Humans logo

Winters Like Summer.

The Sudden change like Winter changes to Summer

By Cordellia NovisPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Throughout the last weeks, she changed unexpectedly and vastly. I never expected nor had seen such a change especially from her. All of a sudden her red cheeks changed to pale awful colored, the wide stretched charming smile was completely pulled downwards from corners to become a plain straight line. She's the last person who could be anticipated towards a change, it is indeed very true due to some vital situations, personalities do take a turn but apart from this fact, her character was always greatly cheerful and happy. Someone of that type to change is very hard. They must be subjected to a very powerful force for this kind turn. It was much like an arrow piercing a free dove flying in the sky.

Tanya was my friend or else my best friend. We were friends since preschool, she lived besides my house from the time her family moved here. In fact, making it easier for me to be her bestie despite the fact of genders. Gender doesn't matter for friendship. But as we grew the particles of time spaced among us, making a barrier. Still holding each other together with those unforgettable moments, and memories. Tani used to be a gleeful outgoing yet calm and simple person. Whenever I was with her it felt like that she can make the coldest winter turn into the best summer. However, for around the last two weeks, she must have gone through a lot. Soon my best friend faded leaving only a skeletal appearance of her. Although I was very much aware of how she changed, I regarded of not inquiring deeply cause it can be a burden.

She use to talk with everyone before, but now her talking with other classmates was solemn. All that she did at school these days were sit, look and answer when the teacher asked a question. This odd change in her personality didn't completely affect my behavior traits, just that my days did get a bit boring. By this I made a side note not to get involved into her problems or rather get myself troubled by her. Other than that my work was normal.

"Thomas, are you free tomorrow?" It was almost last week she questioned me. "Hmm...why? What to go somewhere?" "Yes, don't you feel like going back to the places that we haven't been for so long? I mean like visiting our old school, the Old Hamdon's park we use to play. What do you say?" "Sure why not? Let's go.". Although I didn't hesitate to answer her, it was suspicious for her to get such an idea at the instance. At first even after replying to her I was skeptical, moreover I couldn't refuse Tanya's invitation.

As per her wish both of us paid a visit to the primary school, the old carnival that we rode the merry go round for the first time, and the library that couldn't keep us quiet even for a second. By the end of the day both of us were waiting for the bus. I never knew this would be a special moment for both of us, making it the most regretful moment in my life. We all know time can't bring happiness, gone is gone. Time doesn't stay for every single thing. Without a warning the wonderful day ended as fast as tickets being sold out for a movie. I couldn't imagine it would be the turning point of everything.

Later the same week I was walking towards her house when I saw several men carrying furniture from the house. Amongst the men were Tanya’s elder brother. Of course I was surprised and curious which in turn took up questioning him. “Hi, Thomas”, “Oh, hey big bro, are you Moving? To where? Where’s Tani...”, “Hold up, what an amount of questions…yeah well we are moving out, to Little Gregory tired of living in the city, you see wanted some peace…”. A dead silence occurred, for a moment I forgot what went there for, I thought to myself in anger ‘Why didn’t she even tell me about this? I have my mind right. I ain’t going to talk to her for this week.’. “What’s the matter?” “Nothing, I guess I will just get…just get…my…myself to school it’s getting late.” I walked a long distance, stopped abruptly, turned back and sprinted back towards Tanya’s brother. “Hey, But what about Tani?? Is she also moving?”, the brother looked confused but answered casually “Nope, she will be staying in the Women’s Hostel...Didn’t she mention any of these to you, you will meet her in school.?”. “Oh…Nope…Anyways Good Luck, Have a bright future”.

I walked down towards the school, with a gloomy face. It would be normal during the morning to see such a face in the crowd of school children who dislike school. As I was upset for the whole day, it seemed to pass really slowly yet roughly, I got all my math sums mixed up, never to mention stood out of the class with stacks of book on top my head, because Tanya had taken my Literature book to complete the absent note. However, I also noticed that she wasn’t at school that particular day. ‘Didn’t her brother mention that she will be here, maybe she’s arranging her things at the hostel…”. At the end of the day I was cursing her for everything. I thought of proceeding with my initial of not talking to her for the whole week.

Nonetheless, over the next two days neither me nor my plan was as successful as I thought. That too was due to the absence of Tanya. It was very odd; her absence, I felt lonely. But it was again odd that I felt abnormally unaffected. It was impossible for boys to get near to the Women’s hostel, plus also it’s about 5km away from home. Even though I stayed patient, it was still unbearable stay focused. Then on the end of the second day, I made up my mind to cycle to the Women’s hostel under dire conditions.

Next in the morning, I walked down the stairs from my bedroom for breakfast. Both my parents were sitting and eating breakfast. “Good Morning Mom, Dad.” “Good Morning Son”. Just then I saw my Dad reading the newspaper. “Anything interesting, Dad”, “Well not much, Rise in flour prices, Nice cartoon mocking the government service, a youth committing suicide, some random murder of a man, and also a printed version of the speech of Prime minister from last Friday.” “Hmm...Is it I think it will be hard time for bread”. Soon with this and that breakfast was over. I headed out while shouting “Mom, I will be home late.” Didn’t, wait for her reply, as of course she wouldn’t have me cycling to the hostel. With my speed I picked up my cycle and cycled to the school. School that was a bit confusing, several conversations here and there, nothing bothered me as seeing the empty chair of Tani ‘So, she’s not here today, She’s doomed today in the evening. I got to do some serious talking to her’. After the first lesson a sudden announcement was made “Thomas Richard Clossel please report to the principal’s immediately”. I froze. ‘Have I done something mischievous?? Goodness’s why does she need me there?’. Shocked. I still went, on the way I saw a few police vehicles were at the school entrance. I just knew something was wrong. At first I thought of running back to hide, but I took courage walked up to the principal’s door and knocked at it…

To Be Continued next week

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Cordellia Novis

~Shine the best you can

when the time comes

your sunset will be beautiful~🖤

Lyrics and Article Writer

Thank you for following.

Love y'all.

Follow me on Twitter: @Seomin_Charu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.