Confessions logo

Weird Things I Believed as a Kid

And some reasoning as to maybe why

By Anna KerrPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
11
Weird Things I Believed as a Kid
Photo by Artem Kniaz on Unsplash

So, we all believe strange things we’re told as a kid. Sometimes, we have a different understanding of what things mean, or we believe in silly fables, myths, and tales. Some of these things you might think “hey, I thought that too!” But for the most part, I’d be surprised if you did. So here are a few of the strange things I believed when I was a kid. After you read them, I’m sure you’re going to think: jeez, what a strange kid!

Dead End Streets were because everyone on the street had died

By Randy Laybourne on Unsplash

The concept of selling a house had obviously not occurred to me back then. For the longest time, and I honestly cannot tell you where I got this from or why I believed it for as long as I did, but I was under the impression the “dead end” signs you’d see on roads to indicate they were a road to nowhere, meant that the houses sat abandoned on the street; everyone who lived in those houses had died. I’d often think about how eventually, every street would be a dead end. This makes no sense especially considering the fact I lived on a dead end street when I believed this. Despite that, I believed that for many, many years, and never told anybody about it.

Holding your breath driving past graveyards

By Ryan Stone on Unsplash

When I was younger, myself and a lot of classmates would take field trips around the city. But, anytime we passed a graveyard, we had to hold our breath for the length of the graveyard, and could only breath again once we safely passed it. Why did we do this? We wanted to make sure the dead didn’t feel alone, so if we held our breath we wouldn’t be breathing either, just like all those bodies. Again, I cannot tell you where this came from, but I even remember doing it whilst driving on my own. It lasted for a long time, for whatever reason I’ll never know.

Smoke detectors were out to get me

This one is more of a previous irrational fear. But for a long while when I was younger, I was absolutely terrified of passing by a sole detector at night. If I’d wake up in the middle of the night, I’d have to sprint to the bathroom, do my business and sprint back before they began to chase me. I had some strange notion that instead of just detecting smoke, they could detect my movement as well, and would make loud sounds and come after me if I was awake after dark. That fear lasted for a number of years, before I finally realized how silly it sounded.

The Blimp at a hockey game that dropped Subway coupons on the crowd was dropping actual subs

By Erik Mclean on Unsplash

I don’t think my dad will ever let me live this one down. We used to frequent our local AHL team’s hockey games. During the intermission, this blimp would go around the arena, dropping coupons to random people in the crowd. Only what did I think it was doing? I thought the Subway blimp was dropping actual subs. I’d always ask myself “how do they know what the people want on their sandwiches?” As if they’d allow subs to fall from the sky. It wasn’t until the very last game of theirs I ever I saw I noted that no, they did not drop sandwiches, they dropped coupons. Funnily enough at that very last game, I managed to actually get one.

When we’d listen to songs on the radio, it was a live snippet of a concert somewhere in the world

By Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

Now, I know this sounds completely ridiculous, but we all believe in strange things when we’re young. For a period of time I thought it was so cool that the radio station we listened to was able to get such amazing concerts live on the air. I didn’t believe this for long, since I began to discover my own taste in music and stumbled across many CDs. However I was impressed for a long time at how great these artists were in concert. You best believe the disappointment I felt when I heard some of them in an actual concert.

Authors Note

Thanks for reading! If you liked what you read, be sure to give it a “heart”! And of course, tips are always appreciated!

If you’d like to check out more of my writing, find the link here.

Childhood
11

About the Creator

Anna Kerr

| hockey fan | occasional writer | skyrim |

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.