Confessions logo

Winged Victory

Identity in our Craftsmanship

By Brin J.Published 5 months ago โ€ข 5 min read
Top Story - December 2023
19
*Unsplash* jason-leung

I'll confess, I thought long and hard about whether I wanted to participate in this Challenge. I'm not much of a sharer of the deep, personal parts of myself. At least, not on the internet, where your digital footprint will follow you even after death. (Morbid, sorry, hang in there)

I know what some might be thinking. Peeling back layers doesn't always have to mean revealing the vulnerable pieces of ourselves, and I agree. I'm not afraid of how my story might be interpreted. I know my truth.

In fact, I debated writing about my years as a dancer and how it was my first form of storytelling. I'd share how I once used to color the stage through the art of profound movements, and you might hear a sorrowful ode of longing about how that's not who I am anymore. You wouldn't be wrong.

But I didn't want to do that. It might be one aspect of my identity that I've grappled with, only I didn't feel like it expressed enough of my frame of thought on the subject, and that's what Vocal wants to see in this challenge. Right? Okay, well, I'll do my best to fulfill that expectation, except I'm going to do things a little differently and hope Vocal accepts it.

I'm going to tell you how I still grapple with the elements of my identity. But first, let me briefly introduce the Winged Victory of Samothrace. (She's relevant, I promise)

For those who don't know who Winged Victory is, she's one of the most revered pieces of Hellenistic Greek art in existence. She's an extraordinary figure who's been on display at the Louvre in Paris since the 1800s, but she was actually found on the island of Samothrace, off the coast of Greece. I learned about her many years ago in an Art History class in college, and she's been a role model of mine ever since.

As you can see from the picture, she's a winged female figure without a head or arms. Because of this, it's difficult to get a clear sense of her character, yet from her stance, it's apparent she's about to take flight.

A little background on her; she's a symbol of victory and freedom, heralding triumph and hope, which is why she's placed at the top of a stairwell and looking above the viewer. People who climb the steps are "climbing the stairway to victory". What a magical concept!

There's more to her than that, but I'll let you explore that on your own. I'll leave you with this thought: What do you see when you look at her?

*pixabay* wallner

Obviously, the statue didn't put herself there, and I bet her significance wouldn't be as grand if she was just placed within an alcove somewhere, forgotten and unnoticed. So how does that relate to me?

*Inhales deeply*

Recently, I read a quote that said "art is supposed to outlive its artist." I believe this concept holds with identity as well. You'll understand why at the end.

I've used Winged Victory as an example because I'm a strong believer that identity isn't found in a single defining characteristic, but rather a combination of qualities (much like art). As the expression goes- the devil is in the details. The most (arguably) powerful facet about her is that she doesn't tell her own story. She lets her environment, her posture, and her craftsmanship speak for her.

When you look at me, what do you see? Easy. Whatever I show you. I know it's a bit cheesy to say, but that's the beauty of it. I don't have to define myself in one way. I let my actions, my passions, my appearance, and my hobbies speak for me. Since these things constantly change over time, so does my identity, which I have to learn to accept. I might love who I am now, but that doesn't mean I'll be this person in a decade. Just like how a decade ago, I used to be a dancer, seven years ago, a Haunt Coordinator who designed horror mazes. Or even just three years ago, I was a Zoologist. Now, I'm a writer. Would I have traded dance for everything I achieved?

I'm going to be very honest, no, I wouldn't have. It was more than a hobby for me- it was the very essence of my being, the clay that shaped my structure. But I didn't get a say on the matter- life chose for me, and I've accepted that.

I bet a few have noticed that when I do share some of my personal stories, I tend to write and talk in a very detached manner. I speak from a very emotional distance. When I tell people about my history, I narrate it objectively. Like I'm an observer. Like I don't own the rights to my own life.

Strange? I think so. Sad? Don't be so analytical. The truth is, I feel more comfortable talking about myself when I'm not looking at it as my story. How can I when I'm not that person anymore?

