Confessions logo

Top Tier

The Woman Who Inspired Me To Be Myself

By Monet GrahamPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
2
Top Tier
Photo by Getúlio Moraes on Unsplash

Soul, heart, resilient. The three first words that come to mind, describing one of the most influential women in my life; Janis Joplin.

As someone who has always been obsessed with documentaries, I still to this day remember when I was first introduced to this pioneer.

I remember thinking, "Wow, this lady looks like she is about to rock out". Then it happened, the Intro to "Cry Baby" started playing and I was shocked! Ms. Joplin had soul, and captivated my ears. I needed more. I binged for hours listening to her mind-blowing tracks, unapologetically hitting replay over and over on my overall favorite tracks. Then I decided to dive deeper than her music, get to know the woman behind my newest found admiration.

Imagine my shock to learn that her humble beginnings started from her trying to escape from her hometown (a small town in Texas). In her early life, she always tried to escape from her early years of bullying. Mostly because she loved to stand out. Imagine rumors spreading throughout of your hometown of being "fast" all because you wanted to dress differently than the girls of your school. And I'm not talking about short dresses, but boys shirts for example. Eventually she left Texas and traveled to start her life's journey. Something that is on my mind every day.

This is where I will always admire Janis. I too, endured bullying all throughout my youth and still till this day sometimes. The reason for my unfair treatment varies: (weight, skin tone, "speaking like a white girl", being labeled weird because I don't always follow the status quo, my eccentric way of being, and you won't believe this.. in the wrong crowd, I've also been singled out for being a "goody two shoes". I just can't win lol.

I resonate with Janis because, although her musical journey started rocky (traveling to New York, California and joining bands looking for her big break) she continued on. She would be met with disappointments along the way even up to how her short life ended. It would seem, at least in my opinion that she didn't get all the chances she deserved or the love she wanted. Even with those saddening realizations, I still say there is one thing that can't be washed away, Janis Joplin wasn't going to change herself because others thought she should.

I pride myself to be just as resilient as Janis Joplin.

Silent hopeless romantic is how I would describe myself. Until recently, you couldn't catch me watching a Hallmark movie, or read romance novels. Heartbreak and repeated let downs, have left me kind of jaded I guess you could say. However, I feel something Janis and myself share in common is the deep hidden desire to be picked. To have our own love. When I listen to Janis Joplin, it's like I'm having a musical conversation with a bestie who is going through similar things in life.

In the last 2 years, I've started my own Singer/Songwriter journey, as artist Lady MSV. And although I've had little to no support in my local community, and I may not look like how others think I should. I'm not going to stop my music. I owe a lot of my inspiration to the incredible one and only Janis Joplin.

There are times where I find myself comparing my sounds, looks, to others. But it doesn't take too long for me to check into a playlist and remember the greats didn't become great by being ordinary or like everyone else. Everyone has a different concept of what beauty is. While the human desire to be understood and accepted will probably always be there, it is also a known fact that if you don't love and appreciate yourself first how can anyone else?

There will always be a thread that connects Janis Joplin's life story and music to my own life. I am thankful a woman like her existed.

TabooSecretsHumanityChildhood
2

About the Creator

Monet Graham

Full time mom. Entrepreneur. Spiritualist. Over thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your heartfelt reflections on Janis Joplin and your own journey. Your words remind us of the power of music to connect us and inspire us to stay true to ourselves, no matter the challenges we face.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.