Confessions logo

Why Being On Vocal Brings Me Joy

Some Thoughts On Creating With The Alphabet

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
73

Introduction

This week I made a huge mistake (though like all my huge mistakes caused by believing I was doing the right thing) but I do not do stress but shall we say I put a lot of effort into getting things right, and I am almost in a position that I want to be but have a feeling that in two week time, I will be back close to perfection.

So What Is Good?

This morning I had one Vocal story planned, but then something else came up which enabled me to polish up a five year old Seven Days In story and publish it. I immediately felt better.

Publishing a Vocal story gives me a sense of achievement and release and I feel I have achieved something. This was a bit of a bonus before starting work and made me feel confident that I could deal with the stuff I had to do.

By lunchtime, I had a good morning and then had an hour to write my next story, the one I had originally planned for the morning. I put that together and published that. I had the story planned in my head so it was simple for me to create, and when I published both of these I got good responses from friends, so again I was feeling really good about things.

I write pieces like this so that others can know that if they feel like this it is normal. I do the same when things maybe are less than perfect, I try to be there for people on Vocal and elsewhere.

I feel that writing is good for me but often I feel a little more than adequate, but I now dip into my Vocal catalogue and think "Did I really write that?" because the piece is absolutely excellent. There is only one piece that I feel I can say is really excellent, but Vocal did not think so, and it has not had that many reads and hearts. I used it to close my last anthology and everyone that has read it has confirmed how good it is.

So, The Things I Write About

I always want my work to be positive, and certainly not bring people down or feel sympathy for me. I think my stories about my ITP and Cancer were positive, although I have written a few dark poems as a purge for when I do feel low, but I will leave you to go and look for those.

Today I got a prerelease of a new album to review that is to be released next Friday by Louise Distras, you should check my interview with her below, so that will be done by Monday. I love that people can trust me to do things like that and she is the third music-related artist that I have interviewed.

Interviews are interesting but can be time and resource consuming, but are worth it when they succeed. I do have ideas for future ones but one of the bands is defunct, but the other may be a possibility, so watch this space.

I do playlists and poetry but often feel I am being lazy when I do them even though they take as much work as all my other writing.

I prefer to use formal poetic structures and think that often counts against me, but it helps me produce some, in my own opinion, some excellent work.

I always try to curtail my challenge entries, but always fail, with four in the lastest epistolic challenge. I know full well that my writing is not on the radar for a Vocal challenge place despite being good enough for a Top Story (though at the moment I feel that I have had my last one of those.

The thing is, writing and publishing this will bring me joy, and when my audience and friends read this and comment, that will bring me joy as well.

When it all comes down to it, if what we do brings us joy, then we are in a good place and don't need too much more.

I hope you have enjoyed these ramblings of mine, and this means today I have added another two thousand words to my Vocal Canon over these three stories.

The music is "Jupiter - the bringer of jollity" from "The Planets" by Gustav Holst which is appropriate for who I want to be seen and at 2'55" there is one of the most beautiful orchestral sequences you will ever hear, I'm playing it now and it always gives me goosebumps.

Bad habitsWorkplaceSecretsHumanityFriendship
73

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • MARIE ODEMS 12 months ago

    AWESOME KEEP WRITING ✍️ YOU ARE DOING GREAT WORK💜💜💜🌟🌟🦋🦋🦋🌟💜✍️✍️✍️⭐️⭐️🌟

  • Sinenjabulo Mgade12 months ago

    nyc

  • Shantall Addisonabout a year ago

    Hi Mike, I read your story and it's very funny because I've had moments where I had to question my actions and just laugh at myself:).

  • Esther Usmanabout a year ago

    Can someone please look through mine 🙏 https://vocal.media/fiction/the-rebel-s-redemption-v225t0fh2

  • Esther Usmanabout a year ago

    Nice write up ❤️

  • Testabout a year ago

    It's wonderful to hear that being on Vocal brings you joy! It's great to have a platform where you can share your thoughts and experiences with others who may be going through similar situations. Keep up the good work, and I hope you continue to find joy in writing on Vocal!

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    Cool thoughts! I have been flogging plays, full length, one-acts, for a couple years now and trying to get them produced is very hard. Vocal has kept me writing and spreading my literary wings, as a whole new play idea is hard to come by...It may have opened some doors for me in some unexpected genres, we shall see! This was a pleasure to read. Congrats!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    It was cool getting to know what you like to write about. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Well said Mike. Congrats on the top story.

  • Farhan Mirza about a year ago

    great , writing on vocal has become my new hobby . I write from my life experiences . My viral story in which I explained 3 things to observe a man is straight out of the core of my heart . It explains my personal experiences . vocal has changed my way of life , especially writing . @MIKE SINGLETON hope you agree

  • Congratulations 🎊 on your Top Story‼️🫶🏾🎊

  • Kayla Lindleyabout a year ago

    Not only are you a great writer, but it looks like you have a solid group of people on here who follow you and your work! It's the first time I think for me personally coming across your writing, so I made sure to subscribe! I can't wait to read your future works coming!

  • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

    Well expressed Mike. I remember the Raven story.

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Great article, Mike! Congrats on top story!!! 💫

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Congratulations Mike!!!!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Congratulations Mike. Nice to see theinsight into your thoughts.

  • Dark Moon Empireabout a year ago

    Congratulations on making the top story! Was excited to see your post up there!

  • CARA EDETabout a year ago

    Nice

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Congratulations!

  • Mark Grahamabout a year ago

    I really like your work. Maybe I am feeling sad about my work here on Vocal, because I thought some others would be interested in what I studied and want to learn these topics even in a very general way. I enjoy writing my poems and the stories that I wrote, but it seems that I am still not getting much reaction, even though I really do like writing here. Please if you do not mind share your thoughts.

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    I can relate to reading a story you wrote in the past and being impressed by it. It's a joyful feeling

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Good article and CoTS. I'm hoping that catches on. :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Brother you are just winning at these Top Stories!!! Keep at it!!❤️❤️Congratulations 🎊

  • I Constantly appreciate your writing 📝 ❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.