Confessions logo

Tying The Knot

A tribute to my brother and his new wife

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Tying The Knot
Photo by Oziel Gómez on Unsplash

Weddings really are a time to be alive. Everyone is a sucker for a ceremony of love in which two people who are soulmates are ready to tie the knot and fortify their love forever. I only started going to weddings just over the course of the past decade of my adult life. For some reason as a kid I never got around to many. I’ve seen many people I love walk down the isle of ever lasting love, but being part of the wedding of my little brother and his better half has definitely been one of my favorites.

By Tengyart on Unsplash

The groom in quest is my little brother JR. Now me and JR aren’t related by blood, his mother Peggy adopted me in love against my will nearly eight years ago, so nothing could make us closer. When he finally proposed to his then girlfriend, now wife Hailey I was really proud of him. I was also happy that he asked me to be one of his groomsmen in the wedding. All in all I knew it was gonna be a great wedding season.

JR and Hailey really are a match made in Heaven. JR is not like most young men his age, he has always been wise beyond his years and if I told you about him without actually describing him then you definitely wouldn’t believe that he is only in his early 20’s. He loves his family and friends more than anything and his faith and morals are very important to him. Hailey who is just a year older than him is one in the same. She is a young woman who is wise and sophisticated beyond her years as well. Like JR, her faith and church life are very important to her. She comes from a tight knit family and has a circle of friends who really treasure her. If you met her there would be no question in mind as to why she loves as hard as she does.

By Sandy Millar on Unsplash

On the day that JR popped the biggest question ever I knew everything would be okay in the future, but to see it all play out yesterday was a beautiful thing. Everyone got to the wedding venue early who was supposed to be in it and had a great time enjoying each other’s company while getting prepared for the big “I Do”. We were all dressed in our best tuxedos and dresses and joking about how much we needed to make sure JR and Hailey did not lay eyes on one another before their big moment. When all of our loved ones started showing up the motions started running higher than ever.

By Beatriz Pérez Moya on Unsplash

As everyone made their way to the pulpit of the church there wasn’t a dry eye in the house. The water works started flowing heavy as all the bridesmaids and groomsmen made took our positions as nervous as could be. It was a running gag of everyone being afraid to mess up. You would’ve thought we were headed to the electric chair with how shaken we were. When the bride and groom stood center stage to light that eternal candle of love it wouldn’t be an exaggeration to say it was a magical moment beyond words. This was the moment that would change everything. The point where life as we knew it would be different.

By Jeremy Wong Weddings on Unsplash

And just like that, we were then pronounced Mr. and Mrs. Mullis. From there we all partied the night away celebrating JR and Hailey with love and appreciation for the beautiful future that they are meant to have. I love my little brother J very much. I’m extremely proud of the man and husband that he has become and I can’t wait to see the beautiful future ahead for him and Hailey.

JR & Hailey

~For JR and Hailey Mullis, may your future be blessed.

Family

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 2 months ago

    Congratulations to Mr abd Mrs Mullis

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Beautiful tribute Joe! Congratulations Mr. And Mrs. Mullis!

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    A big congratulations to your brother. I am glad he has found someone who makes him happy, and I wish them much happiness for the future.

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.