Confessions logo

Toyin Lawani Opens Up About Recent Miscarriage and Being Asked to Remove Her Womb

Toyin gets honest

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

This year, Nigerian business woman and the self-acclaimed king of fashion, Toyin Lawani, appeared on the Showmax reality television series The Real Housewives of Lagos. What many of us don't know is that during the filming of this show, Toyin Lawani actually got pregnant and lost that pregnancy.

During a new interview with Chude, Toyin opens up about exactly what happened as well as why she was advised to remove her womb. Here's exactly what Toyin Lawani said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Toyin Lawani on WithChude

All through when I was shooting The Real Housewives, I was pregnant. And I and my husband decided that we were not going to tell anybody I was pregnant because to be honest, I told him I didn't want it. My baby was literally 5/6 months when I found out I was pregnant again. It's not something bad. People look at it like "oh she's a slut", I say I'm sorry, I'm always horny for my husband, hello? I'm breastfeeding, I don't show that all the time. You just come and see the good parts, you don't see the down sides. You just see the good parts when I'm looking fly flying private jets or flying 247 and you just think she has everything easy. Nah, nothing's easy. When I found out I was pregnant, I said "you know what? We're going to get rid of it". I'm sorry to say it, people don't like to hear that. I'm not evil. But I said I don't want this. So all through shooting and everything, my husband woke me up one day and told me the same way he told me "children are from God" during my last pregnancy when we weren't married and I found out I was pregnant. He said "you know what? Children are from God." My husband is very religious and he said "Don't [abort], leave it. Whatever the situation with your health, whatever you're going through, we'll run through it. We'll survive."

Then when I was diagnosed cause my family we [are susceptible to cancer] so you have to check it all the time. I found out my thyroid was really high and [I had] the same symptoms my mum was having and I had to attack it on time. I was always on medication and the doctor said you know what? It's time. You have to take out your womb. You can't have another baby.

Speaking further about the miscarriage, Toyin said:

I can't say I feel relieved but I felt a weight left because I was worried. I was very worried that my child was still very young. All my kids, my son is 8, my daughter is 17, the space is always a lot. Having a child is not cheap. It's not easy with the kind of life that I live. And the best is what I want to give my kids. And the fact is I don't have people paying my bills. We work overnight, day and night, to foot our bills and to live the lifestyle that I live. So, it's painful because every child deserves to come to this world but at the same time, I felt the time was not right.

Toyin Lawani and her family

What do you think of what Toyin said and what she went through? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.