Confessions logo

These Images

I Created Them

By AkpenePublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

I didn't think I would be in this place. I had found myself in a dark corner, feeling alone, and wondering what happened along the way. It seemed as though a dark cloud had overtaken me, and my dreams had all collapsed. "Why go on in this way?" I thought. I was feeling so empty. I didn’t know how to carry on. These are the images I have created over the years. It has been a while since I created the first. It has been years since I took the first picture. I have saved almost all of them.

These are images of myself, and I was the one who created them. I had lost faith, and I couldn’t make sense of it all. I took these photos of myself during those moments. I gave in to the desire. I explored, and I tried to discover and know what I didn’t know. With my photo lens, I created all these images. I didn’t know I would create them. Here they are.

One day, I was driving through my neighborhood while heading home. I looked through the left window of my car, and I noticed a garden. I made a u turn and came around so I could take a closer look. As I pulled up, I could now see that it was a monastery. There were nuns and priests. After a little while, I got back into my car and headed home.

I wasn't supposed to doubt. I was supposed to believe and continue on. I was supposed to carry on in the way I had believed for many years. I was supposed to believe it could be true. I look back at what I have created with my photo lens. I was feeling so empty. It seemed as though a storm had come and gone. I was looking for the light at the end of the tunnel. A way to make sense of it all. I couldn’t explain it. I couldn’t make sense of it. I didn’t have the answers. I was there alone.

I was confronted by these feelings. They were very real. I was missing something, and I thought I would find it in this way. I looked at these images, trying to figure out what I was missing. I went to lie down for a while, and I fell asleep. I woke up, and I saw the images I made.

I never thought that I would come to this place. I found myself in a dark corner, wondering how it all happened. It appeared as though I had lost my compass. I was looking for answers to some of life’s questions. The days turned into weeks, and the weeks into months.

I made these images of myself. I thought being here would take care of those emotions. I thought this way, I would be complete. I longed for fulfillment. I hoped I would find it here. I thought this would be the way. I created those images. They were now a reflection created by these lenses. They bear my reflection, my shape, my nakedness. I looked through all these images trying to make sense of them, and I couldn’t.

I stood in front of the camera. With my arms on my hips, I posed in my negligée. I lowered my hands and placed them on the bathroom vanity. I discarded the lingerie, and I wrapped myself in a towel. I took another photo without the lingerie. I held the towel close to my chest, and I lowered it. I held it firm next to my stomach so it wouldn’t fall. I looked at what I had created. Among the pile of photos, I selected a few images. I made them into a painting. I looked at what I had created. These images. I created them. They are a reflection of me.

WorkplaceSecretsHumanityEmbarrassmentDating
Like

About the Creator

Akpene

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.