Confessions logo

Who is this man I call Husband?..

Confession and Love Story

By Arianna Silcott-Lo, MBAPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Who is this man I call Husband?..
Photo by Alex Vasey on Unsplash

Carla had been married to her husband, Tom, for thirty years. They met in college and had built a beautiful life together in the United States. Tom was a successful businessman, and Carla ran a small bakery in their quaint hometown. They had been through it all together, the highs and the lows, always supporting each other. They had a beautiful family with two kids who were both now grown and on their own.

One day, while Carla was baking her famous peach cobbler, Tom came into the kitchen with a bottle of champagne and asked Carla to sit down with him. He had something important to tell her.

"Carla, there's something I need to tell you. Something that I have kept hidden from you for a long time because I didn't want it to change the way you saw me."

"Is everything okay, Tom?" Carla asked, her heart racing.

"I'm not who you think I am," Tom said.

"What do you mean?" Carla asked, looking at Tom with wide eyes.

Tom took a deep breath and said, "I'm not just a businessman, Carla. I'm the Crown Prince of Montserrat, a Caribbean Island outside the United States."

Carla's stomach clenched. She couldn't believe what she was hearing. "What are you talking about, Tom? You can't just be the Crown Prince of another country!"

Tom handed her a picture of him from his younger days when he was in Parliament in the United Kingdom. Carla couldn't believe it, it was him, with a crown on his head right next to the Queen of England. How is this possible? What happens to our marriage?! We have been married for thirty years without the Crown's approval and I am just a regular girl from Florida!

"I know it's hard to believe, Carla. But it's true. I've kept it hidden all these years because I wanted to live a normal life with you. I didn't want the pressures of my family's royal life to get in the way of our happiness."

Carla sat there, staring at him, trying to process all this information. "Why are you telling me this now?" she asked tentatively.

Tom took a deep breath and said, "Because my father, the king, has fallen ill. And I need to go back home to take his place as the ruler of the country."

Carla felt a lump forming in her throat. "What does that mean for us?" Tom looked at her with tears in his eyes, "I don't know, Carla. I'm scared. I don't want to lose you. But I have a duty to my country. I have a responsibility to my people."

Carla felt her heartbreak. She didn't know how to feel. She had so many questions, and they both did.

Tom explained that he would have to return to the country immediately and make arrangements for Carla to join him.

From that moment on, Carla's life changed completely. Tom arranged for her to travel by private plane to his country, where they were met by high-ranking officials who welcomed her with open arms.

It was like nothing Carla had ever experienced before. The palace that awaited her was grander than anything she'd ever seen in the U.S. She was treated like royalty, and Tom introduced her to all the dignitaries and officials, people who seemed to know her already.

Carla was overwhelmed. She was away from everything she knew and loved, had no idea how to navigate the complex political world, and her husband, who she thought she knew so well, wasn't exactly the person she thought he was.

As the days went on, Carla spent a lot of time alone, feeling lost in her thoughts. But slowly, she began to get accustomed to her new life. She met with some of the officials and dignitaries of the country and began to learn about their culture. Carla was surprised by how different everything was compared to what she knew from living in the United States.

The country was in a period of great change, and Tom was under tremendous pressure to maintain a delicate balance between the old and the new. Carla supported her husband the best she could but still felt out of place.

Slowly, as Carla began to adjust to her new life, she realized that she would do anything to make it work with Tom. They had been together for thirty years, and she still felt the same love for him that she had when they first met.

One evening, while they were alone, Carla confronted Tom. "Why didn't you tell me about all of this?" she asked. "I didn't think you would believe me," Tom said, "And I wanted you to love me for who I am, not because of my position."

Carla looked at him, her heart full of emotion. "Tom, you are the same man I fell in love with all those years ago. It doesn't matter that you are a crown prince. I love you because of who you are, not what you have."

Tom looked at her, and they embraced. It was like they were the only two people in the world for that brief moment. Tom turned to Carla and asked, "Will you be my Queen?". Carla replied, "Yes silly! I will always be your Queen!".

They talked for hours that night...

FamilySecretsChildhood

About the Creator

Arianna Silcott-Lo, MBA

Just a Doctoral Student & Writer trying to help better the world through my thoughts and skills.

Instagram: @becomingdrlo

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Arianna Silcott-Lo, MBAWritten by Arianna Silcott-Lo, MBA

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.