Criminal logo

Snow Day

An innocent snow day with dad took a horrifying turn.

By Madelyne Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

My alarm woke me from a deep sleep on this chilly winter morning. I groaned as I got out of bed and felt the cold air touch my skin. I opened my curtains to see the world covered in a thick fluffy layer of crisp white snow. I grabbed my phone to see if today was a snow day. As the site loaded I prayed for it to be a snow day, as we haven’t had one in a while and it would be nice to get to stay home today. I smiled as I saw the words “SNOW DAY” in giant red letters on my phone. I threw on a sweater and went downstairs to get something to eat.

When I got to the kitchen my dad was already there making himself breakfast; so he made me eggs as well. As we ate breakfast together he told me about a new documentary about a serial killer from the 1980s in Southern California that was never caught and asked if I wanted to watch it with him. I said sure as we both found true crime documentaries interesting.

We finished our eggs and then headed to the living room. He told me that he lived in Southern California during the 1980s and remembers hearing about this killer.

“The BBK” is what they called him, The Blonde Bondage Killer is what that stood for, the name was pretty self-explanatory. The killer’s victims all had blonde hair and olive green eyes. It was kind of weird to think that my mom was living in Southern California during the times of the murders and also had blonde hair and green eyes; I shivered at the thought that she could have been murdered and I never would have been born. We sat on the couch as my dad put on the documentary.

It was really interesting, the documentary explained that the “BBK” killed hundreds of tourists through Southen California, all women who had blonde hair and green eyes, ages 19-32.

The most gruesome of his killings, the police weren’t even positive that it was the “BBK” as it didn’t follow the same patterns as the other murders. The victim's name was Diamond Burton, she was by herself looking for apartments in Southern California. No one even knew anything bad had happened to Diamond until the day she was supposed to return.

Her mother went to pick her up from the airport, and Diamond was nowhere to be seen. Her mother looked around to see if she had gone somewhere else first, but no sign of Diamond. Her mom decided to go over to the baggage claim to see if Diamond’s suitcase was there to indicate if Diamond had gotten on the plane.

She saw Diamond’s suitcase and grabbed it, she noticed a note attached that said “Mom, opens me.”

Her mother thought it was strange as she knew it was definitely not Diamond’s handwriting; however, she still opened her daughter’s suitcase and to her horror, there was Diamond’s dismembered body. She screamed in disbelief as she realized what she was seeing. Everyone in the airport turned to look at her to see what was going on.

The documentary went on to explain that the police officers who were working the case were surprised that the “BBK” was never caught considering there multiple witnesses who had seen him dump one of his victims in a park.

All the witnesses that had seen him that day in the park came forward to give a description of the “BBK” to a sketch artist who came up with a drawing of what the man looked like.

Then at the very end of the documentary, they showed a sketch of what the “BBK” looked like. It looked familiar but I couldn’t quite place where I had seen that face before.

All of a sudden my dad chuckled and I turned to look at him to see what was so funny; then it hit me like a transport truck. The sketch looked exactly like my dad! Oh my goodness! The “BBK” was my dad. He looked over at me with a devilish grin on his face. He leaned in close to me and looked straight into my olive-green eyes, while he stroked my blonde hair and said,

“I’ve been waiting so long for this day”

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Madelyne

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.