Feast logo

Tipsy Tomato

one of Saint John's best Pizzerias

By Anna KerrPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

Sometimes, we find the best things when we're not even looking. This happened to be the case with one of my local favorites, the Tipsy Tomato.

I was chatting with a co-worker about heading out for a date night. I was growing tired of the chain restaurants that sat around the East Side of town. I consider myself somewhat of a picky eater (though I will say, I have improved a lot as of late), so trying to find a restaurant was difficult. That was when she suggested to me the Tipsy Tomato. Eager to try something new, I decided that we would go and give it a try.

The pizzeria had its soft opening in October of 2020, with plans to have a bigger celebration later on. Of course, a lot of the plans the Tipsy Tomato had to celebrate had to be put on hold due to the covid-19 pandemic; but they still manage to bring in entertainment from time to time.

It wasn't only the food that I loved most (though it was obviously a major perk)! But it was the friendly atmosphere that attracted me. Each time I have gone there, the staff always makes you feel welcome, like they truly appreciate your business. It's definitely something that sets them apart from other restaurants, and makes you want to keep coming back.

It makes all the difference in the world, having a friendly wait staff. On more than one occasion, despite a restaurant having good food, having an unpleasant experience made me never return. I wish I could remember the name of the waiter I seem to have each time I'm there, but I want to give him a shoutout. He's very easy going, friendly, and genuinely seems like he loves his job. There's no customer that we doesn't interact with; they are lucky to have him!

Now, the main part of any restaurant of course, the food. The Tipsy Tomato is the first neighborhood pub in Millidgeville, New Brunswick. It serves delicious pizzas, wings, delicious appetizers like nachos, pickle fries and mozza sticks.

That's just a tiny part of the menu; they have different types of pizza, such as the donair pizza, quesadilla pizza, BBQ chicken, among your normal all time favorites. I do have these all on my list to try!

Wing Nights are every Wednesday night from 3-close!

Due to the pandemic, they've began to have take-out and drive thru options. Though I've only ever dined in, I have to respect their commitment to staying safe, and being able to stay operative, during these times.

Not only are you able to eat inside when you go, but they have a beautiful patio you can sit outside on. The very first time I went, we got lucky and were seated outside, right before peak supper hour. It was a lovely day outside, and I just remember loving the privacy and the atmosphere outside.

We had the patio to ourselves, just as we were leaving a lot of people began to file in. It was nice to see a local spot do so well; it is not typical for places in Saint John to last; especially in times like these. Now it's more important than ever to support local. You're helping your friends, family and neighbors keep jobs, as well as keeping a great local establishment open for business! But I digress.

So, if you want a delicious bite to eat, a great atmosphere (with live entertainment some nights, might I add), I definitely recommend the Tipsy Tomato. For me, I enjoy the chicken burger; I believe I've had it at least four times in the last year!

You can check out their website here, for their menu, general information, and to make a reservation. Though this pandemic has made it hard for travelers, once the borders do open, and you find yourself in the Port City, I highly recommend you visit the Tipsy Tomato- you won't regret it!

restaurants
3

About the Creator

Anna Kerr

| hockey fan | occasional writer | skyrim |

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.