Confessions logo

What Should I Write?

Sometimes I Have No Idea What To Write For Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
7
Me Wondering What To Write

Introduction

I haven’t written anything about writing and creation recently, and I have been told that I am lazy and my writing is rubbish and I post too much so nobody reads my posts. These have all been put forward as constructive criticism that I should take notice of.

Actually, I have ignored these pieces of “advice”.

Constructive criticism is when I was told my first villanelle was not a villanelle and I took that advice to make sure my subsequent villanelles fitted the correct format.

My Writing

I think my writing falls into three main categories, and these have really been developed since I signed up to Vocal. Before Vocal my writing was on my various blogs and was mostly diary entries and gig reviews.

Articles On Factual Situations such as Music Reviews and Playlists, Travel and more

Poetry which I am still cutting my teeth on

Fiction which I am thoroughly inadequate at.

I am writing about this situation because I currently have nothing else in train to create a story for Vocal, so this is just writing about the things I write about. I see many people write on subjects they know about but to me, they become repetitive and eventually I stop reading because generally, it is just more of the same.

One of the problems for my audience is that I almost have a scattergun approach, depending on what my mind and life are going through. Often this means people will ignore it because it does not interest them and I am more than fine with that because that is what I would do.

Probably my two biggest areas of writing are music and poetry.

I also write about things that pique my interest, like places I have visited and things that I have seen that I hope will interest others, so you will find me in Wander quite a bit often sharing videos that I have shared on YouTube and elsewhere. I have also published a lot of technical pieces, many about my approach to writing, especially on Vocal, some persona confessions and more.

My writing on Music is split between playlists, which for some reason get top stories, band and artist histories and album reviews. So even when I write about music you sometimes really don’t know what to expect.

I believe that is a reason some people will not read my stories because they do not know what they are getting themselves into.

My Fiction

Then there is my fiction, I really am not very good at this, and I do find it so hard to write fiction. Horror and bad things I find easier to write about, but I have done some lighter fiction to prove that my stories do not have to be all doom and gloom. Every one takes a lot of work and input from me even though they all clock in at less than a thousand words, but they did provide me with material for my first anthology which you can read about below.

My Poetry

Before Vocal I had not really done any formal poetry, but I now have over three hundred poems published on Vocal and a hundred of them making up two published anthologies.

While poetry is seen as an easy option and certainly, a lot of people produce a lot of it, I can often take a few hours over a simple sonnet.

I have also written a few pieces on poetry forms and how I write poetry.

Conclusion.

I don’t know if this has given you any insights to my writing or ideas on how to do it yourself but thank you for reading my work.

Bad habitsFriendshipHumanityWorkplaceSecrets
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Angelina F. Thomas2 years ago

    Excellence keep it up!!

  • Ooooo I would love for your stories to have more doom and gloom!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Interesting piece. Sometimes I don't know what to write either. That's why I enjoy the prompts. Also, you're right. Not everything we write will be of interest to everybody..

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    You are what you believe in. Most of your supports and fans know the your story content are worth reading . If you think your fiction are not good , your readers will start to think that to. I feel you are the only one on vocal who is able to write as many substance stories . You are a vocal Legend in your own right. 🥰 I trying to keep up with my reads to your writing.

  • I always find it interesting to read about how and what other writers write.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic confession piece!!! Loved it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.