Criminal logo

Night At Summerlake

Two teen girls walks into a date with two handsome strangers.

By Cornford AnnenPublished about a year ago 14 min read
1
Cat & Ven

Heels stomps over dry leaves. Fast-walk does she!

She hears rushing footsteps towards, as she turns, running comes the man who had a bloodbath. As she screams wakes upon from the nightmare. Heartbeat and sweat fight with each other. It's still raining through the window. Parked her mum's Ford truck next to the postbox as usual. Sun on its verge to clear up the dark tone.

Mum? Oh yes, very dedicative over work. Works at Paisley Airport, Oregon.

Grew up on the same community,raised by the city church. Bowed to laws and God. Made her shift at night and now making coffee, still knowing that would affect her sleep. Habits!

It's not the kinda life I'd wanna live. Working my rear off to get some peanuts for decades? Sounds not me. All I hear in the next 2 years is that.

"Miss Vancouver" , - Vanessa Martins. Yup that's me!

Get graduated from high school, making a life outta night shifts and coffee?

I'm never becoming my mother for sure.

t wasn't for my friend, I'd be losing my mind already. Cathy, my school buddy who knows what, where, how and why of me. Coming down from south, her weird American accent makes boys go crazy. Her dad works in the city park. He handles the operations over there. She was already convinced by herself. She is going to a model someday soon.

Vancouver is the dream, atleast for us. The new era of 90s in a couple of years seems to bring in some mordern cult over modelling. You can just point out to one, and they'll say VANCOUVER!!

Another day at high school, still not a guy to impress me. But Cathy goes wild in this place. Everyone wants a date with her. It's not like I don't get em. I want the best, not kids or boys who are obsessed with hairstyle.

Sunsets for the day, me waiting on Cathy to join me after her kissing session with Zack her junior guy from scouts. Sitting drained without energy, clumsy hair with a walkman. Obsessed with " Another da de day" on loop.

There's a tap on my shoulders, Cathy. It should be! I turn over whilst saying

"Why does it always takes so long you bi...." Darn, it's not Cathy!

Who is this guy?

"I'm sorry, did I scare you ?"

I didn't reply to that. Still gazing his blue eyes.

Why does he remind me of Gibson?

"Uh hmm are you okay?? I'm Jason. Me and my brother Martin have moved from Islands over that hemisphere to Paisley recently. Is there any good restaurant around the block?"

"Oh yes, hmm yeah yeah ! There is Mathew's cafe next to the library. Take the second Street. And yup I'm good thanks for asking." Hell my voice is so deepened, sound like a girl you idiot venessa.

"Hey little rat!! " -Cathy.

"Great thanks, see you around " smiles and he leaves.

" Where did you get em girl? " asked Cathy wide open eyes.

"I don't know we just ran into, and yes you just jumped in to spoil the moment"

"Get over little love, he said he'll come around didn't he, which means he'll be around to check you out"

Yes Cathy, I'd definitely want to.

We started going back home with those thoughts. "

Venessa?? Didn't you feed tiger last night?. His tummy crawls were making we wake up from sleep. You hear me or what ?"

My dog bought me a trouble again, "Relax mom, he wouldn't die for a day"

And then I see oatsmeal in the dining area. Again??

"Oh come on Mom, should we have to eat oats even today?"

"I'm going up earlier for work tonight, gotta manage ven , we are definitely going out tomorrow "

'"You say this everyday mom."

By the following evening, me and Cathy wanted to have some Go - Gurt on our way home. Did I just see what I see? It's the guy from Island of Hemisphere!!

Those two Charmy boys were getting some drinks. I know he'd come over to my table after seeing me.

"Hey! Uhm, you remember me from the other day ?"

"Oh yeah, Jason right!! "

"Wow, you remember me through the week!" Jason blushes.

"So do I, Cathy, by the way!" She came pushing through the crowd for that handshake.

"Oh yes, your friend was waiting on you that day." - Jason

"She is one hell of a friend!" (Cathy wraps her arm around my neck).

"So where is your other cute brother?" - Cathy asks impatiently.

"He is having his boating classes, he'll join me at the bar later"- Jason with his iconic smile

"The bar you mean? Are you really not underaged to be there?" - Venessa

" Kinda!! But we get a special room downstairs with all benefits of a bar. We pay them extra 15 for that."

"Does that benefits include bringing extra friends??" - Cathy being Cathy.

"That's a wonderful plan actually, why don't you people join us around 8 pm." - Jason

"We'd love to but, if I'm not at home by 8.30. I'll be chased out of house by mum".

