Confessions logo

To the woman who hit me

I know you'll never read this

By Dallas LeFeverPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I don't know your name.

If the cops had told me, I don't remember it.

I only remember a few things from that night. 3 drops of blood on my right shoe. The people who screamed and came running from the parking lot. The look on the EMT's face when I told her she couldn't take me to the hospital; that I couldn't afford it.

I was in bed for a week. I couldn't move without throwing up. I spent every second of that week either thinking through what I could have done differently, or asleep having twisted nightmares about the accident. Nobody asked where I was. I missed a big test for one of my AP classes. My grades were abysmal. When I went back to school I could barely see. My face was swollen and I had two black eyes. I was missing teeth. I could barely walk.

I'm writing this because I want you to know what you took from me.

I was 17, a junior in high school, 3.6 GPA, 32 ACT, Captain of 6 different teams (though do keep in mind I was on 7,) supply officer of my NJROTC unit. I was planning to bring up my gpa, to be an even better candidate for the Ivy League.

I'm 18 now, a senior. I got diagnosed with ADHD and PTSD. I am retaking English again. I keep getting rejected from state schools. I dropped all but 1 team. They had to give me an official 504 plan so I can hopefully graduate.

Ivy Day is in two days. I applied anyways but I have a 2.9 GPA.

I don't know if I even want to hear back.

I have to eat and drink at specific times now so I don't get dizzy. Something bad happened up there and I don't think I'll ever be the same. It's scary for me. I want to be able to sleep without medications again, and go a month without seeing a therapist, and pass a class without having to pull the "I'm disabled and traumatized" card. I want to get by again.

I had to rebuild the bike yknow. It had taken me a whole summer to build the first time. It took my prom savings the second time. I had been saving for 7 months. I was going to fly in my best friend.

I didn't, incase you were wondering.

If I went I don't remember.

I don't remember a lot now.

What were you doing? I had all my lights on. It was a well-lit intersection. I used my hand signals and I looked both ways. How fast were you going? Were you texting? Vaping? Drunk? I was going 35.

Why didn't you ask if I was okay?

Why didn't you apologize?

You hit me with your car. I think that's worthy of an apology. Unless that is old-fashioned of me. I should have sued. You would have deserved it.

What did you tell them to let you go without a ticket? I'm crying as I type this. I want you to know that I can't even go down that road now without having a panic attack. Occasionally they happen at very little things, like seeing a stain on my shoes. Or seeing a cyclist.

You took so much from me and I hate you.

I hate you so much.

And I hope you never ever put someone through what you put me through again. I hope you never go through it either. Some days I still struggle to walk.

I want to know what you were doing. I want an apology. I want to never hear from you because I don't know what I would do.

-The kid you hit

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Dallas LeFever

Amateur Author, photographer, artist

18

He/him

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.