Confessions logo

The Wrong Life

You wake up next to someone you do not like. He has done so many things wrong to you that you despise him. Was I that drunk last night?

By Kerrie G.DiazPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
The Wrong Life
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

What happened last night? Did I get drugged? Why am I lying in bed with Shane? I can not stand him. I slapped him on the top of his head to wake him up and yelled. "SHANE!" 

"Ouch, why did you just hit me, Jess? Have a bad dream?" he asked like me being here was not a surprise to him. He rolls on his back so I could see his face. Then I see his eyes open really wide with a surprised look on his face. "Jess? What are you doing in my bed?" Shane asked. 

"I thought that was something you could explain to me. Did you drug me last night to get me in your bed?" I asked him.

"No, I honestly had nothing to do with this, I do not like you as much as you don't like me. I would not waste my time with trying to get you into my bed. What is the last thing you remember?" Shane asked

All of a sudden two kids a boy around 6 and a girl around 4 come running into the room yelling mommy, daddy we are hungry. Shane and I look at each other more lost than before. 

"You make some phone calls and try to figure out who is playing a joke with us. Who would even convince kids to call us mommy and daddy? I will go make something for these two kids to eat." I told Shane. He nodded with his mouth wide open staring at the kids. 

I got up and followed the two kids downstairs. As I walked through the hall to the stairs I saw pictures on the wall. Pictures of the two kids are all along the whole wall but one middle big picture. A family picture. It had Shane and me with the two kids. Then some memory came into my head. A memory of us taking that photo at the professional photo studio. Where in the hell did that memory even come from, I thought to myself. How in the hell can I have a memory just be there when it never even happened?

"Hurry mom, we're hungry." the boy named Bobby said. Jenny is the girl's name. I looked at more photos in the house and all were of the kids and Shane and me. All of a sudden I fell to the floor. The picture of our wedding made me remember that exact day. 15 years ago now. June 8th, 2007. 

Shane came downstairs and I looked at him. He had a tear falling down his cheek. 

"Jess, all these memories just came to me, memories I never remember having. We have been married." I interrupted him. 

"Stop, I know already because I have had the same memories come back to me also. How could we both have forgotten a life we never knew we had?" I asked

I made the children their favorite breakfasts and Shane and I sat down and talked. We both could not come up with any reason for this. Asking friends that knew nothing but our married life. 

We talked and thought that we just had a very vivid dream of lives we had single and somehow being so close we ended up having very similar dreams of single lives. 

Maybe we stepped through a wormhole or whatever you call it. We both somehow started on a different plane in life and ended on another plane. I am not sure how to explain this and do not ever think I could. Science could never explain this one either.  

We both just started living new lives with our children and learning to love one another all over again as we saw in our memories. We just hope nothing changes things ever again.

FamilyFriendshipHumanitySecretsTaboo
1

About the Creator

Kerrie G.Diaz

The goal of my writing is to put a smile, help, or scare them. I love all kinds of topics Horror and paranormal are my favorite but really into true crime. If you like what you read please tip me with a coffee https://ko-fi.com/kerrie

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Tina D'Angeloabout a year ago

    Makes me wonder about writing stories with happy endings for all my jerk exes!

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    Good! I enjoyed reading!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.