almost conversational style and something with a little more rhythm that clearly feels more poemsy. There's some room for creative line-breaking if you want to emphasize certain phrases. Just some thoughts 💙💙Anneliese

  • Incredible job, it is a Sweet piece and I'm actually drinking coffee ☕Right now😁👍📝💖

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    I love the concept of the extra empty cup. Your poem is as casual as slowly preparing and enjoying coffee. I think eliminating as many conjunctions, adverbs, and determiners like (and, what, so) as fillers would lift your intent. Verbs - grinding, stimulating, swirling, dancing around my cup . The last line of thought is wonderful, How could you modify to make more emotive. This poem has undercurrents of emotions How can you release them? Example: “And now I still make coffee”. Could be something like — Coffee has awakened me again. Hope this helps somehow. Scott

  • Bradley Ramsey8 months ago

    Hey Jazzy! You've always been so supportive of my work, so I'd love to help! Here are my thoughts: - I would structure each line so it's organized into stanzas (I usually do 4 lines per stanza). For the poem's "rhythm" (known as iambic pentameter) I would also try to make each line roughly the same number of syllables or words so it flows from one to the text. - It also seems like some lines rhyme with each other, but others don't. I would lock in a rhyme scheme that stays consistent throughout. So, the last word in every line could rhyme, or only every other line, etc. - I also use an asterisk (*) to put space between stanzas, which I think looks nice. As an example, here's a poem I did recently: https://vocal.media/poets/broken-pieces-oa1ma0t9w - I love the word choice though. As always you convey a ton of emotion in your writing, and you've once again stuck the landing here. It's a beautiful concept for a poem, hopefully the feedback helps!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    omg well...I don't usually love critiquing but...because Pancake asked, I guess I have to try😂💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.