Criminal logo

This Ain't An Opening Farewell

More Like A Curtain Call

By P. B. FriedmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
This Ain't An Opening Farewell
Photo by Adeolu Eletu on Unsplash

I find myself thinking to for and of myself as I sit by myself. This tempts me to discuss W. B. Bubba Blue and F. G. his best and only friend. I think I ought to discuss my only friend, that be me. We been together awhile now, longer than either of us care 2 admit but it's " Alright now, learn my lesson well, can't please anyone so ya' got ta' please ya' self " . At least Mr. Nelson presumably died happily after authoring Garden Party.

There isn't anything like a writer under no pressure and that's me. Like the late Malcolm X I do not expect to live to see the publication of my autobiography; unlike Mr. Small mine will not ever see print. Nothin' like bein' an unread author to turn someone morbid.

Radio tells me that Jersey may be decriminalizing cannabis. This is a digression on my part and a risky one, knowing what I know about editing here. I blogged on one site already minimally about late Chicago Tribune editorial writer Sid ( J? ) Harris and his Things Found On The Way To Other Things. In addition I would reference the late John Lennon In His Own Write by way of explanation.

This has little to do with why this will be my final attempt at blogging. The issue is that after months of soft negotiations at last an offer I could not turn down is on the table the likes of which even I couldn't in my wildest dreams come up with. Keep in mind ( this assumes incorrectly perhaps that someone is reading this ) that I sat through quite a number of creative/poetry/fiction writing classes, so do the math and ask yourself " Is he making this up " ? I briefly had the at times dubious distinction/unmitigated pleasure of knowing a young woman who had a habit of making outlandish claims with a straight face. Inevitably a gullibly glib listener would be left in wonderment to say, at the end of one of her taller tales " Really " ? Her timing was always impeccable as she said deadpan with the same lack of facial giveaway expression" No " . Then would come her gleeful giggle at having humiliated someone.

I make a habit of blogging under the fact or fiction heading. Anyway, comedic actor/former stand up J. Carrey claimed tonothing to be said for wishful thinking have written a check out in the amount of ten million dollars before making anywhere near this amount of money, so who's to say there's not anything to be said for wishful thinking?

It is with this kind of thing in mind that I reveal details of my current finances. Much of the fabulous wealth I have come into has to do with deferred payments, incentive laden performance bonuses and the like. Yes there are vague slight similarities to Jon Gruden's unprecedented ten year head football coaching contract. Also, similar to the late John Lennon's supposed wealth it could take an army of legal experts years to accurately calculate it. Naturally the question comes up " How does one maintain an even keel amid all this seeming outlandish success " ? How could this not go to one's head? I refer skeptics to what is known in the business as the Sammy Davis Jr. equation; at least nine tenths of one's earnings are eaten up by taxes upon clearing a million dollars.

The Molten Tune offer is so fabulous that it's beyond description. Let's just say that people important to me will be seen after endlessly for generations. My agent said that part of the leverage involved in sealing our deal was the undeniably graphicly shocking evidence that at one point readership had increased by approximately 4,500%. The deal was also certainly brokered despite my currently registering close to 100% in the opposite direction. Yet these are considered by the really high rollers investing in me to be fluctuations commensurate with true genius.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

P. B. Friedman

Touch magazine profile. My name is Paul Friedman and I write off. The wall poems, which people don't like and good ones that they do. I'm a sports freak.

The last sentence no longer holds true. My interests are dominated by feminism.

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.