"Oh Come one Venessa, since when did you start listening to mum?"- Cathy

" If you girls are okay, we have a stay set up with us. It's an RV behind the summer lake. Me and brother usually go there to stay, maybe you can find a reason for home and find your spot here."

Jason, you know what? You are a genius. We are definitely coming over, see you at 8"

While me saying no no no to them. Cathy gave an irrevocable promise there.

Maybe it's time now to tell a lie to mumma! Hope she doesn't sniff the trick I play!

So the plan is, Cathy comes from her house, saying to her dad that she is gonna stay at my place, and I say to mum that I stay at her's. Perfect plan eh?.

Cathy comes with her car and picks me from home and we sail away to the bar and across the hills of summerlake.

We packed up our fashion wear and snuck it into my bag, wearing boring sluggish dress outside, we left home. On the way to the bar we found a gas station. We got into the restroom and came out as Ms Vancouver.

Even the men at the station fell in love with us.

Wearing one piece cleave stripping, high heels will all red lips and some free hair. Cinderella should be jealous over us!.

Our car was parked in the bar, we got down and had a hell of a catwalk to the entrance. Even girls couldn't take the eyes of two virgin girls. We got into the bar, Jason and Martin were almost out of breath seeing us.

"Girls! I guess you've never had a proper meet with my brother Martin. Meet him!"

"You always talk about Venessa and never really told Cathy was so pretty" -Martin

"Even I didn't knew your brother has a perfect scent on him" - Cathy switches on her seductive switch.

After talking about a few things, funny and serious gossips. Me and Cathy knew we are all ready for being on bed. Who can refuse losing virginity to such hot boys.

I gave an eye sign to Cathy to go to the restroom. We both left there and started going crazy.

"Cathy?" - Venessa

"Yes we are" - Cathy

We dropped everything out of our bags. All the cosmetics and stuff we got to show them we are the best girls they've ever came across.

We got ourselves a little extra boost of Beauty.

Martin was already into Cathy, he is waiting on his moment to kiss her. Then the 4 drunk fellows started our car into the woods.

The breeze of summerlake makes us forget our tension on having our moment tonight. The car finally stationed in the middle of a single road between woods.

The car then went off road from there, our comfort got a little bit risky. Cathy looked at me with a little let down happiness. Cathy is a cool girl, when she smiles less than usual it means something is serious now.

Now suddenly outta nowhere, the happiness is turning into instinct of leaving this place. An intuition of worse things to happen.

We cross a sign board which says "Reserve forest"

"I think this place...we are trespassing aren't we?" - Cathy

"Maybe.... But it's worth the waiting trust me" - Martin

After a few minutes of driving we got down in the middle of nowhere.

We definitely won't make it out of this place without Jason and Martin, because we had no clue which side leads to the city from there. Martin holds Cathy's hands and she holds mine.

We form a chain and walked down the slop where I could see a small shed covered with a sheet No it wasn't a shed. It's an RV. Looks pretty old but still guys the electronics and refrigeration system still works. These brothers are a mystery for sure.

We sat in while the pre cooked pork was served to us. They joined us for dinner, so there is no way there is any sedative added in the food. Jason shared his past with us:

" Quiet few years back me and our parents took on a trip. We were trying to find a short way passing the summerlakes. Welst traction and went sliding this slop. We lost our parents in here. Few years back we came in here, saw our scrap RV. We renovated it and made it a home. No one since then have come me here except you two."

Even I am melted now with his back story. Cathy was rubbing Martin's arm.

While we were rebuilding this guy, we made ourselves a small shed in here. For the tools and to stay, wanna see Cathy??" - Martin

"I'd die for it." - Cathy

They both left the vehicle holding hands together.

"Enough of being sad, how about some more beer?" -Jason

Now we both having beer together sitting next to each other. Things get a bit close, we share eye contact and the kiss happens. Surely the same should've happened with Cathy as well.

But just in that moment, I hear Cathy's voice screaming out for me. I was absolutely freaked out. I tried to get out of the RV to reach her. Meanwhile, Jason holds my hand, my wrist was so tightly hold up by this guy. Suddenly, the charm boy became the harm boy.

"She is absolutely fine, we shouldn't let the moment get spoiled" - Jason

I tried to pluck my hand out of this palms but man he was strong. A flow of heavy blood inside my body, a little shivering with alot of fear I was struggling to get him off me. I pushed him backwards which made his head bang on a shelf.

