Criminal logo

The Job

By S.B.Strickland

By MrzWriter Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Eight months, one week, four days, three hours, fifty-four minutes, and twenty-four seconds. That is how long it has been since the last job. Eight wonderful, peaceful months. Each day just as calm and quit as the last. My daily routine was simply really. 4:30 am, wake up. Run five miles, come back to the apartment, have breakfast. At 7 am go for a shower, arrive at the local coffee shop at 9 am. Enjoy two cups of coffee, read local Paper. At 12 noon, order lunch, the local favorite of grilled ham and cheese with buttered bread, and a third cup of coffee, eat. Take a nice stroll through the local running trails. At one point in time the hidden bodies would bother me, but they only calm my nerves now as I walk. And be back at the at the apartment by 3 pm. Prepared dinner, simple meat and veggie side dish. Clean all dishes. Clean the whole apartment from top to bottom. Take a shower and be in bed by 8 pm. Nothing every change. That is until today, upon getting home, a figure covered from head to toe in black tactical gear is waiting. I take a second to scan the area, as I grab the nearby vase and smash it into the intruder’s head. They draw a knife; I grab their wrist and use my elbow to snap their arm. Using my free hand, I catch the knife. Using all my strength I shove it into the left side of the attacker’s head. the Lifeless body now hits the floor. Opening my coat closet I pull out my silenced cult 45 and check the rest of the apartment. As I clear it the landline rings. Upon picking it up and placing it up to my ear, the snappy voice on the other end stated one thing, “we need you again, Silverstone.” And the line goes dead. I sigh heavily and set to work, five minutes later I head out. As I make my way north two blocks, an explosion can be heard. I turn back to glance and see the apartment complex has caught fire, I grin and head forward to the next job.

looking back, one cannot help but wonder who sent the attacker and if they know where I was then they knew where she was. Which means that I have to find her before them, and to do that I will need the five keys. But in Order to get the Five keys I need to find the key Holders; I sigh heavily as I break into an old automobile. This means that finding the Crew that hid her, Luckily, I led that crew. So that is one key down. The next to find would be the Britain, standing at 5 feet 9 inches tall he weighed 289 pounds last I saw him. With 78 confirmed kills under his belt, I can find him in any of great Britain's local pubs. The third to find is the Asian, standing at 5 feet 4 inches tall he only weighed 198 pounds the last I saw him. With 37 confirmed kills under his belt, I can find him in his local village helping the elders. The fourth to find is the Irishman, standing at 6 feet tall he only weighed 235 pounds the last I saw him. With 44 confirmed kills under his belt, I can find him with the Britain. And the last, a Canadian man standing at the 6 feet 2 inches tall he weighed 295 pounds the last time I saw him. With the 2nd highest ranking of confirmed kills sitting at 89. I can find him on Mount Vanier, Yukon, Canada in his cabin. I sigh out loud again, as I take the freeway north of the tiny town, I had been living in. As I travel, I let my mind go over the event of the last 24 hours. Before my mind goes back to the Job.

fiction
1

About the Creator

MrzWriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.