Criminal logo

THE GREAT DETECTIVE

PART 4: DEATH OF A PARTNER

By Harry DoggettPublished 11 months ago 17 min read
Like
Photo by jonihermawan from Fiverr

Henry woke up on a beautiful Wednesday morning at 6:00am, like always, and had breakfast with Felix. After breakfast, Henry says bye to Felix.

“See you tonight, Felix,” says Henry gathering his gear.

“See ya, Henry. Be careful, and good luck,” answers Felix looking worried but trying to hide it with a smile.

“Thanks, man,” Henry replies. Henry walks out to his car and looks at the rearview mirror as another officer follows him to the precinct. Henry worked on gathering intelligence on drug cartels and drug lords in New York but was still bothered about the Fallon case. Henry felt that Slade was laughing at him, and he would never solve the case. As the clock struck noon, Henry left to take Felix to lunch.

“Hey, Felix. Ready for lunch?”

“Hey, Henry. Yeah, man. I am starving,” Felix replied. “Panini Grill good for today?”

“Of course. I could go for a burrito,” replied Henry smiling. Henry and Felix left the Charnas Law Firm where Felix worked and headed to Panini Grill for lunch. Once they got there, they ordered their burritos. Henry ordered a burrito bowl with chicken, white rice, lettuce, cheese, salsa, and an order of cheese fries. Felix ordered a burrito bowl too and gets his with steak, guac, lettuce, cheese, white rice, and also gets cheese fries. They get chips to share and sodas. Henry gets sprite, and Felix gets coke. Once they have their food, they found a table in the middle of the restaurant and had lunch.

“How has work been, Henry?” asked Felix. It took Henry a few minutes to answer.

“It hasn’t been perfect. Chief Delgado demoted me, and I have to do intelligence work on drug cartels and other drug lords in New York.”

“That sucks. At least you are still doing interesting work,” said Felix.

“Yeah, it does. Intelligence work is boring. I miss detective work. I can’t get my mind off the Fallon case. I’ve let the Fallon’s down on solving the murder of their daughter,” said Henry looking down sadly.

“I’m sorry, mate. I know it sucks, but it isn’t your fault,” said Felix trying to cheer Henry up.

“Thanks, Felix. I will do my best,” said Henry smiling back. After Henry and Felix finished eating, Henry took Felix back to work. Before Felix went inside to work, he waved back to Henry. Henry waved back. Henry went on his way back to work. He worked for a few hours before Flint came back to his desk. In his hands, Flint held a coupon for a free vodka martini at the Lexicon Night Club. As he came to his desk, Henry saw that Flint was smiling in a way that was unusual for him.

“You okay, Flint?” Henry asks, with a confused look on his face and tone in his voice.

“Yea. I went to Slade’s nightclub and ran into him.”

Henry looked at Flint with a surprised look on his face.

“You ran into Slade? What were you thinking? You could’ve gotten killed!” said Henry worried.

“I’m alright, Henry,” replied Flint. “I had a drink with him at the bar, and he asked about you.”

“He did?” asked Henry. “What did he say?”

“He asked how you were doing. He seemed to know that Chief Delgado took you off the Fallon case,” replied Flint. Henry looked a little angry after hearing that.

“How does he know that and everything else that goes on in my life? It’s like he has someone on the inside keeping tabs on me,” Henry retorts. Flint looked sorry for Henry.

“I am sorry, man,” said Flint. “But on the bright side, I got his glass with his prints.” Henry’s anger turned to a look of surprise.

“You got his what?” asked Henry. Flint smiled.

“I got his prints and his bodyguard in the navy-blue suit’s glass as well and a pen they both used,” said Flint. Flint seemed very happy with his efforts. Henry couldn’t believe how Flint was able to do it.

“We have to get this to the Latent Print Section ASAP,” Henry says, with excitement.

“I will take it there right away. Better not to make a scene so nothing happens to the evidence, so we can figure out who is responsible for the death of the Fallon’s daughter,” said Flint.

“Thank you, Flint.” Henry looks at Flint, smiling with deep gratitude for his work. Flint heads to the LPS sector so they can run the prints. Henry waits for the prints to come back. While working, Flint reappears a few hours after he left to run the prints.

“Any luck, Flint?” asks Henry when Flint got to his desk.

“Yes, I got the prints back,” says Flint.

“Well? What do you have?” asked Henry. Flint looked a little upset.