That being said, I'm constantly grappling with my identity. That's because I'm not a statue; my elements are always changing. But if there's one thing I've learned from Winged Victory, it's that we're all pieces of art, brought to life by our backgrounds, existing in a space where we don't have to define ourselves verbally. She taught me to embrace my edges and not be the viewer looking up, but the figure people climb to.

In short: identity isn't in a singular statement. It's an amalgamation of details in our craftsmanship and leaves a lasting impression on others that'll remain long after we're gone.

As for myself, I might not be a dancer anymore, but I'll always have the posture of one. I'll always find my feet turned out and my shoulders pulled back. My past will forever be etched into who I am.

In the end, we're all Winged Victories, with history in our artistry. Don't be afraid to show off your craftsmanship, for it's something to be revered.

Humanity
19

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. ๐Ÿ“–

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • D. J. Reddall4 months ago

    An elegant dance in prose!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Wow Brin, I really liked the concept you introduced here! It was thought provoking and insightful! The idea that identity isn't a singular thing or concept, it evolves and changes as we do as humans. I also love how you likened yourself to a very classic piece of art, leaving yourself open for interpretation too! ๐Ÿ’š This was a wonderful and inspiring read! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    What an excellent, thoughtful, and meaningful piece. Thank you for deciding to share it

  • JBaz5 months ago

    You mentioned you were unsure about entering this challenge, I for one am gald you did. I hope this also helps you. It is a very honest and beautiful piece.

  • Tressa Rose5 months ago

    So glad this made top story, very well deserved!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Magnificent story!!! At the Louve, the Winged Victory was breathtaking!!!๐Ÿ’•โค๏ธโค๏ธ Loved how you incorporated the art in your story!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • K. Kocheryan5 months ago

    what a wonderful way to intertwine winged victory and identity! Congrats

  • Alexander McEvoy5 months ago

    That was spectacular, Brin! thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us :) Identity is something very difficult to get a handle on. We are not statues, we are constantly changing and reevaluating ourselves. Every action we take, every thing we create and word we say makes an impact. This is a wonderful entry to a very interesting challenge and I'm so happy I got to read it :) Oh yes, and congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    A - I forgot to like this lol and b - Top Story, baby! Congrats!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    This is beautifully written, straightforward and probably a winner. "Whatever I show you" is probably one of the most honest statements I've ever heard.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Brin...this was...well...beautiful and honest and all kinds of heartfelt. I wondered about the dancer thing...because of the poem you did recently...it felt as if you were expressing things you knew deeply...I had no idea really you were a dancer...maybe I've not picked up on that somehow...I'm old lol. I love this, though and the way you identify yourself and the honesty you speak. I actually think it's a fantastic way to deliver your message - writing disconnected almost. Means you can do it with emotion under control, not emotionless, but it actually feels very intimate, like Randy said. Brilliant approach and entry for the challenge, Brin. I am glad you pushed forwards and published it. I was feeling the same when I published my entry...I had struggled with this challenge, because I knew what it would mean I'd have to write. I know a few others have too, so you're in good company. Well done again, Brin.

  • "What do you see when you look at her?" Well, you asked for it. She seemed to me like an independent woman who sprouted wings. Free as a bird, not tied down to any societal expectations. But if they cut off her wings, she'd grow a new pair for she's a strong, resilient woman. So instead, they cut off her head and hands. What use could her wings be, now that she has lost all her senses? And that's how she became a statue. Lol. Whoaaaa, you designed horror mazes and you were a zoologist? That's like soooo cool! If you ever write about that, I'd be so happy to read it!

  • This is so beautifully, plainly & simply told, allowing the intricacies of your passions past & aspirations forward present themselves to us an offering to discover ourselves in our ever-changing personae. The emotional distance you reference grants us permission to see you more clearly & to think of ourselves that much more thoughtfully, intimately & realistically. I think you have taken a marvelous approach to this challenge, Brin.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.