Confessions logo

Togetter For A Day

My Bumble Story

By Feven GPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Togetter For A Day
Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

I have a story. During the past year, I used Bumble for a total of one year. In 2021, I gave online dating a try for the first time, and I have been matched with some fascinating people. During the past year, I couldn't find a relationship there until February of this year. The whole thing began two weeks ago, in the first week of February. It all started with a swipe. I swiped right back at him after he swiped right back at me. It was an instant match.  He looked like an attractive guy, tall and handsome, and he seemed to be very sweet. So some people are not aware that the girl has to make the first move on Bumble. So, I sent a hello to him, and he messaged me back a few minutes later. There was no problem with our conversation; we talked about everything from how the weekend went to work, where I am located, and my background. Let me put it out there now, both of us are from the same culture. I am surprised that I got matched with someone from my background out of the thousands of people that used Bumble. It did not matter whether the person was Eritrean or not, but I was still genuinely happy to match with someone from that country. So far, it looks like it's headed in the right direction, so there's nothing else to report. We spent a lot of time talking during that week, although we did not live that far away from each other. Afterwards, he asked me out on a date for Thursday, Feb 3, 2022, as our first date. My emotions were so high that I thought we had connected, and I was happy. As part of our first date, he picked me up, drove me to Tim Horton's, got me a hot chocolate, took me to his condo and gave me a tour of his place. I always liked watching Buffy the vampire slayer, so when he gave me some wine and put on the show, I was blown away. Is this too good to be true? I always liked watching Buffy the vampire slayer. I was so glad that we had something in common. In the evening, after watching an episode of Buffy, we went to get something to eat, and we talked about our second date, which we had been planning to have last Saturday, but it did not happen. Now you might be wondering why it didn't happen. I want to take a moment to finish talking about our first date. After we did all of that, he kissed me and then dropped me off at my house. Afterwards, I was so happy; everything turned out smoothly. He was the first to message me after the date. It sounds like everything worked out well. I'm afraid that was not the case. We spoke on Friday, too; he texted me saying some freaky things. There was a point where I didn't feel comfortable with it, so I responded with lol, and then I went and asked if he was serious about me. Then things went downhill; he didn't message me back on Friday, and then on Saturday morning, which was our second date, I said good morning, and he didn't respond to that either. It is then that I begin to wonder, what is wrong with him? He is ghosting me; why is that? A few days pass, and I don't hear from him anymore. Communication is vital, and I had no issues telling him about this particular person. This guy was a player, and he broke my heart. After hearing what the other guy did, he said he would not do the same thing. Despite this, a few days pass without him texting me, and he ignores my messages. The same thing that he said he wasn't going to do is what he is doing now. Four days have passed without any word between us, and we have yet to speak. Today, February 7, I decided to unmatch him on Bumble. He should understand how he made me feel, so I will not cry over this in the future, even if I did cry yesterday, but I am allowing myself to move on with my life now.  I learned my lesson!

Dating
2

About the Creator

Feven G

Hi, my name is Feven, and I am an Eritrean Canadian living in Toronto, Ontario. I am a creative individual who enjoys writing and creating content. If you want to know more about my experiences, I would be happy to share them with you. ☺️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jyme Pride2 years ago

    OMG, sounds like my story. I dear say, yours does have a ring of hope to it. The girl I'm matched with, well, the jury is still out, but the verdict doesn't look too promising. My relationship with this person is shrouded in mysteries, and she keeps changing her stories. Oh, well, so much for the dating life, right? (Oh, by the way, the day you dropped that guy, February 7th, just happens to be my birthday. Haha. Go figure!) Hope you have better luck with dates in the future.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.