Criminal logo

Brunswick, Ga Police who commit crime not take take it off the streets.

Where there is a corrupt police officer, there is a victim made every day.

By Justice for AllPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
LT Donald Babbin..the man who shouldn't be anywhere near a K-9 or people

Let me start this by saying I am the person these events happened to..there are no details about any other person then me. There are no phone numbers, or emails, as the person who was victimized by these people I have the right to tell my story. Especially when these officers have no concern about their actions nor do their superiors. Their names should be public because these events happened and their Chain of Command has no concerns about their actions.

Brunswick Police Department

Their- Mission Statement

To provide quality law enforcement services using proactive enforcement, community partnerships, problem solving and technology which creates a safe, secure and desirable living and working environment for the citizens, visitors and business community of Brunswick, Georgia.

Vision Statement

The City of Brunswick Police Department will strive to be a premier agency noted for professional law enforcement, community policing, and aggressive crime fighting.

Our Values

In support of our Vision, the following principles will guide our day-to-day behavior and decision-making. We will be:

Ethical

Respectful

Professional

Community-oriented

Performance driven

I can not say any of these statements are true, with one exception. Sadly their FTO is the only officer who treated me with any respect. I would thank him but it doesn't undo what these other officers and the Command Staff are condoning. Any of the events that happened to me should have their POST licenses removed.

Lt. Babbin Far from a Front line hero and more like a Zero. He shouldn't be in charge of anything much less , the BPD traffic division, field training program, and its K9 unit. Hopefully he treats K-9's better than he does people. He does take an extremely proactive approach to protecting his officers by covering up what the human ones do wrong. What he sacrifices is the truth by protecting the black man who molested me in a hospital and his officer McCarthy when I went to the PD for help I was summarily felt up when being patted down, and dumped at the The Well.

https://thebrunswicknews.com/news/local_news/frontline-heroes-brunswick-police-department-lieutenant-donald-babbin/article_10a997d9-d13d-50ea-b86e-701153d5685d.html

There are several others - on 2/16/2020 Three Brunswick PD officers- two white females and a black male came into the shelter I was at in the middle of the night. A convict Victoria, along with the staff Teri and LeRoy for some reason had called them out. The two female officers, while having their video cameras activated told me to get out of bed. I did. Then I was told to gather my belongings. I asked to get dressed. I was told I could but it had to be done in full view of the other women, was filmed by the officers, while the third a male black officer watched. I was then told I was being banned from the shelter and I would be arrested if I ever returned. They never provided any paperwork. The two female officers then told me I to go sleep outside The Well in the cold.

Capt. T. Smith and Ofr. Garth While in Brunswick I was trying to get my sexual assault reported. Without a phone I went to City Hall and asked for assistance. Capt. T Smith and Ofr Garth responded. I was forced in the sun, to recount my sexual assault. Capt T. Smith called the police department I needed to speak to but refused to let me speak to them directly. Both officers just drove off as if nothing had happened.

I had been left in Brunswick by Memorial in Savannah when I went in for medical treatment and was denied medical treatment. I was transported to Brunswick. While in the hospitial, which I had put me in under a different name than mine, a black male janitor touched me while getting my medication. When I told the staff, I was very quickly discharged and dumped on the street of the Salvation Army, as they refused to take me back to Savannah. I was not allowed by the medical staff to even make a phone call. I asked medical staff if law enforcement had been notified of the incident and was told they did not believe me and no one on the staff would contact law enforcement.

The following day I contacted Brunswick Police Department who responded and turned the case over to Glynn County PD who only took a report. In desperation to get back to Savannah, the following day, I went to the Brunswick Police department and was unfortunately given Ofr. McCarthy (a former Chatham County Sheriff Deputy) and a black male officer to deal with , while their body cams were activated. Officer McCarthy refused me any assistance and then frisked me , grabbing my breasts during the search, put me in her squad car drove me to The Well and dumped me off.

While in Brunswick, several civilians called the police on me for things I am not even aware of. Linda, a female janitor of some sort attempted to hit me with her SUV on two occasions. I did not contact law enforcement because of their obvious unconcern but she had law enforcement respond to their false reports. Included was Saul, who one day waiting for the Salvation Army to open, called Brunswick PD on me because I became uncomfortable with his sexual advances including telling me "You have nice hamhocks" and "You need to spread your legs if you want a cigarette." Saul then alleged that I said he sexually assaulted me to Brunswick PD.

I have been sexually assaulted twice in my life, by a former boyfriend, that was never reported to anyone other than the Office of Professional Responsibility when an ICE investigator flew out from California to Az when I was a Juvenile Probation officer, and did not pursue criminal charges in 2009 because if ICE did not care, why would I think local law enforcement would have any concern, and again by a tow truck driver, Shawn in November 2018 that I have only ever met twice, the day he towed my car in November 2018 and the night he raped me. That is the only report I have made about a sexual assault, which Brookhaven PD continues to refuse to investigate.

Having been in law enforcement, there is no circumstance when a woman's breasts should be grabbed. The hand should always be bladed out, to avoid any actual contact with the breasts, and to prevent any object that could be in the bra from causing a needle poke. Something apparently no law enforcement officer in Georgia is being taught.

Even their IA doesn't want to take a report about it ..I tried and got blown off by Sgt. Blackstock. Not that I expected any different but I gave them a chance before I started going to POST. Had Chief Jones made his email available to the citizens of Ga then you might not be reading this story. I have followed up with their department and they have no concerns about any of their officers behavior.. everyone should.

I emailed Chief Kevin Jones when Sgt Blackstock didn't even read the entire email and closed the IA compliant. I then followed up with his superior officer Major Post and was informed it was being investigated- with out even a request for my address or phone number and have heard nothing and been asked nothing.

I was told by the community, to go to Chief Kevin Jones that he was a good man. I can't say that to be true. When you don't hold your staff accountable for taking proper reports, and ignore complaints of this magnitude, you are leaving a victim to carry the burden of proof and the disinterest in the criminal behavior of your officers that causes a liability to the city in terms of one person's experience and ability to begin legal action, rather than address the behavior head on opens your department up to a class action suit. Sadly, in this case the officer's actions make them defendants in a Federal RICO case of officer corruption that spans almost the entire state of Georgia.

I have even emailed the city attorney in an attempt to get the matter investigated with no response.

The question becomes when is a Police Chief in Ga going to actually do something about the officers who are as criminal as the criminals- From Roy Minter who if he had returned an email 25 months ago and not blocked me from following up this month along with reporting what his patrols staff did to me including threatening to arrest me for Criminal Trespass when to black men grabbed my breasts, rubbed their hands all over me in August 2019 but has blocked me from even sending him in email, to Gary Yandura with no concern about a sexual assault that his officers refused to take anything more than a written statement- not photos not names of doctors who saw me directly following the sexual assault, to Ashley Brown who has been protecting his entire patrol division since December 2019 when I was able to report their actions including the death of my two cats, stealing my car, committing aggravated assault that has lead to serve injury. In almost two years, not one police officer who has taken a police report has investigated it including the Theft of $25,000 that the Chatham County Police Department will only give me a police report number for but not respond about the process about how it will be investigated. Taking a report does not prevent you from facing criminal or legal repercussions for you failure to do your job.

investigation
Like

About the Creator

Justice for All

"Justice delayed, is justice denied" "Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere."

Tattooed, Employed and has a Psych degree..Always on the look out for a group of Avengers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.