Confessions logo

Unplugged

Adventures in the Digital Abyss (recovering from addiction)

By Shifa atifPublished about a year ago 2 min read

The sound of my phone alarm blaring beside me jolted me up. I reached for it immediately, turning off the piercing noise. My phone was still in my grasp when I opened my eyes open groggily. It had become a part of me, an addiction I couldn't shake.

My phone was my constant companion throughout the day. It was always by my side, within reach. It provided entertainment, companionship, and an escape. My hand moved towards it at every opportunity, my fingers mindlessly scrolling through social media feeds, reloading emails, and checking notifications. It was a reflex, a habit that had been deeply established in my everyday routine.

I idly looked through posts and photographs, comparing myself to others, and looking for approval through likes and comments. Hours flew by like sand through my fingers, but I couldn't stop myself. The digital world had taken over as my reality, and the physical world around me had faded into obscurity.

With each passing day, the addiction grew stronger. Conversations with loved ones became fractured, cut short by the continual buzz of notifications clamoring for my attention. I felt a stab of shame knowing that the device in my hand had more influence over me than the individuals in front of me.

As I became more immersed in the virtual world, I spent less time outside. Nature's beauty receded into the background as I photographed situations for others to see rather than genuinely enjoying them myself. I craved connection, but I'd unintentionally isolated myself behind the constraints of a digital bubble.

Nightfall gave no relief from my addiction's hold. As I lost myself in a sea of limitless content, the blue glow of my phone screen filled my gloomy room. As I clicked through one movie after another, lost sight of time and ignoring the exhaustion that gripped me, sleep proved elusive.

Something has to change, I knew deep within. The realisation of my phone's power over me struck me like a bolt of lightning. I yearned to regain my life, to be free of the constraints of addiction. It was time to reclaim control and reconnect with the world outside the screen.

I gradually began to establish limits. I set aside particular periods for phone use, allowing for genuine presence and involvement with the people and things that genuinely mattered. I discovered the thrill of being totally present, of enjoying the minute details, and of finding beauty in the mundane.

The road to recovery from addiction was fraught with ups and downs. The temptation was lurking around every corner, but I refused to give in. I choose human interaction, self-care, and personal development over mindless scrolling.

I gradually discovered a newfound freedom. I could finally breathe without the constant weight of my phone on my mind as the addiction lessened its grasp. Life became more meaningful, with more meaningful experiences and true friendships.

When I look at my phone now, I don't see a cause of addiction, but rather a tool that helps me. I've learned to strike a balance by using it purposefully and intentionally. Phone addiction may have previously engulfed me, but I've broken free and found my way back to myself.

Teenage yearsBad habits

About the Creator

Shifa atif

You'll find diversity in my repertoire, as I explore genres ranging from thought-provoking literary fiction to pulse-pounding thrillers, from enchanting fantasy worlds to poignant tales of human connection.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Shifa atifWritten by Shifa atif

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.