“Slade’s fingerprints didn’t match those on the body. But his main bodyguard’s prints matched one of the three found on Katie Fallon’s body.” Henry’s eyes widened with shock and sadness. “That’s not all.” Flint continued.

“What else is there?” asked Henry confused.

“This isn’t the first time they ended up murdering someone. There are others with the same and other prints. Slade’s bodyguards have hurt many others, and someone has been hiding all the evidence,” said Flint. Flint handed Henry papers of other instances where other people have been hurt. More specifically, young women. Henry felt sick to his stomach. His heart also felt heavy.

“This is terrible. Their families never knowing the truth,” said Henry, very sad. Henry knew he had to do something. “I gotta go, Flint.” Flint looked confused.

“Where are you going, Henry?” asked Flint as Henry started to gather his stuff.

“I’m going to see Slade.”

“Wait, what? Henry, you can’t. Chief Delgado has forbidden it, and Slade will kill you.” Flint says, with worry in his voice. Henry got his stuff ready to head out.

“I have to try,” said Henry. “He has followed me all my life from the start and made things happen easier for me. I need to end this. I owe it to the Fallon’s to at least try. I gave them my word. I don’t want other innocent people to get hurt.”

“Then I’m coming with you,” said Flint gathering his stuff and following Henry out of the precinct.

“What?” said Henry, confused Flint wanted to come.

“Yeah. Someone better make sure you are okay. Why not me?” says Flint chuckling. “Besides, I have a cop car.” Henry smiles and shakes his head.

“Let’s go,” says Henry. Henry and Flint walk out the precinct doors to Flint’s car and head to the Lexicon Night Club. A few minutes later, they arrive.

“We should park in the back and find an entrance, so they aren’t alerted,” said Henry seeing Slade’s bodyguards at the door. “We don’t want to get caught and have Slade know we’re here.”

“Sounds good,” said Flint. “We need to get to Slade without drawing attention, to get him alone and get him to confess.” Flint drives the car behind the club and parks in an alley hiding the car, but able to get away fast in case things go south. They cross the street to find the back entrance to the club. They try to open the back door, but it is locked.

“Damn, it’s locked! How are we supposed to get in now?” said Henry. Henry and Flint looked at each other, and then they heard a voice coming closer. They hide and see one of Slade’s bodyguards on the phone. As the man reaches the door, Henry sneaks up on him and knocks him out as he hangs up the phone. He searches the man’s pockets and finds an access card. He puts it through the access key, and the door clicks open. Henry turns back to Flint.

“Flint, let’s go.” Flint runs up to the door as he and Henry enter the back of the club. They sneak through the halls till they entered the main dance floor of the club. They hide between columns as they see the club crawling with Slade’s bodyguards.

“We are gonna be seen. There is no way to get around them to get to Slade’s office,” said Flint.

“Yes, we can. Follow me,” replied Henry. Henry leads Flint up the stairs to their left and goes into a storage room. Henry looks around and finds an air vent big enough to crawl through. Flint helps him open the vent, and they enter. They crawl their way to Slade’s office. Soon they hear voices and make their way towards them. They come up to a vent opening at Slade’s office. Slade is at his desk in a conversation with his bodyguards.

“Alright, everyone, calm down. What is going on?” says Slade.

“Sir, it’s a matter of time before Henry figures out we are responsible for that girl’s death…” says Slade’s bodyguard in the navy-blue suit, worried. Slade starts to laugh.

“Oh, come on. Henry won’t find out it was you three. He’s off the case and won’t ever know,” says Slade. Slade’s bodyguards look at each other.

“What if he does?” says one of Slade’s bodyguards, worried.

“He won’t find out. His own parents never stood a chance against my father and me. They never saw what came to pass. Henry is like them and not a threat to us.” Slade reaffirms. “Now go. I am sure Henry will be coming here soon. He still has many questions to ask about his past that only I have the answers to. Keep an eye out.” The bodyguards leave.

“Let’s go,” says Henry with determination and anger. He and Flint jump out of the vents outside the door to Slade’s office. They barge into Slade’s office as Henry pulls out his gun, and Flint closes the door and locks it. Henry points his gun at Slade, who looks back at Henry, unshaken and smiling.

“Hello, Henry. Back so soon. To what do I owe the pleasure….” says Slade before Henry interrupts him.

