Criminal logo

Scam

At least they stay creative....

By Fanni HeczPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
5
Scam
Photo by Bermix Studio on Unsplash

Scammers, somehow, have unlimited source of creativity - that even I envy, it would possibly make me a better writer. Fake data, stolen images, shady details, whatever it is they may use or do, they always make it look authentic. I have seen scams before but the amount of effort that was put into this one was something else.

Recently a dear family member of mine has fallen into one of those scams, anyone can find on Facebook (done through one account in this case - however I still think this was done by a number of people). They create a persona - usually a male when it comes to trading and crypto scams - using a lot of different materials.

The scam I happened to be sucked into stank from the start. I would like to share my experience to spread awareness as this keeps happening far too many times, to so many people.

So it begins...

This family member of mine was getting into crypto currency and somehow got to know about my financial matters. They popped in and sat down on their laptop. We did briefly talk about bitcoin mining which this family member was pursuing. They also showed me this gentleman who was apparently doing this so-called mining. Then I slipped upstairs in silence as quickly as I could to keep the nipper asleep - and of course to avoid hearing more about crypto and bitcoin - while letting myself melt into a sweet slumber.

It wasn't unusual for this person to fall into scams with the pursuit of getting rich quick and the use of internet wasn't part of daily life when they were younger. Of course this hyperspace of information (or endless rubbish) has grown since it was first invented.

Anyway...

My slumber didn't last long. The sound of nervous footsteps and a very annoying phone conversation of the said relative woke me.

The relative kept asking for money. So I snuck out of my bed to meet them downstairs to simply ask about what was going on. They put me on the phone with this individual. This unknown person had a soft manner although he did become a bit pushy with his sentences as he kept repeating the same over and over when questioned. Things like "Your relative has sent the money the wrong place, can you lend them money so they can start?" and "I lent your relative x amount of money but they sent it to a wrong account and I trust to get my money back." just to mention a few.

While Mr. Mining Bollocks kept reassuring me that he was legit, I asked for some evidence which was provided. Previous clients, him holding a photo ID and some diagrams of previous minings. I carefully examined every inch of each proof while I was bombed with questions about my decision and a nervous tapping. The alarms in my head were going off.

I still sent the money...

This is where everything got slightly interesting. After sending the money I buggered back up again slightly confused and disappointed.

A week past since that point, and according to the Crypto Gremlin everything was going down so it was not worth mining. Now fast forward...this cretin mined about 9000 dollars worth of bitcoin pieces (or whatever he said) however he needed 200 more British pounds from this relative which was sent to get this big amount.

Was the money transferred to the right place? No...Now 200 more was needed to be sent to the right address. Are you seeing the pattern now? When this issue surfaced (again..) I threw myself down the rabbit hole of scams. I used the account's profile picture as it was the simplest fashion shot of a handsome individual. As I was searching for my answers I remembered what I noticed at the beginning.

The clues

The numerous times this relative was on the phone with this con, no-one has seen him. He never did a formal online meeting where his actual presence was there, visible to us. In addition to this, every client's profile has only been created and 'active' since 2021 with no friends or the same ones on each list. Of course there was a cheeky thank you video from one of the clients (this client's profile was never sent to me by the way) which would stir anyone away from thinking it was a scam.

Previously there was a photo of this individual holding an ID card. However most of this said ID was blocked out by a streak of light - also anyone can get a fake ID especially if it is only for one picture.

Back to my search...

I used Google Lens to search articles containing this person's image. Only two articles popped up but one of these proved to be very useful. All within 10 minutes.

The results were unbelievable...or more believable at that point. I sat laughing hysterically because I knew I was never going to see that amount again and I was right from the start.

The man on the photo is a digital creator, who is happily married and minding his own business. Nothing out of the ordinary there.

The unfortunate thing was the man on the photo is completely unaware of this scam and this wasn't the first time someone was using his photo. It can be reported however they will take someone else's photos and use them to keep robbing people. It is just never ending.

The Lesson

If you ever come across (or any of your relatives) the same or similar scam make sure to use Google lens on the scammer's photo. You'll never know what can come up during your search. Never let them rush you either. They give a very small time frame for you to act so you have less [time] to think things through.

Anyone, who wants to invest, should go to a financial adviser to make an educated decision on these types of matters. Not just ensuring a possible profit, it also can keep you safe. By all means, do your research, ask questions and stay safe.

Bottom line

The relative of mine? I don't think they worked it out yet. However, this may be the only way they will finally learn. I am saddened by the fact that their hopes and dreams will be crushed once more.

I know anyone can fall into these sorts of things. These scammers are also very creative with their language, so they make themselves seem more genuine while they build trust with their victims. No one should feel ashamed.

However, I do find my situation quite hilarious and I will continue to laugh until I can't.

Cheerio

guilty
5

About the Creator

Fanni Hecz

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.