As he was losing control and balance and I came out running and slammed the door of the RV. He was searching for the key to open the door, meanwhile I went running towards the shed. I crashed open the door to see her sitting in the corner while Martin was laying on the ground.

I pulled her out of the shed, and we ran like hell from there. Didn't know which way we are going, we headed Wherever there was less trees and shrubs. Chasing nowhere to get the track of a road.

Me screaming to Cathy...

"What the hell happened?" - Venessa

"He tried to make a cut in my arms for some bloody oath, I refused and he forced . I kicked in his groin and hit his head with the baseball bat he had in there." -Cathy

"We ran into two psychic freaks." - Venessa

As we went crazy running, Cathy steps on some trap, there came a net surrounded by every side. Covering us both like a spider web.

We were trying our best to break the net, it had bells clinged on every knit. It made alot of sound, so I calmed Cathy down and we stopped moving aggressively.

These sounds can bring those psychopaths again. As we were slowly moving and trying our way out, we heard someone laughing, no way!

It's them both, coming closer to us with smile of a demon. We were crawling with the net to moved ahead of them,

They were having gas masks on, and now they hit us with a spray. Then we went blacked out.

When I woke up, I was to the ceiling of the shed. Behind me was Cathy, tied up in a chair and still unconscious.

I tried my best to unhook myself from the tie, the more I try the more tighter it becomes. Trying to call Cathy with a whisper voice. She wakes up and trying to uncuff her ties.

Meanwhile I remember, while get dressed up in the gas station, we found a bottle cap remover in the room. And Cathy kept it in her boots to sneak some extra booze without them knowing.

I asked her to shake her leg off, to get the tool from her boots. It finally came off, I'm trying to take the tool from the floor removing my boot and handle it with my fingers. I took it through my legs and through it on the lap of Cathy.

Through the small broken window I could see them both preparing a burning furnace, which apparently could've been to throw us both into it.

Scared to death, shivering body, we were trying out best get us free.

Baang! Martin comes in the door, I could hear his footsteps getting closer,

Me and Cathy pretending to be still unconscious, he untied Cathy and threw her on his shoulders and was taking her to the furnace.

"Cathy!! Now!!"! I screamed over my lungs, she opened her eyes, stabbed the tool right on the back of his neck. He stumbled and fell down trying to call Jason.

She came running with one boot on her foot, trying to find something to cut me from the hold. She goes to and fro between my hands and the rope was almost to break, meanwhile Jason comes in and slams on Cathy's head.

He took her back to the burning furnace, I used all my energy to break the tie, and finally it happened. I saw Martin been layed down on the corner. I took the keys out of the RV, and went inside. I tried firing her up several times.

A

fter the fourth push she is finally switched on. I hit the gas pedal and went right into the fire plot they made. All the woods flew in the air and broke the fire.

They vehicle lost control and ended up hittin on a tree which turned the whole thing upside down. Jason tried to breakthrough the window to get me out.

Me, crawling into the vehicle, but he caught my leg and thrashed me out.

He tried to fight me, and take me back into the shed. I threw a handful of stones in his head and he let me out screaming, "I'm gonna kill you". I gave a one blow kick to his head, he just fell facing down the ground.

I lifted up Cathy, took the car keys from Jason's jack and ran facing the sunrise, because I remember, Summerlake is facing us from the north. And went a few slopes and finally we got the place it all began. We went to the car and unlocked it.

As we got in, a big stone hit the windshield from above, it was the freak Martin, rying to stop us. Cathy was laying in the back and I started the car and went on full speed. Martin continuously throwing stones at the car and now stood right in the middle of the road. I gathered up my confidence and went right into him. He was a few feet of the ground when I hit him. I just killed somebody didn't I?

I went way back to my house, there were cops at my house. My mother hugged me and went on tears, ambulance was bought to take Cathy back to hospital.

I asked my mother how did she know I was not staying at Cathy's place.

"Cathy s dad called me lately that Cathy forgot her study bag when coming here."

I connected the dots. When your phone went not reachable. I called up 911 to search your alibi. We've been all night searching you over Paisley."

According to our confession, the cops have got Martin, with severe fractures in his body, Jason went missing they confiscated the RV and their car. Police also traced evidence of people who went lost in the past 4 years from their stay.

Surely it's a luck favouring us to be still breathing.

I mostly have alot nightmares and trouble sleeping. Cathy broke her ankle and stil in a wheel chair. Trying to get back to my usual life.

But still, it's spine chilling to know Jason is still free roaming outside somewhere.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Cornford Annen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.