Criminal logo

Life is a Matter of Choices

The Black Book or the Money?

By Gerald C. Anderson, Sr.Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Photo by darkmoonart_de (Pixabay)

Tavarus Lawrence struggled to pay off his law school tuition fees. His debt reached $20,000 and thus, the school would not let him take his final exam and graduate until he paid the debt off.

Tavarus worked in a small cafeteria off-campus with his friend Jessie. “Man, the school won’t let me take my final exam without an arrangement for my debt.”

“Dude, just sign up for a loan. Everybody has one.”

“I can’t; I have too much debt already. I need to get the money without a loan.”

“Dude, I understand, but what other choice do you have?”

“At this point… none.”

“Take the loan, man.”

Tavarus returned to his dishwashing duties, thinking about the debt he needed to pay. “Man, I wish I had a rich uncle somewhere. People like me aren’t that lucky.”

Manny, the café owner, shouted, “Hey, Tavarus, can you lock up tonight? There’s an extra $20 in it for you.”

“Sure Manny, no problem.” “There we go; $19,980 more and I’m good.” As everyone left the café, Tavarus cleaned up and locked the restaurant like he did a hundred times before.

On his stroll home, he cut through the woods to get to the campus’ North gate. He hated cutting through the woods at night, but the shortcut would undoubtedly save him a lot of time. He needed to get back to his room to study.

Tavarus heard a sound in the woods and stumbled to the ground. “Dang it.” He rose to his knees and spotted a black notebook lying on the ground with an envelope in it. He picked up the book and opened it. “Seems like someone dropped this book.” He checked the envelope and, to his surprise, found money stuffed inside.

“Oh man, I hit the motherlode! There is a God.”

“Yes, there is a God.”

Tavarus staggered backwards. “God? Are you really…”?

“There are many gods, Tavarus.”

“You know my name?”

“Yes, wouldn’t a god know your name?”

“I was going to give it back to its rightful owner. I mean, if there was a name or something in the book.”

“That is not why I am here.”

“Okay, why then?”

“You may keep either of the items. The envelope contains $20,000 in cash, and the book is just a notebook with some scribbles in it.”

Tavarus said, “That’s a simple decision. I can get a notebook anywhere, so I’ll take the cash.”

“So be it. The money is yours.”

“Thank you!”

The figure disappeared, leaving Tavarus alone. He picked up the envelope and stuffed it in his pocket. Excited and happy, Tavarus ran as fast as he could to his dorm room. “I’m going to study as hard as I can, pay off my debt, and take that test. Soon I will be a lawyer and make more money than I could ever dream of making!”

Tavarus opened his books and studied all night. He dozed off around 5am and woke a couple of hours later. “Time to shower and get out of here.”

After his shower, he headed to the tuition office to pay his bill. When he arrived, the mean old lady he always worked with waited on him. “Hi Miss Colson, I am here to pay off my debt in full. Twenty-thousand, right?”

She looked over her glasses as she always did at Tavarus, giving him that mean stare. Miss Colson looked at her computer and said, “Yes, Mr. Lawrence, your bill is twenty-thousand.”

“I have cash.” He handed her the envelope with the money inside. Miss Colson studied the envelope and counted the money. She rose from her seat, and Tavarus laughed inside, “That seat is going through a lot holding her every day. Stop, Tavarus.”

When she returned, Mr. Manly, head of the office, joined Miss Colson. “Mr. Lawrence, you’ve struggled to pay off your debt for years and now you suddenly show up with cash to pay it off. This isn’t drug money, is it?”

“No, I don’t sell drugs. I work two jobs, and that money is mine.”

“Okay, we will mark your account as paid for now, but we will look into this.”

“What about the test?”

“I will call your Dean and tell her you’ve paid off your debt. She must still clear you.”

“Thank you, Sir. That’s my money, I promise.”

Tavarus got his receipt from Miss Colson and headed to Matheson Hall. The excitement that was bubbling within him was so much that he wanted a reward. He hit the local coffee shop before going to the dean’s office. After enjoying his drink, he set out to get permission and take his test. “I’m going to ace this test and graduate. Then, I’m going to ace the bar exam and become a lawyer.”

He walked into the dean’s office and requested to speak with Dean Wallace. The secretary buzzed him inside. “Dean Wallace, thank you for taking the time to see me. I have paid off my debt and would like your permission to take my final exam.”

“Yes, I received a call from Mr. Manly, and he has confirmed that you have paid. But there is some concern regarding the money you used to pay off your debt with.”

“Why? Money is money, right? I’ve been saving that cash for a while now.”

“Mr. Lawrence, some people would like to see you.”

Her comment puzzled Tavarus. “What people?”

Two men walked into the office. “My name is Agent Bower, and this is Agent Carmichael. We’re with the FBI.”

“The FBI?”

“Yes, you say you saved that money from working two jobs?”

“I did. Why is everyone making such a big deal over this?”

Agent Bower said, “You see, Tavarus, the numbers on those bills match the numbers from a bank heist yesterday over at Woodbridge. You couldn’t have saved that money.”

“No, no, I didn’t rob a bank. Look, I didn’t save the money up. I found it in the woods last night on my way home. I found it tucked inside an old notebook.”

Agent Carmichael said, “Son, do you know how many times we hear a story like that. The bank robber fits your description, and you have the money. I’m afraid we have to arrest you.”

Tavarus found himself locked in a cell. “I can’t believe this is happening to me. This was going to be the best day ever, but now I’m locked in a jail cell.”

The guard had the television playing, and Tavarus watched. “Nancy Wilson discovered the black notebook with original writings from Langston Hughes in the woods near Mercer Law School. Early estimates of the notebook’s value place it at 1.5 million dollars.”

“No… I traded a notebook worth a million and a half dollars for $20,000 in stolen money! God, why did you do this to me?”

The figure from the woods appeared next to him. “I never said I was God. I said there were many gods. Enjoy your life behind bars.” The figure laughed and disappeared into the darkness.

fiction

About the Creator

Gerald C. Anderson, Sr.

Gerald was born in Tampa, FL and enlisted in the USAF in 1980 where he served 20 years.

Education

BS in Computer Information Systems - Strayer University (2005)

MA in Criminal Justice Administration - University of Cincinnati (2008).

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Gerald C. Anderson, Sr.Written by Gerald C. Anderson, Sr.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.