Confessions logo

Why I Meditate Inside Coffins - Charly Boy

The reason is a lot deeper than you think.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

My brother surprised me yesterday when he told me "Do you know Charly Boy sleeps inside coffins?" I told him that could not be true so he told me to look it up and lo and behold, there was a picture of Charly Boy lying down inside a coffin.

What nobody was telling me though was WHY Charly Boy was lying down inside coffins. Everybody just thought it was so shocking and so strange and I mean, for Charly Boy what's new? What I wanted to know was WHY because as strange as Charly Boy is perceived to be, for the most part, he is very intelligent, eloquent, and does a lot of provocative things to pass on messages that are bigger than the stunts themselves. So I was curious as to why this grown man would be choosing to sleep inside coffins and I finally found out WHY the self-proclaimed Area Fada was doing this.

The reason is a lot deeper than you think. Are you ready to see why Charly Boy says he meditates inside coffins? Then let's go!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

When asked why he sleeps inside coffins, Charly Boy speaking to The Vanguard said:

Point of correction, I do not sleep in a casket, I sleep on my bed, it’s big and comfy, I only lay in my “casket” when I do my meditation because it helps me to be focused, it tells me more about the imminence of death. My casket is a reminder. It wakes me up from slumber. It tells me, “guy, you have got little or no time left, wake up, be creative and work.

Of course, when I read some of the comments of my people, I know a good number of us are ill-informed about quite a number of things. I think it is more of what the casket represents that shocks my people and they start reading meanings into it, depending on their level of understanding. But one question is, what if the same wood that was used to build the casket was used to make a sofa chair? May be, all the hullabaloo about me sitting on a chair wouldn’t have been there in the first place? So when people vocalize their disapproval of my message via the image of a casket, I understand that they do that from a position of Fear, fear of what the casket represents – Death. So whatever people fear they antagonize. But, the fact that I have reminded myself and even you about death does not really change a thing. It won’t draw your death near, and it won’t even shift it away. All it does is simply a reminder, to thread carefully.

Take a critical look at my image inside the coffin, it speaks volume. I always lay in my casket with my cap, glasses, shoes on. I’m always well dressed. Yes, it is always done intentionally to tell us that your glory disappears with all the wealth you must have acquired the very day you go to that coffin. Your glory-your cap goes with you, your vision-your glasses goes with you; your struggle-your shoes goes with you. The only thing left of you is your history and your legacy. The crux of the message is to leave a legacy, so we can live forever, not in the physical, but in people’s memories. As for me, I will live forever. You dey vex???

Wow!

As controversial of an image as it is and as weird as the whole thing sounds, the message behind Charly Boy's decision to do this is actually profound. Reading his words actually makes me have more respect for him because he is a man that definitely thinks a lot, especially out of the box. While I will not go and start sleeping inside coffins and will definitely not encourage you to do same, I think the realization that truly, inevitably, our time in this world comes to an end is something we should remember and apply to how we live our lives. Hopefully it makes us kinder, more loving, and more appreciative of the life we have now. It's a beautiful thing - life, so let's enjoy it while we're here.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.