Confessions logo

What's My Name?

Is it Mike , Mikey or Mikeydred?

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
24
Mikeydred's Imaginary Record Shop

Alan Gold asked me about why I had a double name on Facebook and Vocal. I thought I had written about this on Seven Days In but I couldn’t find any trace of it to fill out this piece. I mean this is just about how I got a nickname and appropriated it for myself.

At school I got several nicknames , Singy was an obvious one and it’s what I have now for my personal web domain, and then a frivolous teacher named me “Fungi” though I wonder if he meant “Fun Guy”? Probably not , then there was the generic Fatso as well which I wasn’t too enamoured with.

As a teenager in the late sixties and seventies my musical tastes started developing , and it was mainly rock with a bit of leftfield stuff like the Bonzo Dog Band and Frank Zappa , plus rock and roll and Johnny Cash. School really put me off Classical music and Disco and Soul were complete no-go areas for the rock cognoscenti that I frequented.

On leaving school I became a lot less influenced by cliques and played in various bands, almost made a record and my musical tastes started to expand.

Hearing Gustav Holst’s martial “Mars” from his Planets suite on The Alan Freeman Show prompted me to buy the album and start re exploring classical music. While I still find a lot of Classical music boring and tedious , I find a lot of it incredibly engrossing and my favourite piece is probably Carl Orff’s “Carmina Burana” which also illustrates one of classical music’s major problems how it can go from virtually silent to ear splitting volume is a very short period of time.

I also then slipped into appreciating Motown , Northern Soul , Stevie Wonder’s genre straddling soul and that led me further.

I worked on a fairground very briefly ,and the music that was played was uniformly reggae such as “Liquidator” by The Harry Jay All Stars and “Double Barrel” by Dave and Ansel Collins. Then I heard “No Woman No Cry” by Bob Marley and the Wailers , and had a major odyssey trying to track down a copy of “Jah Live” , my favourite Bob Marley song. This led me to artists like Burning Spear , Lee Perry and Culture most of whom I have seen live. Reggae became a major part of the music that I love , and further fuelled by listening to John Peel (sadly missed , Tom Ravenscroft's dad).

So this has been a very long introduction into how I ended up with this nickname , or double barrelled name, whichever way you want to look at it.

We were in a pub possibly The Bridge in Newcastle downstairs where our initial gigs as The Pink Bananas and Spoon , but well before I played there , and I was sat down under a poster. Everyone knew that I was a reggae aficionado and I was under a poster advertising the Jamaican Toaster / DJ Mikey Dread (he collaborated with The Clash on “Bank Robber / Rockers Galore) . The now CEO of Opencast Software saw this and christened me “Mikey Dread” and the name stuck. I contracted it to Mikeydred and that is many people’s name for me today.

I added it to my Facebook name so that people could find me with that name if they just knew me as Mikey.

So now you know where that came from. My daughter’s even got it turned into artwork for my sixtieth birthday. I think I am stuck with it forever and I am not complaining , it is good to have something unique that people actually want to know about.

I don’t think I will get another , I love reggae music but that is just a tiny piece of my eclectic palate.

Secrets
24

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    I had, in fact, wondered about your name. I know who the reggae artist is, that Mikey Dread, so your moniker caught my eye when I joined this site.

  • And now, finally I understand. I like it, the origin story of a name.

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Interesting story, I’m glad Mariann linked to it.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Not gonna lie, I was curious as to the name choice, so glad you cleared that up :) Thanks for sharing!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Interesting. Thank you for letting us know.

  • Was I the only dumb one who thought your parents combined their last names by hyphenating it? Anyway, thank you for this, now I know the history of MikeyDred

  • Misty Rae2 years ago

    I did wonder, thanks for clearing it up. :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.