“Enough of the formalities, Slade. I know your secret!” says Henry. Slade looks confused.

“What secret? I don’t have a secret?” says Slade.

“The secret that you are behind the murder of Katie Fallon or better yet your bodyguards are,” Henry says angrily.

“I have no idea what you are talking about. With what proof?” says Slade trying to sound like he didn’t know what Henry was saying. Henry reaches into his pocket and pulls out a packet of papers.

“This is my proof,” says Henry throwing the papers at Slade’s desk. Slade looks at the sheets of paper with pictures of young women murdered in the past 10 years. “The prints of your three main bodyguards found on Katie are the same that were found on all these victims. Someone tried to hide it all, but we found out the truth. There is no hiding once the authorities find out. You will be in jail for eternity.” Slade looks up at Henry, not seeming worried.

“What makes you think anyone will see this evidence and believe you?” Slade says, with a wicked smile. Henry looks confused. “You took this without a warrant, so it will be thrown out no matter what?” Henry looks at Slade angrily.

“We also heard you admit it,” said Flint, also angry.

“I know it will work. The evidence is more than enough, and you will lose,” said Henry. Slade laughs.

“I will lose? My boy, who paved the way for you to succeed so fast and easily? I did, and I can take it all away. You are nothing and would’ve ended up as nothing if it weren’t for me. You take me down, and I will take you with me. Your own chief doesn’t listen to you and does what I say. I have the power here,” said Slade. Slade continues to smile wickedly at Henry.

“You are right, but I am not nothing. I work hard and would’ve made it without you. If I have to go down and lose everything to take you down, then so be it,” said Henry.

“My boy, you are no match for me and my guards.” Slade snapped his fingers, and 10 of his bodyguards came in, seizing Henry and Flint.

“You will fail as your parents did against my father and I,” said Slade. Slade made Henry uneasy. More than usual. Henry and Flint looked at each other. Flint nodded, and Henry nodded back like they both knew what they needed to do.

“Not today, Slade. Now, Flint!” Henry Shouts. Then Henry and Flint fought off Slade’s bodyguards and soon took all of them out. While Henry and Flint punched, kicked, and flipped all of Slade’s bodyguards, Slade escaped out the door during the chaos. Henry and Flint rushed after him but ran into many more of Slade’s bodyguards. Henry sees Slade run behind his men to the elevator. The doors close and head to the roof.

“We gotta go, Flint. We don’t have much time,” said Henry. Flint met his gaze. They were both afraid of what was going to happen next. “You with me?”

“Always. I got your back, Henry,” said Flint smiling at Henry.

“Let’s do it!” says Henry. They smiled at each other, pulled out their guns, and moved out of the cover of the stone pillars they were hiding behind. Then they opened fire at Slade’s men as they returned fire. Henry and Flint moved closer to Slade’s bodyguards, taking cover when they could. Henry and Flint were able to take out many of Slade's bodyguards. As they got closer to the elevator, one of Slade’s bodyguards shot at Henry and Flint. Henry fell into cover, but Flint was shot. Henry looked over to see Flint holding his left hip, his hand covered in blood. Henry rushed over to Flint. Flint raised his hand, and they saw that it was a graze and flesh wound. Henry didn’t know if Flint would be fine.

“It’s just a graze, Flint,” said Henry inspecting Flint’s wound. “You’re going to be okay.”

“Yeah, hurts like a bitch though, ha-ha,” Flint says jokingly. “Go get him, Henry, I will call for EMS,” says Flint.

“No, I got you, partner. Hang in there,” says Henry. “Dispatch requesting an ambulance at the Lexicon Night Club. Officer down.

“Stone 10-4. Ambulance en route to location.” Henry runs to the elevator over Slade’s fallen bodyguards and takes the elevator and sees Slade is on the phone calling his helicopter.

“Get your ass here!” Slade yells. “I will deal with Henry till you get here.”

“Roger that, boss,” says a man on the phone. Henry and Slade’s eyes meet.

“It’s over, Slade! It ends here,” yells Henry. Slade smiles evilly and chuckles.

“Nothing is over. Not yet,” says Slade. Henry and Slade both stare each other down. Then they both reached for their guns and shot at each other. They both fall into cover, missing each other. Henry knew what he had to do. He jumped out, and Slade fired at him as Henry fired at Slade. They moved closer and closer to each other. Shooting then taking cover.

