Confessions logo

Winters Like Summer- Final

A sudden change like the winters to summer

By Cordellia NovisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Winters Like Summer- Final
Photo by Alexandre Chambon on Unsplash

Continued from previous episode.....

“Please, Come in.” Said the principal. “Good Morning Madam Principal. You requested me here.” I said while entering the room, that’s when I saw two police men standing beside her. I froze. “Don’t Panic, take a seat please” she said. I took a nervous look at the two standing police men, and sat down at the chair placed in front of her. “Thomas, I hope you did know Tanya Gonzalez. Did you? If who was she?” asked one of the policemen “I did, she’s my best friend.”, “Then I believe this is for you. You are to read it loudly. I hope you understand.” He said handing me a green envelope. I saw “To: Thomas Richard Clossel” in the most beautiful handwriting ever, it didn’t take time for me to understand it was Tanya’s. I tore open the letter swiftly and was reading the first few words alone when the Other police man interrupted “Child, please you are ordered to read it loudly” “Umm, ok sir”. And started reading as if I was in Primary Grades,

“Dear Thomas,

It would be unusual of me writing a letter, But I really had to write it. I know we have been friends for a long time, but during the last two or so weeks I haven’t been paying much attention to many things, and it has been a while since we met also. I got to know that you came to see them off. So sure you are rather pissed off that I didn’t mention either of these. I will first apologize, for it. Hope you can forgive me.

Thomas, you and I were best friends for life. From the day we met until infinity we will be together no matter what. Do you remember how we met each other? When I first moved to your neighborhood, I was three houses away from you, there weren’t lot of kids then. Only you and I were of the same age. After a few days of moving your mother invited me and my family to a birthday party. During the party, although many kids were invited by your mom, you looked unhappy, so I decided to walk to you, with a piece of cake. I still remember that moment when we shared cake together, I was a huge mess. Yet it was just the beginning, soon a s time passed we became two peas in a pod. Nothing could ever separate us from each other no matter what, we even took punishments together. I am wondering if you have your memory clear when both of us stood out for not completing the homework? I think you do. However, it was when my parents decided to move into another neighborhood, a little further from your dwelling place. I did have a strong opposition to the matter my parents didn’t take account of it. Any how I feel that we grew up too fast. You may be wondering why am I recalling these things. But please hold on, three weeks ago I was home alone studying, and wanted some plain working sheets, at the moment I had none so I went to my father’s room to get some. You may remember that my father’s room is strictly prohibited for me. But had no choice. It was urgent. I opened the top drawer, by coincidence like, I found a laminated document “Certification of Birth”. It was mine, the first time ever seeing it. Surprisingly, my name was “Tanisha Bethany” and also the parents’ names weren’t there. As I dug deeper, it wasn’t hard for me to understand the chaotic mess I have been in for years and years, the one they have been hiding for all these years. It may be not surprising as you have questioned me multiple times regarding the situation at home, Why I was treated unfairly? You told me to speak for it, I really hope to have taken your valuable advice. This situation caused a black out in my life, soon when the others arrived I confronted them about it, to which they decided to keep me at the women’s hostel. Those days I enjoyed to the fullest erased, I have lived in a simulation for years. My soul left, leaving the skeletal Tanya behind. It got me depression like never.

Due the tension I couldn’t cry, I gradually became from day to night. My color changed into Blue and Grey. The shock left one thing, the last thing I have to do to. My ultimate fate was decided that day. I planned everything clear for my freedom. What I did and what I wanted had no surreal connection. But it was for the best. Suicide was the best..”

I stopped dead, ‘why out of all only you? How did you? This joke right? Tanya how could you?’ My mind was simply mumbling to itself, my eyes turned blurry, two tears fell. I sighed, wiped them and continued the letter.

“...I beg you don’t cry and lament on behalf of me. You are the only one I knew, also the one who knew me to fullest. I so much grateful for it. I know I make your Winters like Summer, now that I am gone don’t let summer feel like winter. Never blame yourself, be confident, remember our rainbows and sun shines that we had together. This is a stand-alone decision of mine. I happy to leave but, only you were the one I couldn’t leave. Give your parents my best wishes.

Once again thanks for being by my side all these years, understanding me, helping me. I know you were there at every important stage of my life, don’t regret this one that you weren’t. I will definitely miss you. Hope meet you soon. Don’t cry for me anymore. Stay blessed, Stay happy. Sorry for all mistakes, and your literature book will sure be returned to you soon after this. Make the Winters the best Summer

Forever grateful,

Gone but never gone best friend,

Tanisha Bethany.”

I was sobbing uncontrollably at the end; no one could comfort me here. The school had to call my parents to take me back home. Both Mom and Dad tried consoling me, but that didn’t work.

Today precisely two day later, I am in front of a stone craved “Tanisha Bethany ‘Tanya’, dressed all in black, holding a bouquet of fresh valley Lilies, the ones she loved and an envelope of red color. “I won’t forgive you for not telling me, now that you’re buried 5 feet, I can’t see you, can’t talk to you. But I still will promise to be your best friend forever”. “Here are some lilies and the letter’s reply, because every letter a friend writes has a reply, and also my Winters will be best Summers even without you because I am never without you.”

Friendship
Like

About the Creator

Cordellia Novis

~Shine the best you can

when the time comes

your sunset will be beautiful~🖤

Lyrics and Article Writer

Thank you for following.

Love y'all.

Follow me on Twitter: @Seomin_Charu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.