“This is insane, Henry. This is how you thank me for all I’ve done for you?” yelled Slade.

“I don’t care!” said Henry, breathing heavily. “Your bodyguards killed innocent people. It all comes back to you. Someone wanted to hide it all and did not want me to find out.”

“I had those files firewalled, and only I could allow who sees them. I get the messages to my office,” replied Slade coming out of cover. Henry still stayed hidden.

“Did Chief Delgado know?” asked Henry.

“No. He knew our past and knew you’d come to me. Not what I did,” Slade says. “He was worried, so he demoted you to protect you. I wanted you to find out everything.”

“But why?” replied Henry. “What do you want with me?”

“I don’t want anything from you. My superiors told me to keep an eye on you till the time comes for you to know where you come from,” said Slade. Henry tried to slow his breath and looked down.

“Don’t you want to know where you came from?” asked Slade. “I have all the answers. You just gotta lay your weapon down. Surrender, and I will tell you everything.” Slade walks towards where Henry took cover. He turns to find Henry not there. Slade looks around, confused, and then turns. Henry jumps over one of the box vents, and tackles Slade, knocking Slade’s gun out of his hands. They fought and wrestled for a few minutes. Slade goes to punch Henry. Henry deflects, grabs Slade’s arm, and twists it behind Slade’s back, pinning him to the ground.

“I told you you’d lose!” says Henry. A helicopter is heard in the distance, and Slade starts to laugh. The helicopter flies next to the building and fires at Henry. Henry jumps into cover, being peppered with gunfire. Slade runs to the helicopter and throws a flash grenade at Henry, causing him to stop and start coughing. Slade gets to the helicopter and throws smoke grenades as Henry gets up. Henry ran through the smoke to see Slade fly away in the helicopter.

“We will meet again, Stone!” yelled Slade. Slade’s helicopter faded into the distance.

“And I’ll be ready,” said Henry. Henry gets radioed by Chief Delgado.

“You alright, Henry?” asked Chief Delgado.

“Yeah, just a bit bruised,” replied Henry. “How’s Flint?” Chief Delgado sighed, and Henry got worried.

“Flint didn’t make it,” said Chief Delgado. ‘By the time we got to him, he was gone. I’m so sorry, Henry.”

“Me too, chief,” said Henry, sad.

“He was very fond of you,” replied Chief Delgado.

“Thank you, sir,” said Henry.

“No, thank you,” said Chief Delgado. Chief Delgado went offline. Henry reached the ground floor of the Lexicon Night Club. He walked to the entrance as ambulances were moving the bodies of Slade’s bodyguards in body bags, and other personnel were cleaning up the scene. Other officers blocked off the streets in a five-block radius. Then Henry sees Flint on a stretcher and is taken out by two EMTs and covered before being taken into an ambulance.

“Fly high, my friend,” said Henry sadly. Flint was the best partner Henry had. He will be missed dearly. Henry looked at all the chaos, but it didn’t compare to the loss of Flint.

“Hey, Chief Delgado,” said Henry sadly. Chief Delgado turned to Henry.

“Hey, detective. You, okay?” asked Chief Delgado.

“Yeah, I’m okay. Just Slade got away, and Flint was killed because of me. It’s all my fault.” Henry had a look of regret and sadness on his face.

“It wasn’t your fault. I should’ve told you what you were supposed to know. Then you wouldn’t have had to find Slade for the answers. The fault is mine. I thought not telling you was going to protect you. I was wrong, and you are a great detective. I hereby reinstate you. I need you to finish what you and Flint started. Go home and get some rest. Take some time off if you need to,” said Chief Delgado looking at Henry. “When you come back, we have work to do.

“Thank you, Chief Delgado. See you tomorrow,” said Henry.

“Good night, detective,” replied Chief Delgado. Henry leaves the Lexicon Night Club and walks to Flint's car. He gets in and drives back to the precinct. Before heading home, he places Flint’s keys on Flint’s desk.

“Thanks for always having my back. See ya later, my friend,” said Henry. Henry turns off the lights and locks up the precinct. He gets home and goes to sleep. Life won’t be the same without Flint.

END OF PART 4

investigationSeries
Like

About the Creator

Harry Doggett

Hi! I'm Harry and 26 years old. I am trying out being a writer. I like to write murder mystery and fantasy stories. If you like what you read, please spread the word around for others to view my work. Tips are appreciated for future works.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.